We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I now have 2 prunes for children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool

Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Huge, Olympic-size open air swimming pool and lido with clean sea water heated to 29°C (84°F). Open daily 30 May - 6 September 2015. Quiet swims for adults, fun sessions for kids, toddlers' paddling pool, midnight swims during peak season (4 July - 19 Aug inc 2015). Also peak season Funday Sunday afternoon games and competitions for kids. Sheltered sun terraces, on-site cafe, ample free parking. Day tickets are valid all day! 2015 prices: Adult £5.30, child/senior £3.20, family £14.35. Midnight swims £6.90/£4.75/£18.00. 12-session & season tickets also available.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I now have 2 prunes for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We love Stonehaven and visit it quite,a few times over the year, staying in our touring caravan. Our 2 boys particularly enjoy the beautiful outdoor pool, and so,far any time we've visited between June and September we've been really lucky with the weather. The boys have been in the pool every day and now resemble salty prunes! Fantastic pool, lovely attraction and a credit to the staff and volunteers who work hard to maintain the facility. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank avid1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hope your prune-children have recovered - or have they spent even more time in the pool during this fantastic weather?! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    42
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's a fantastic pool. 50m long, always warm. Went for my first midnight swim. It was very busy, but it's a big pool. Will be visiting the midnight swims again this year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AW788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience shame about the parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A great treat, a warm salt water outdoor pool, what more could you want.

Shame about the parking thou, I don't know how those people in Cowie cope with all the inconsiderate parkers on the road by the beech.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Si N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your swim, but sorry you had to run the gauntlet of bad/inconsiderate parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Healthy swim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Enjoyed swim in HEATED open air pool. Sea water and relatively low chlorine make this a better option than noisy indoor pools. Well done Stonehaven.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fraser81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We're so lucky not to need such high chlorine levels - we're aware of at least one person who's allergic to chlorine who can enjoy swimming in our Pool but cannot cope with indoor pools.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor swimming pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Absolutely loved it! What a treat, Sea water, nice and warm lovely facilities with a slide open to youngsters and...adults! Staff was so friendly too. We'll definitively go back. A great day out!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hope you've managed to come back - there's still a few weeks of the season left, but we move to shorter midweek opening times from Tuesday 19 August. Last chance swim for 2014 is Sunday 7 September
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing