We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachgate Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Stonehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Our room was clean, nice and had a view of the ocean. The bathroom was spotless and had very nice tiles and amenities. In the morning, we enjoyed looking at a seagull standing on a fence across our window.

The breakfast was very good. Alan and his mom were very nice. He recommended us a very good restaurant for dinner, The Ship Inn. He also helped us to contact somebody that did laundry for us.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucianatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

An old sprightly and kindly lady, and one of her 5 sons have welcomed us in their nice B&B, situated on the beach of Stonehaven just few miles from the Dunnottar Castle.

Our room was very clean, quite small but with a wonderful view on the beach. We had a big private ensuite just two steps from room (but the lock of door was broken and the water mixer of the shower didn't work well ).

Great breakfast and wide choice of dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lele_e_gio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We visited Beachgate House on our vacation throughout Scotland, and loved it. Aland and his mother were the perfect hosts, appearing just when we needed anything. The food and atmosphere were wonderful, and only matched by the breathtaking views of the North Sea from all windows. Local attractions and food were within easy walking distance, yet the location was quiet enough to hear the waves crashing while falling asleep. Highly recommend this to anyone wanting a wonderful place to stay. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Alan and his mother work really hard to ensure that guests' every needs are anticipated. From the location right on the seafront, the warmth of the welcome, the refurbished bathrooms to a very high standard, the free wifi to the offer to dry our swimming things and to hang up clothes we had brought for a special occasion, nothing was too much trouble. I would thoroughly recommend this B and B and stay here again myself.
We had 2 niggles: the first was the size of the bedroom; we had been warned when we booked that it wouldn't be ensuite and offered the chance to change rooms after our first night (of four). We hadn't taken up the offer because we don't like to move once we have settled in. The bathroom was immediately opposite and was beautiful and spacious and we had sole use; however the bedroom itself was very small and more suited to a single than a double. The most had been made of the space and there was access to the large lounge but there was nowhere to put our suitcases or the excess bedding. We would perhaps have been less bothered if the price had not been the same as for a spacious ensuite room.
The only other problem was one or two items on the breakfast menu. The full Scottish was wonderful and there were interesting choices for both first and main courses as well as plenty of toast and a bonus plate of fruit. However, we both had problems with scrambled eggs and omelette which were very pale, watery and tasteless. The fried eggs had deep yellow yolks and were very tasty so we wondered why that should be the case. When I was clearly unhappy with my omelette, it was immediately replaced with whatever I wanted, a reflection of the general quality of service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crofterlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We just have to add to the other reviews. The room was luxurious with a sea view. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was legendary. It was freshly cooked and as good as any retaurant we have been to.

The people running the B&B were vary friendly and obliging.

This B&B is a class above the others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We have stayed in hundreds of Scottish B&Bs over the years and this rates as one of the best. Luxuriously furnished, immaculately clean , perfect host and great location. What more can one ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

After a disappointing stay in central Inverness, we chose to stop outside of Aberdeen as part of our UK driving tour. We chose Stonehaven from a map, knowing nothing about the town, and found Beachgate House on the net. On both counts, talk about a lucky find! Beachgate is right on the beach, with lovely views of the North Sea, and Stonehaven is a picturesque seaside town, complete with stone harbour, fishing boats and castle ruins. Host Alan, and his Mum, were very friendly and accommodating. The whole house is beautifully appointed and tastefully furnished, and includes a stunning view from the dining room. Our room was very comfortable, with a generous sized ensuite bathroom. There was lots of choice for the cooked breakfast and the dishes were all delicious. As we wrote in the Guest book, Beachgate and Stonehaven are one of Scotland's best kept secrets.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todds38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stonehaven hotels
0.3 mi away
Ship Inn
Ship Inn
#1 of 1 in Stonehaven
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
BayView Bed & Breakfast
BayView Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in Stonehaven
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shorehead Guesthouse
Shorehead Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Stonehaven
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chapel of Barras Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Arduthie House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stonehaven
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachgate Guest House

Address: Beachgate House Beachgate Lane, Stonehaven AB39 2BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stonehaven
Price Range: £93 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beachgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachgate Guest House Stonehaven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing