We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Dunnottar Castle
Reviews (2,745)
Filter reviews
2,745 results
Traveller rating
2,250
434
50
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,250
434
50
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff car park steep steps stunning location drawing room war memorial coastal path views are amazing guide book stonehaven harbour walking shoes take your time worth the effort mobility issues sunny day william wallace worth the climb
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 2,745 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Great stop to take some photos. You don't even have to go in. You can also take a nice wee walk along the coast line.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank LinaK_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

I think that here is the best place to visit in Scotland!
I love it. ıt was windy but don't care. Thank you Scotland

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank asyatnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Visited Dunnottar Castle the week when the Beast from the East was due. Luckily we visited before the Beast arrived and we loved this place. Free parking and grabbed a quick cup of coffee at the catering van before we made out way down to the castle. Walked down the steps and then paid our £7 each to get in. A really interesting place and very well maintained. The views were fabulous as the skies were clear today. We were able to take the dog in as long as he was kept on the lead. The steps were quite steep in parts, but would definitely recommend to anyone.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank kangeroo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Recently visited the castle with my wife. We parked the car in Stonehaven harbour car park,and walked to the castle via the cliff top path, which was 2.1/2 mile walk, stunning scenery along the way, but a hell of walk. Not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties
We stopped and looked at the war memorial which is on the way. When you reach the castle you have to walk down almost 200 steps to gain entry.there is a car park close to the castle. With a very welcome snack van. ( but not very well signposted from the main road) which would save you the long walk, but you still have to negotiate all the steps. Entry price was £7 per person, and the tour book was £5 but worth it as it explained the history of the castle. Great looking at all the ruins and stunning scenery from its cliff top advantage point. Highly recommended for a day out, be aware though that the castle may close in adverse weather.also watch the floor conditions in the castle as become very slippy when wet. Really enjoyed it but knew about it by the time we walked back to car,

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank grant40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

I have never been breathless at a castle - but this one took my breath away. The location on the coast, the rocky fortress is quite the site. The castle and grounds are in great condition - the staff we encountered were very nice. The views are unbelievable, and I will never forget my visit here. This is a MUST see for anyone traveling to Scotland.
Caution with all the stairs getting to the castle - take it slow, it is completely do-able.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank SafetyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews