We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Fish and Chips”

The Bay Fish & Chips
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

You really cannot get better fish and chips than here. Fish and chips are always excellent...... and everything is always very hot. The information about the source of the fish and the potatoes is a nice touch...... great service as well..... and nice packaging ......only place I eat fish and chips now....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidRG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    116
    47
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wee gem of a chippy :)”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Took visiting family to Stonehaven for the day this weekend and we decided to try out The Bay Fish and Chip shop after hearing that they had won the UKs best chippy award.

We were not disappointed! The chippy itself is teeny tiny and almost hidden down the seafront (near the outdoor swimming pool) in a row that includes a sweetie/icecream shop, a nice cafe and closed amusements so it's not in the town centre itself. It's quite unassuming from the outside, just two picnic benches but it does advertise it's many awards in the window.

The menus is comprehensive, including different sizes of fish, battered or breaded options, and a senior citizen menu (much to the delight of my grandparents). You are told which farm the potatoes are from and which boat the fish came in on that day.

Everything is cooked to order so there's a brief delay but completely worth the wait! I had a standard haddock supper (fish with chips). Everything is served in nice sturdy boxes - no newspapers or trays to contend with - and the boxes are sturdy so grease doesn't leak through. We took our order and sat down on the beach. The batter on the fish is so light and the chips weren't super greasy (as you can get with some chippys). Delicious!

Good portions and reasonable prices. What more can I say? Loved it! Will have to be making the trip down to Stonehaven more often!

Helpful?
Thank FAinsworth87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Love the Bay, been coming here for years. Only complaint is that the queues are always long if you don't get in early. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dior123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Winner Best UK Fish & Chip Shop 2013”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

....and a lot of near misses previously. If you come from Scottish coastal towns you will probably find your Bay fish suppers better than at home but not spectacularly. If you come from England or further afield you will be blown away. Sure, you will have to queue. Probably for 40 to 50 minutes at busy times. But in the queue you will appreciate the organisation and hard work of the staff. The fish, prawns (scampi), etc are so fresh that the salt water has just left them. Having lived in Scotland for 65 years, but now living in Portugal, I miss traditional fish suppers and couldn't be in Stonehaven without visiting The Bay. It was everything that I wanted it to be.
The two "tables" outside are not where you would want to eat so bring your car and park looking out to sea.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sc0ttishbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Over priced and slightly over rated”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had heard wonderful stories about how good this place was, so maybe my expectations were too high. Queued for 45 minutes and got our meals and have to say they were no more exceptional than any other fish suppers I have tasted. Will give high praise to the hard working, polite staff who cope with the queues night after night especially in the summer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank expat_brit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Bay Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing