We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best castle in Scotland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunnottar Castle

Dunnottar Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.45*
and up
Full-Day Two Castles Tour from Aberdeen
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Majestic 14th-century castle located on a rugged cliff overlooking the coast.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best castle in Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This is a classic castle. Overlooking the sea outside Stonehaven. From a distance it looks like a complete ruin but there is much to see and it's an extensive site .
Be prepared to climb steps !

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank HarryRoberts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,448
    285
    35
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

We went waaaayyyyy out of our way from St. Andrews to Pitlochry just to visit Dunnottar Castle, and we were NOT disappointed!!! The views around, near, and on the caslte grounds are awe inspiring!!! Prior to walking around the castle grounds, my wife, myself, and my mother-in-law took a right turn along the way to go to the top of the cliff across the gorge from the castle for some majestic pictures of the castle and grounds. We highly recommend this somewhat challenging hike before touring the castle. The history of this castle is so interesting, and the entire place is so photogenic! We must come back here again!!! We highly recommend this attraction!!!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan-and-Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Leah our guide really brought this amazing place to life, so make sure you book the type when you get your tickets.
The history is extremely interesting and the ruins are so photographic!
Loved it, we must go back!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dunnotar Castle, Stonehaven ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This beautiful castle is steeped in history it's majestic views simply awe inspiring, if your in the area you simply must go and spend a few hours at Dunnotar Castle.
If your a keen photographer a visit to the castle and surrounding area is a must regardless what time of year or time of day the castle is breath taking.
Personally I could spend days just watching the light change around this beautiful castle and trying to capture it's mystery and beauty in a photo.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank themoondancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Amazing view of the coast and the castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2016

Catering van and seats outside serving fish and chips etc Didnt eat but had an ice cream pricey but nice

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank judithkyle1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunnottar Castle also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Dunnottar Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing