We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing especially for the price”
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was my last stop on a UK trip involving 5 other hotels/B&B's. The price was comparable to the others and in some cases more expensive for single occupancy. What set The Belvedere apart was the poor condition of the room. The room in general looked like it could do with a face lift - the carpet was not vacuumed and was unpleasant to walk on in bare feet, the hand soap dispenser in the en-suite was empty and the towels were frayed. The inside of the bedside drawers were also in need of a dust or vacuum. Toiletries (small shampoo and small bar of soap) were not replenished on my 3 night stay, this was done at all other places I stayed during the trip and for the price of 75pounds a night I don't think that it would have been too much to expect. Even the tea and milk provided in the room tasted stale. My dining experience was also disappointing - two days before check in I was out with a group of 10 for dinner. There was one other couple in the dining room - which had seating for many more people. The service was slow - we were there for around 3 hours for two courses and some of the main meals were not hot. I certainly would not recommend The Belvedere to others travelling to Stonehaven.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

This was our second stay at the Belvedere in Stonehaven. We were given a warm welcome and throughout our stay were treated in a polite and friendly way by the staff. We had a comfortable bedroom with all the basic requirements met. The strength of the hotel is its excellent food served in either the bar or the diningroom. The menu is varied and imaginative and one rarely has to wait more than a few minutes to receive one's meal. We need to visit Stonehaven at regular intervals to see an elderly relative in a care home, and would always stay at the Belvedere.

Room Tip: We have used Room 1 on both our visits. This has plenty of space and is quiet as it is at the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaeljohn2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed one night on our coastal tour, it was the best nights sleep of the trip. Staff we very friendly and helpful, they found an unused room to use for cycle storage. Our meals were really nice and I vowed to try out the recipe- chicken around brie in a blanket of parma ham and in a creamy mustard sauce with mash and roasted vegetables. MMM!

Breakfast started at 8:00 on Sunday morning which was good for us to make a prompt start and get to Aberdeen.

Don't forget to see Dunottar Castle. This 14th century ruin of a fortress, standing on rock separated from the mainland by a deep ravine. The direct road is closed to cars due to cliff erosion, but is open to cycles.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor, no noise at all, but room was a little small, it was the last room and we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doing_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We arrived at this hotel about 7ish at night and the host was lovely, very helpful and friendly and we had an excellent room for 75 pound including breakfast, dinner was delicious and so was breakfast. Parking available, everything lovely and clean and especially liked the friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maria_barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

stayed for one night two single rooms both were comfortable and clean , one was rather small but for one night was fine. ate in the restaurant food very nice and service quick and friendly. breakfast was very good and no need for lunch !!! full scottish breakfast looked superb but opted for choice smaller which was ample . would return if in the area. a pleasant stay thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckiederby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on a touring holiday & found it to be friendly hotel offering good food & friendly staff.The building is quite old & could do with upgrading, but is comfortable enough considering the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Really friendly staff who helped with all the enquiries we had. The room was nice, however, the bathroom floor was a bit broken and some of the lamps in the room weren't working and we were told the owners didn't know how to turn them on either. The food in the restaurant downstairs is good, as is the breakfast, even though the latter could benefit from some fruit, jam varieties etc. (just a bit more attention to detail.) Overall, if the small flaws would be corrected, it would be good.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flobot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stonehaven hotels
0.4 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 27 in Stonehaven
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twentyfourshorehead
Twentyfourshorehead
#7 of 27 in Stonehaven
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Address: 41 Evan Street | Stonehaven, Stonehaven AB39 2ET, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range: £57 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing