We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a fun!!!!!! And then not!!!!”

Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Huge, Olympic-size open air swimming pool and lido with clean sea water heated to 29°C (85°F). Open daily 26 May - 2 Sept 2018. Quiet swims for adults, inflatables sessions for kids, toddlers' paddling pool, midnight swims in peak season (7 July - 20 Aug inc 2018). Chute (swimmers only) open daily. Sheltered sun terraces, on-site cafe, ample free parking. Day tickets valid all day! 2018 prices: Adult £5.45, child/senior/student with ID/spectator £3.35, family £14.80. Midnight swims £7.20/£4.90/£18.60. Family 2+2 or 1+3. 12-session & season tickets also available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We found this place and decided it was a great idea to swim,it was very cheap and it was heated.When we got there we got in the pool and it was heated although not hot just warm the salt water was kind of a problem because it kept getting in my mouth even if I didn't want to :( We stayed there all day after we had fun splashing at the slide in the water and being able to swim where it was 2 meters deep!!After 12:00 o clock they put the jumpy inflatable and every one was having races but when you got out of the water it was freezing cold outside and rainy and there was no roof.But you got used to it, then we finally were done and we took a bath in the showers they had which were nice and clean, they had lockers too,afterward, we had a meal at the restaurant and went home.And I started to feel dizzy and my stomach got upset and i had a horrible headache which lasted all night because of so much salt in the body!!!Thanks a lot of seawater pool.But do be aware of that

1  Thank AriPadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Pool but, er, we would suggest the water is not for drinking! Even swallowing the chlorinated fresh water in an indoor pool, or the salt water in the sea anywhere would upset anyone's stomach. Certainly, we have not heard of other people being adversely affected by the salt although we are aware that not everyone enjoys the salt water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"salt water"
in 27 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 26 reviews
"sea water"
in 33 reviews
"midnight swim"
in 14 reviews
"deep end"
in 9 reviews
"paddling pool"
in 9 reviews
"great pool"
in 6 reviews
"warm bath"
in 5 reviews
"great fun"
in 17 reviews
"lane swimming"
in 3 reviews
"non swimmers"
in 3 reviews
"inflatable obstacle course"
in 3 reviews
"art deco"
in 7 reviews
"on duty"
in 6 reviews
"all ages"
in 11 reviews
"unique experience"
in 4 reviews
"plenty of seats"
in 3 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Just wonderful place to be on a sunny afternoon, all the benefits of sea swimming without the worry of pollution or strong tides. The warm water is very relaxing, the only slight downside is that the changing and shower facilities are now a bit old fashioned, but otherwise, good value for a day out

Thank peternI6763DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Pool is great for the kids and adults alike. The pool is heated but to be fair it doesn't feel like it when you first go in. All public areas are kept clean but feel the changing facilities could be done with an update. Café is great for a snack or a cuppa and if you don't want to go for a swim you can relax by the side of the pool and enjoy if you are lucky the sun.

Thank KimMacD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Went here as last day of holidays. First time here. Pool is cold but refreshing. We all had a great day here. Great for all ages.

Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit Laurence B, but the pool itself should not have been cold! The water is kept as close to 29°C as can be managed but unfortunately we can't do anything about the air temperature!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic heated pool in a great location, a must visit place for families. Facilities are clean, great value for money if you take a family pass. Only 14.95 for a family of 2 adults 2 children

1  Thank Garvla132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmaMc, Public Relations Manager at Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write us a review. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool also viewed

Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing