We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely accomodation, superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation, superb location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fantastic harbour location and wonderful views, food and service. Staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. A very warm and well stocked bar. Food delicious, both in the restaurant and the bar. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Preferred the rooms in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mairibea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    163
    67
    14
    7
See reviews for
72
178
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not really sure if I would describe here as a hotel. Okay for a night or two, nicely situated right at the harbour with lovely views. Had an evening meal in restaurant which was perfectly acceptable, not so keen on breakfast. The major drawback was the lack of air conditioning although they did supply a fan which didn't really make much difference. Clean rooms and a busy wee bar frequented by locals. Nice scenic walk from hotel into town and coastal walks nearby. Would stay again but only for a short time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniebannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is good and the breakfast very good, but the price is too much expensive which reduces the value for the money. The people on the hotel is very friendly and has good views to the harbour. The family room is very small for four people,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel3142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

.... Nice place ... Short walk to Dunnottar Castle 20 Minutes ... Nice Golf course with very friendly People .... Player it twice .. Love the view to the Sea and Castle ... Gr8t Selektion of Malt Whisky ... Small and beautiful Harbor ....

Room Tip: ... Room #3 with nice View. ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy_Andy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had 2 nights at the Ship Inn. Very friendly staff and good size room considering it is a 'small' hotel. The bar and restaurant food is good quality and affordable and the service quick.
If you want a good location to enjoy the sea views and a nice place to do it from, then book here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imola, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Marvellous scenery, nice hotel, kind people, good food and service. I couldn't ask for more after a heavy week. Some time I have been trying to stop there and finally I managed, it was worthwhile keep trying

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MONICA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have said it all before, but will say it again, I have never been disappointed in all of the past seven years that I have regularly stayed at the Ship Inn. It almost feels like I am coming home after being away each time I enter the Ship. First class food and keen prices. Just got back and have already booked my next stay.

Room Tip: The only tip I would give is Don't stay anywhere other than the Ship Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JetmasterDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
10.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen South (Portlethen) Hotel
0.3 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 28 in Stonehaven
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 28 in Stonehaven
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stonehaven
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 28 in Stonehaven
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Property: Ship Inn
Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing