We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This house is fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
pool terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool terrace
salon view exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
pool terrace
salon view
exterior
pool
salon
upper salon
salon
dining
kitchen
main suite
bedroom
bedroom
bathroom
bathroom
upper terrace
upper terrace
dining by the pool
garden below villa
salon net
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sidi Ifni, Souss-Massa-Draa Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
whatman
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This house is fabulous”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The Rough Guide describes Sidi Ifni as "surely the finest and most romantic Art Deco military town ever built". We discovered it in 2012 and decided to push the boat out for our third visit and were lucky enough to stay in Peter Duffin's cliff-top mansion. The house is an architectural gen, a little like a Huf Haus, with lots of blond wood, steel and floating stairs and mezzanines. It has 2 huge suites with their own kitchens and sitting rooms plus 2 more en-suite double bedrooms and every bedroom opens onto a terrace or balcony with a fantastic sea view (there are 5 in total enabling you to catch the sun from dawn to dusk. The main living area is triple height and, with a series of french windows onto the pool, is a lovely light and spacious place to enjoy the sea views. But you'll actually spend almost all your time outside on the private terraces. The best part of the Sidi Ifni beach is a 200m stroll from the house with clean sand and you'll have it almost to yourself.

Peter is the perfect host and you'll be very well looked after by Youssef (excellent English) and Aicha.

Sidi Infi market is a 10 - 15 min walk away with stalls selling the most gorgeous Moroccan flat bread, fruit, vegetables and olives. There are also little supermarkets selling the usual stuff but no booze (you'll have to go to the Belle View Hotel or the Beach Bar at the North edge of the town). Every afternoon the fish market has a bewildering selection of the freshest possible fish at rock bottom prices. If you stick to the market you'll eat well, healthily and very cheaply.

Sidi Ifni is a charming, slightly scruffy little town where the surfing community co-exist peaceably with the locals in their Gandalf robes. As Peter says, it's a place where nothing matters very much and time isn't terribly important and you'll face quite a long wait in most of the restaurants unless you order in advance. The exceptions seem to be the Gran Canaria (by the market) or the market stalls selling pre-prepared tagines or kebabs.

Sidi Ifni is in a fairly remote spot in Southern Morocco and it is not unusual to experience power cuts and even interruptions in the water supply. It is not in any way "touristy" but has so much going for it that I fear it will goi that way. Meanwhile it is an authentic Spanish/Moroccan fishing village with a real olde worlde charm and this is the best place to stay in town. We love it and will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Going to sleep and waking to the sound of waves
Liked least: Hi Fi can be somewhat variable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thanks for your review which gives a great overview of Sidi Ifni. You visited just after a severe storm which interrupted power and water supplies. I'm now back in the villa and happy to report that everything is back to normal. While we are 'off the beaten track' we also have all modcons like dishwasher and Wi-Fi. As you say, it's a great place to unwind and as our reviews show visitors are well looked after. It's a luxurious hideaway!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaleCofCC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Heavenly, relaxing & unforgettable - highly recommended!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Dar Bhar is quite simply a stunning villa in a wonderful location - an excellent place for exploring this magical part of the world. I've had many, many villa type holidays in the past and this definitely rates as one of the best!

The villa itself is a magnificent piece of architectural artistry. Its unique design adds to the sense that you're in a very exotic part of the world. Due to its many windows, large rooms and high ceilings the whole place is light and airy. It has a very open and fresh feel. The rooms are well sized and, since the bedrooms are spread across three floors, there's plenty of privacy. The separate ground floor "snug" is a nice feature - meaning that those who want to watch TV (the football world cup was on during our stay!) can do so without interfering with those who just want to chill to music/reading in the lounge. The kitchen has pretty much everything you'd want/expect.

The hammock is a wonderful feature - take your book there and lose an hour or two with nothing to disturb you but the atmospheric sound of waves crashing on the beach below.

The villa is sited in a spectacular location. Situated in an elevated position, it looks directly onto the beach with uninterrupted and extensive views to both the north and south - and of course, straight out to the open ocean! It's west facing so the villa benefits from glorious sunset views.

Having said previously that the villa has many windows, its location and design mean that it is not overlooked at all, so you get total privacy both in the villa and on the terrace - perfect for sunbathing and outdoor dining.

The pool was definitely on the chilly side, ideal for cooling down but not so great if you intend to spend a lot of time in there.

The beach is easily accessed, sandy and very quiet. Very often I'd say that there were less than 10 people on the entire length of the beach!

I cannot commend highly enough the way that we were looked after by the daily maid (Aisha) and the House Manager (Youssef). They couldn't do enough to help us. We were looked after very, very well. The owner Peter, was on hand to welcome us and help us to settle in. He did a marvellous job at answering the vast number of questions I emailed to him in the weeks before our holiday.

The main part of town is within walking distance. The 15 minute morning walk to the bakery was very pleasant and the main town is not far beyond that. A car is not absolutely essential but is a definite advantage so I'd highly recommend that you consider hiring one. The walk to town is easy enough but lugging the shopping home would quickly become tiresome. Taxis are readily available but we never tried hiring one. Fresh fruit, veg, meat and fish are available from the daily market. There is a very large selection of fish! I was unexpectedly pleased that haggling was not required. I really can't be done with that aspect of holidays in other parts of the world but the prices here are fixed and seemed reasonably fair. Next to the bakery is a small supermarket that sells most of the essentials.

I would recommend that, on arrival into Agadir, you visit a supermarket and stock up on consumables that aren't available in Sidi Ifni; namely, ham, cheese, prepared barbecue food, pastries, sweets and of course, beer & wine. The latter are available in Sidi Ifni but are much cheaper in Agadir.

Gents, please look away for a moment. Ladies, tampons are not available at all in Morocco (from what we could see) so make sure that you make provision when packing!

The town has a small number of restaurants that serve authentic Moroccan cuisine. I think one or two catered for European tastes too but we never tried those. The restaurants were very clean - hygiene was never an issue in Sidi Ifni. The food is cooked upon order - meaning that you can be assured your food is fresh but it also means that you have to wait a very long time for it to arrive. It's worth the wait but don't expect quick service! That said, the villa is so beautifully situated that we had barbecues on the terrace most evenings. Just remember that the temperature does drop considerably after dark ...take a jumper or two!

Sidi Ifni is a good place to base your holiday for exploring the surrounding area. There are some stunning stone arches on a fabulous beach just a short drive away. I'd also recommend a trip into the Sahara. We had a very memorable visit to a traditional souk (market) that sold a huge array of fruit, veg & spices as well as livestock - including camels!! Be warned though, the Moroccans do not treat their animals with much compassion. A visit to a genuine desert oasis was a fabulous experience too.

Please bear in mind that this part of southern Morocco is a Muslim heartland. The people are generally warm, friendly & welcoming but a conservative dress code exists. In town it is necessary for men & women to wear knee length shorts/skirts and short-sleeved t-shirts but if travelling further afield then ladies will need to cover their arms and legs. The privacy back at the villa though means that it's fine to strip off and sunbathe without concern.

Expect to occasionally be stared at - the locals don't often get to see Westerners. We were never in any way concerned or felt threatened by this, we were being stared at simply out of curiosity!

One of the best aspects of Sidi Ifni is that it is not primarily a tourist resort. This means that there are no tacky tourist traps, no rip-off merchants loitering, no scams. It also means that virtually nobody speaks English, and only a few speak French. The culture, food & lifestyle are very different from ours. For those who are looking for a resort that is a sunnier version of Blackpool, for those who think that Benidorm is very exotic, for those who like their food pre-packaged in cellophane shrink wrap - this will not be the place for you.

However, for those who want an unforgettable and relaxing holiday experience in a fabulous villa with stunning views in an area that offers exposure to a very different culture and exciting, adventurous trips, then I highly recommend Dar Bhar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thank you for writing such a detailed review. This helps guests to know what they will enjoy in the villa and our small town. It's a great place to unwind in the sun from a busy life and the villa itself has lots of spaces to enjoy. I'm pleased that you felt well looked after!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - overlooking the sea, and the space
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thanks for your review of the villa and I'm pleased you want to return. Many of our guests come back and for the reasons you have mentioned. I'm glad you found the villa well-equipped. When guests leave we ask what can be done to improve the house and so with your help we keep the villa in good order. This means guests can concentrate on relaxing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David A
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Special House in Very Special Place”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Brilliant stay with family in this wonderfully designed house-You could never tire of the sea views from every floor and terrace-The house team ,Mustapha and Aisha, looked after us very well
And Sidi Ifni has,like the house,a unique charm and appeal

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thanks for your review. The villa was designed by a well-known French architect and has wonderful space and light. It’s true that it’s easy to spend many hours just watching the views from the terrace…
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thanks for your review. Most guests enjoy sunny days here – our climate doesn’t change much all year. Glad you enjoyed the architecture – it is a bold design and yet with a gentle energy and ambience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen_F50...
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This was the 'Piece de resistance' of our best holiday so far, which started and ended in Marrakech.
I cannot praise this quiet Irishman enough he was brilliant and I feel very honoured to say I have stayed in his wonderful home. Thank you Peter!
He introduced us to his local friends and gave us 'The grand tour' too, stopping for drinks at the local cafe in Sidi Ifni and talking to his friends in the local shops especially a very friendly helpful guy called Noureddine Id Bouja who's family own Superette Sidi Ifni where we bought our supplies. (We have been friends ever since our visit and talk regularly on Facebook. ha ha!)
Our time in Sidi Ifni was perfected by the fact that absolutely everything was arranged for us, cook, chauffeur, travel guide and all the help and support we needed without interference. Thanks again to Peter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excitment the night the Sirocco winds struck, it was quite an education.
Liked least: Nothing bad AT ALL.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Thanks for your review – it looks like you had a great stay. Yes, we often arrange catering and driving for our guests and of course those who want to be left alone have lots of space in the villa to be by themselves. Our visitors find Ifni a safe and gentle place – you won’t get hassled and people are genuinely kind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stunning house, very welcoming owner
Liked least: the beds were no the softest
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing