We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smile would have been nice.”

The Tolbooth Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Stonehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$58
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Intimate fine dining serving fresh local seafood in beautiful historic surroundings.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A smile would have been nice.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely setting and lovely meal. Just wish I could say the same for front of house/manager. All other waiters/waitresses were lovely but the manager didn't smile once when we were there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    109
    36
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Over priced and little atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I'm not one to write a less than positive review, however, the Tollbooth in my opinion is over priced and lacks any ambience. I suppose dining is a personal thing, I'm sure there are those that like to spend a fortune on wine and a drizzle of sauce on their plates, but not me. It was the lack of atmosphere that was the disappointment, a large room that felt empty. Would I recommend the Tollbooth, but if you want to flash your money and get little change from £100 this is the place for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidandVal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unfriendly and overpriced”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Food was ok but the front of house staff had the warmth of the slightly over cooked fish I just ate.
Average meal meal with an expensive price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Mediocre and very expensive.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I dined in this establishment on a Sunday lunch with my friends, The set menu was £26 for lunch but nearly everything worth eating had a supplementary charge so it was a very expensive Sunday lunch in this small Scottish town.
The restaurant is on a first floor in a converted warehouse and although recently converted the décor is unimaginative and mediocre.
likewise the staff were smartly dressed but lacked flair.
My lunch was only Ok but when I commented on one of the dishes to the waitress the Manageress came rushing up in an aggressive manner and demanded to know if I was complaining! With an attitude like that I wouldn't dare! I was already eating and it was extremely bad manners to interrupt my lunch.
Overall it was a very poor and expensive experience . I will definitely not be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonlighter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly and unreceptive.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We climbed the steps to the restaurant to be turned away quiet abruptly with 'sorry, we're closed' - which would have been fine if we hadn't noticed their sign stated that they were open again for dinner time in only half an hour.... we would have waited or come back after some time but were put off by the way we were treated. Went elsewhere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tolbooth Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 
Catterline, Stonehaven
Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Tolbooth Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing