We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet breakfast, stunning bayview but little space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BayView Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maria Lankowitz, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gourmet breakfast, stunning bayview but little space”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked the B&B primarily because it was the only accomodation that still had a room available. However, the owners are very nice and gave helpful suggestions about places to see.

The hotels private parking space is very limited and was hard to access even with a small car (narrow alleys). However, there are anyhow only two parking slots, but free parking is available in short distance. Our room did not face the bay and was really small, although very nicely furnished and extraordinarily clean. The bed was really comfortable.

Unfortunately, we were awakened in the middle of the night by very loud noises in the staircase and random knocking on our door. After we complaint in the morning the owners apologized, as they are currently not living in the building and were not aware of the nightly occurrences.

The highlight of the stay was the breakfast. It was really delicious, freshly made, had a wide selcetion of products and was also nicley arranged on the plate. Additionally, we were seated at a table that offered a stunning view on the bay.

All in all I would recommend the BayView B&B, although the price is a little bit to high in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie_Muenzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
94
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We loved this property. The view is so amazing we had trouble pulling ourselves away from the balcony. Our room had the most comfortable bed of any we slept in while in Ireland and Scotland. Walking along the boardwalk right in front of the B&B is delightful as is walking anywhere in Stonehaven. In fact, I would recommend parking as soon as you can and walking everywhere. The streets in the town are very narrow as is the lane to the B&B parking area. The parking area was generous. Janice is a wonderful host willing to go out of her way to make our stay a great one. Only property we stayed in to have a bowl of fresh fruit in the room. Breakfast was very good with the best sausage I have ever had in Great Britain. We will go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was our second visit this year and we were joined by my wife's sister from Canada who was absolutely delighted with the penthouse suite. We were very well cared for by Janice and David and their very helpful staff and the breakfasts were varied and appetising. After busy and sometimes stressful days visiting another sister in a care home, it was a joy to relax in the penthouse in the evenings and enjoy our surroundings. The views from the balcony, particularly over the sea at sunrise, were beautiful. We will certainly be back, hopefully to enjoy the new coffee bar etc. being fitted out downstairs.

Room Tip: We have only used the penthouse, but any room overlooking the sea would be a real bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaeljohn2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a big flat overlooking the sea and the appartment was furnished to high standard. Nice breakfast and very friendly service by Emilia, absolutely recommendable accomodation!
We would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed one night here--all that they had available--and of all the places we visited in three weeks, Bayview aced them all in providing everything a traveler might need--even a fold out "office" offering internet access and a computer; a well-stocked kitchen, and spacious rooms with quite comfortable beds. This is a newer facility--more of a small modern condo than a home-style B&B, but a delight in that it was so well and thoughtfully set up. The owner was amiable and informative; breakfast was one of the best we had, and the portions sufficient to stoke a long day's sightseeing. The inn is immediately adjacent to the beach and it is an easy walk to excellent restaurants--toddle along a bit farther down the coast and you'll find a marvelous old churchyard and ruined church perched out on a promontory--and Stonehaven was a pleasant village in which to wander.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwetzingen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had a wonderfull room with seaview, about 6 m high and front all glas, so spectacualr views of the sea even when lying in bed.
Friendly host who gave us tips where to go and eat. Nice polish student serving breakfast, while Janine was on holiday, very friendly. Breakfast was great, we could even choose fishplatter.
Wörth to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night. Exceptional place. David and Janice couldn't have been more hospitable. Clean, comfortable, great view if the bay and 10/10 for breakfast. My advice would be don't look anywhere else for your next visit to Stonehaven. Outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andalucia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
0.3 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beachgate Guest House
Beachgate Guest House
#4 of 27 in Stonehaven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stonehaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayView Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayView Bed & Breakfast

Property: BayView Bed & Breakfast
Address: Beachgate, Stonehaven AB39 2BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BayView Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BayView Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BayView Bed & Breakfast Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing