We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Stoneheaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Best place in Stoneheaven”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Although not easy to reach, is the best place in this countryside. It is clean, comfy, the owners are very nice people. For the dinner I recommend Gourdon, a little fishermans' village and the "fish and chips" inn, the "Hornblowers".

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolandsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
82
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Only stayed for one night, but was very impressed. Lovely room with huge bathroom and a giant walk-in wardrobe. Great breakfast - I was made very welcome. I had struggled to find accomodation in Aberdeen, but it was worth all the hassle to find this wee gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annamtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We drove from Skye, across Scotland, were turned back by police as our rental car had summer tires (shame on you Auto Europe), and finally arrived around 11:30. This was no problem for David who happily dashed our suitcases up to our room and asked what he could get for us.

David and Michelle are warm, welcoming hosts. The rooms are new, clean, spacious, private and very comfortable. The breakfast was great, and Michelle's baking skills are very apparent. Although it is 10 minutes or so out of Stonehaven, this B&B has earned its ranking and is well worth the drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We could not find accommodation in Aberdeen for 6 nights & started to look further afield we use Tripadvisor & found this B&B rated as #1 in the Stonehaven area......well, thank goodness we found it, it more than deserves that rating.....the welcome is second to none, the room standard, bathroom standard is wonderful, cleanliness & attention to detail are perfect. Breakfast all freshly cooked including Michelle's home baked bread etc is superb. They even greet you early evening with fresh milk for your room for tea or coffee. A great asset to the NE of Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I used this B&B as a base for exploring the area around Stonehaven and Aberdeen.

The couple who own it (and their lovely daughter) couldn't have been more welcoming or friendly. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with a beautifully appointed shower room. Michelle bakes her own bread and other treats, and there is always a wee treat next to the coffee and tea in the room (with a flask of fresh milk; not those dreadful cartons of UHT milk). Both day's treats were delicious, especially her shortbread.

The breakfast is hearty and delicious, especially their home cured bacon.

The setting may be a few miles south of Stonehaven, and about a mile from the main road, but it is a lovely setting. On the afternoon that I arrived, I had to stop the car twice just to take in the view of the fields and to take photographs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

It's hard to describe perfect! We were warmly welcomed by David & Michelle on a pretty chilly, wet and windy evening, which made us all the more grateful to have a warm, comfortable and very clean place to stay. We only drink herbal tea, and they were so thoughtful to give us 3 boxes of teas to take up to our room to choose from! Since the weather was so bad (storm last month with up to 70mph winds) we appreciated having the large room and comfortable chairs to sit on for the evening. Their whole house is just beautiful as well as the views on their farm. The tea tray, toiletries, hair dryer and all the little things are appreciated. Breakfast was just as amazing and delicious, with fresh fruit (very much appreciated!), porridge, cereals, yogurt, museli, granola, meat/cheese, croissants and/or a full hot breakfast! Many thanks for all the hard work, David & Michelle-and thanks for sharing your home with us!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiverMom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strangford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights and hosts could not have been more friendly and helpfull. Very cosy and food great homemade bread etc. Great views out the window of big flocks of returning geese. Will be back again I hope

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonehaven
5.3 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
474 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
13.6 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
146 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#17 of 27 in Stonehaven
83 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woodside of Glasslaw Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Chapel of Barras Farm, Stonehaven AB39 2UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing