We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! A must if you go to Stonehaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twentyfourshorehead
Ranked #5 of 28 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great location! A must if you go to Stonehaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed one night in the month of June. What a lovely B&B directly in the Stonehaven harbour. Anne was very welcoming. Very quiet. Good breakfast. However, very steep stairs. So if you have any problems climbing stairs, this is not a B&B for you. Small room but very comfortable. Great restaurant within 2-3 minutes of walk: The Ship Inn. Probably a good idea to reserve as this appears to be a popular restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montrealer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    33
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
83
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Very good location on harbour. Our bikes were taken away and put under cover. Room heat was on to dry us out. Stonehaven has excellent pubs and a first class fish restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cremona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The location is absolutely fantastic, at the edge of the quaint Stonehaven old harbour and the ambience cosy and romantic.But I can't avoid pointing out some negative aspects that made us feel a little bit disappointed about this b&b. First of all a very cold welcome (we had difficulties to find parking space next to the b&b and the owner told us in a quite rude tone to park our car on the pier (a no parking area).
The room was really nice, with a lovely window overlooking the harbour and a comfortable sofa, but quite small and with a very little shower. The breakfast good quality but not particularly outstanding if compared to the standard of other b&b where we stayed during our
holiday in Scotland. They could do much better!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Illy67Cremona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Anne makes you welcome from the moment you walk in, you feel like a friend! All rooms have an excellent view. Even has heated towel racks!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Located at the end of the quayside, the picturesque setting of Twentyfourshorehead certainly attracts the eye. The good news is that the B&B is a great place to stay. We had a first floor room with a view over the harbour. Yes, the stairs are a little steep but that comes with the territory if you are going to stay in a charming old building.

Our room was nicely furnished and the bed was quite comfortable. Anne was a wonderful hostess and her breakfasts were a delight. If we ever find our way back to that part of Scotland (after all,it is half a world away), it will be Stonehaven and Twentyfourshorehead again for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJS-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed here for an overnight and were made most welcome by Anne and Charles. Charming house right on the harbour, perfect location for beautiful views and a stroll along the quayside to excellent pubs and restaurants. Room spotlessly clean if compact, this is an old property with quaint features so if you're looking for a modern hotel this is not for you. Quite steep stairs to bedrooms so not for the elderly or infirm. But a very comfortable room with a perfect view. At the quiet end of the quayside whilst convenient for pubs/restaurants. No card payment facilities so take cash/cheque! Would have enjoyed stroll to Dunnottar Castle if it hadn't been raining....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sande1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandria, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I was there on august,20th 2011 with other 5 friends so we've taken all rooms available in this tiny but wonderful B&B. Anne, the owner, and her husband were probably tyred of the long days just gone, but they have been helpful and smiling all time. Rooms are tiny little box full of charme and warming welcome: the beds are confortable, more than hotel's, the bathrooms are really beatiful and this is important if compared with others we've tried during our trip through Scotland, the sofa into the room is a touch of class that you'll appreciate as well as the binocular left for you aside the window, so you may practice of birdwatching... Everything is well done and you'll feel at home in this silent B&B in front of the small fisherboats port. A short walking along the pier, breathing at the seawind, will pay you back of the long drive just made to get there. If you plan to pass around Stonehaven be sure to have time to go to Fowisheugh Bird Colony, just a mile after Dunnotar Castle. It is a stunning, breathless, cliff full of birds, puffins and, obviously, noisy funny seagulls. The colony has no signs on the main road, take the A92 direction Monrose and pay attention to a narrow road on your left a mile after the castle and go to the end of that (five min drive), park your car and take the indicated path to the colony. Careful to the sudden cliffs! It's a 60 metres jump if you fall.....Keep children very close to you as the place is really dangerous. But go, specially 'till june when you have more chances to see puffins...

Room Tip: Take any room Anne will propose to you, they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaurizioCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
0.1 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 28 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 28 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 28 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twentyfourshorehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twentyfourshorehead

Property: Twentyfourshorehead
Address: 24 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Twentyfourshorehead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twentyfourshorehead Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing