We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to be in Sidi Ifni”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidi Ifni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #6 of 11 Sidi Ifni B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bellevue for two nights in February, just turning up with no reservation. The friendly staff gave us a nice room – simply furnished but extremely clean; the TV worked, WiFi was fine, breakfast was very good and we had a great little balcony overlooking the sea. There were also a couple of communal places in which to sit around. Lovely staff who were all very friendly. At 260 MAD for two including breakfast it was excellent value for money and we would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Try to get one with the little balcony overlooking the Atlantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacksonBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

I only spent one night there but was pleasantly surprised:

* I did not have a reservation, but checking in did take maybe 90 seconds.
* My room was very clean.
* The staff was not overly friendly but absolutely OK.
* Probably the best breakfast for its price I ever had in a Moroccan hotel (30 MAD for coffee, orange juice, bread, honey, marmalade, olives and chocolate croissant)
* Good dinner (salad for starter, fish of the day for main, small bottle of wine: about 130 MAD).

And nomen est omen: The view is really great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trypppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Set on the top of the hill, the patio has an incredible view of the coastline. the building is very unusual, sort of felt like stepping into a film from the early fifties (in a good way). The rooms as others have mentioned are simple and clean. The furniture a bit old, but otherwise fine. I went with a simple room with a shared bathroom. It was very inexpensive and worked out fine. The staff were very kind. I guess I was there low season as I never saw the bar open.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Hotel Bellevue had the nicest, funniest most helpful staff ive ever met. Brilliant location overlooking the gorgeous Atlantic. Very simple tidy rooms. Great prices. Very fair wine and great beer. the food- wonderful. try a special tagine for 7 or 8. Organised by the staff and cooked locally. Wowzers- sooo good. Definitely a place ill be heading back to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matakanafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and found it to be very reasonably priced with good views, from its location perched high on a cliff top overlooking the sea. However, some of the hotel rooms could do with more attention to maintenance. Some rooms can be noisy if near the bar. The hotel restaurant is very good and it offers a wide variety of dishes, some made specifically to order if you make your request well in advance. Substantial salads are also on offer and a large selection of wines are available.
Nothing is too much trouble for the head waiter Mohammed, from whom you will receive a friendly welcome and who does his utmost to ensure you enjoy your meal.
The hotel can be cold in the winter, but in summer the sun terraces make it a relaxing place to be away from the hubbub of the town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Bellevue for two nights in March 2013, paying 170 dirhems per night (around 13 British pounds) for a large room with a comfortable double bed. The standard of cleanliness was fine. The room was simply furnished and lacked most amenities (there was no TV and only a very small wardrobe, table and stool). The bathroom was OK, although there was no hot water on the morning of my departure. I was able to access the Internet in my room, via wi-fi, and there was no charge for that. The best thing about the room, however, was the balcony and the splendid view from it (see attached photograph). I found the hotel staff very pleasant, especially in the restaurant.

The location of the hotel is great, right at the heart of the colonial civic centre of Sidi Ifni, the place Hassan II (formerly the Plaza de Espana). SI was a Spanish outpost until 1969, when they handed if over to Morocco. The square is lined with fine 1930s Art Deco buildings, including the town hall, the royal palace, the former church (now law courts) and the derelict former Spanish consulate (which would make a lovely small hotel). SI is rich in terms of both charm and character in a very deprived and neglected area of the country, one which is conspicuously lacking in both, in my view. Nobody in town seems to have a job - and, unusually for Morocco, there are placards complaining about just that!

There are plenty of cafes and restaurants within a few minutes' walk of the hotel. I would especially recommend the Nomad Restaurant, where I had dinner one evening. Wonderful high-quality food at unbelievably low prices - and they also serve wine, discreetly (SI is a very conservative town, with, I imagine, a practically 100% Muslim population). The hotel restaurant is also licensed and serves up decent food at a very reasonable price. The breakfast served is a typical Moroccan one (fresh orange juice, coffee, bread, cheese, butter, jam and a hard-boiled egg) - absolutely fine, especially when taken on the outdoor terrace.

The nearest big towns to SI are Tiznit and Guelmim, both an hour or so away by shared taxi. It can also be reached by CTM 'bus.

For what I paid, I considered that the Bellevue offers great value for money. I would certainly stay there again and recommend both it and SI itself to travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 43 - a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I've been to Ifni many times, but my first stay here- rather worse than expected. Very noisy all night if you face on to the center courtyard. Nice place to have a drink and look at the ocean, but I wont stay here again- the staff is really rather pathetic...alas not atypical of many hotels of its generation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdd955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidi Ifni
14.2 mi away
Kasbah Tabelkoukt
Kasbah Tabelkoukt
#1 of 4 in Mirleft
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Logis La Marine
Logis La Marine
#1 of 11 in Sidi Ifni
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suerte Loca
Suerte Loca
#3 of 11 in Sidi Ifni
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maison D'hotes Tiwaline
Maison D'hotes Tiwaline
#4 of 11 in Sidi Ifni
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xanadu guesthouse
Xanadu guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Sidi Ifni
127 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Safa
Hotel Safa
#9 of 11 in Sidi Ifni
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Place Hassan II, Sidi Ifni 85200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Sidi Ifni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sidi Ifni
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Bellevue 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing