We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with kind staff.”
Review of Ginkgo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginkgo Hotel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with kind staff.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I travelled with my family to Hódmezővásárhely, and we stayed in the hotel for two nights.

The hotel is modern and beautiful, and it is in the city center.
The staff were very kind, especially the waiter who served the breakfast.
The room were clean, and there was a kettle in the room with some tea bags. (the tea was free)

The air-conditoning system worked perfectly, and we got little pillows too which is very important for me. :)

Only the wifi was terrible in the room.

The breakfast was standard for the adults, but the children like to eat some different types of cakes, but it was not available.

All in all, the hotel was good.
If i travel there next time, I will chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    19
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
10
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I was in this city for only one night but I wish I stayed longer and I wish I had more time enjoying the facilities of this hotel.
My brief notes for my stay:
Sleep quality is amazing.
Front desk is very helpful and friendly.
Spacy and clean rooms.
In the city center of Hodmezovasarhely.
No need to look for any alternatives next time.
Just loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ersinyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, Front Office Manager at Ginkgo Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are really glad that you liked our Hotel. Be sure to be back for a longer stay so you can enjoy all that the Hotel and Hódmezővásárhely can offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you're lucky to find yourself in Hódmezővásárhely for whatever reason, this is a good hotel to stay at. In fact, I was surprised to see there was a Best Western hotel in such a small town quite far from Szeged.

The room was small but not claustrophobic. The window opens which is great if you need fresh air but there is no screen so beware of insects getting in if you leave the window open. There is a small mini-bar fridge with just enough free room to store your own small bottles of water unless you empty out the whole fridge. Lots of closet space and drawers to stash your clothes. The only English language channels are BBC and CNN.

Cons: The cleaning staff did not replenish the complimentary toiletries. I had to ask. Same for the towels. They did not replace them. I had to ask and when I did, they only provided 1 new fresh towel instead of replacing all of the towels with fresh ones. The cleaning staff also did not clean out the tea cups or replenish the tea in the room. The AC (air conditioning) was not very strong but that's not uncommon in Europe.

Complimentary breakfast: The hotel needs to invest in a good coffee machine. The machine when I stayed there broke down due to the large group I was with lining up for coffee. They brought another machine in after day 2 but it was old and not very good. There was a lot of variety to choose from: eggs, cold cuts (of course salami which the region is famous for), sausages, bacon, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, bread and cookies. The only downside was the bacon. For some reason, it seems Hungarians don't like their bacon crispy...all the bacon was not crisped up and underdone, served cold.

Some useful tips:

Dining: I tried the restaurant next door to the hotel and was not impressed. Food was mediocre at best. Rather, take a 10-15 minute walk to the Bagolyvar restaurant in town. I dined at Bagolyvar 5 nights and each meal was delicious, inexpensive (great value for the price), lots of variety in the menu, and the restaurant service was terrific. The waiters were friendly, hospitable and patient.

Getting to Szeged: A taxi ride from Hódmezővásárhely to Szeged will cost 5,000 HUF. Beware however that the return trip back from Szeged to Hódmezővásárhely will cost more (7,000 HUF). You can of course try to haggle the taxi driver down to closer to 5,000 HUF but be sure you do that before you start the trip back to Hódmezővásárhely.

Conclusion: It's not wow but average. One almost wishes there was a quaint little bed and breakfast one could stay in since the town of Hódmezővásárhely itself is nice and rustic. Since this seems like the best option in Hódmezővásárhely, I would stay again if I found myself in this small town off the beaten path.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a higher floor to minimize noise from the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandersfreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, Front Office Manager at Ginkgo Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your rewiev and for sharing your remarks. We always appreciate every feedback so we can improve our service to your convenience. . We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Newly built hotel in the very center of the town. Modern, friendly rooms, very comfy beds, enough space for the cloths. Connecting rooms are available, very good solution for bigger families. Free coffee and tea in the room. Drink prices in the bar and minibar are ridiculously expensive. Cleanliness is good, except the shower tray in the bathroom, that really would need more care. Breakfast is OK (fresh fruits, omlette, ham, cold cuts, cheese, jam, cookies and tea/low quality machine coffee). Unfortunately the chairs' legs in the restaurant are very loudly moving on the floor, as people pull them while standing up or sitting down at the buffet, it can be heard even in the rooms above the restaurant (even at 5 a.m. when the staff starts the work), so try to avoid these rooms. Otherwise the walls and windows are nicely soundproof. Windows of the rooms are openable (I find this important to mention, as there are more and more hotels where there is no possibility to let some fresh air in). Bathrooms have no ventilation system at all.

The gym has several cardio machines and weights for a basic training, as well as a ping-pong table. The jacuzzi was out of work during our stay, as well as 1 of the 2 saunas, so you'd better forget the wellness part of the hotel. You can try the massage instead, it is good and the price is very reasonable (max. 20,- Euros/hour). Conference rooms are available.

The town of Hódmezővásárhely is surprisingly nice, is beautifully renewed and has several thing to see. It is definitely worth to spend there 1 or 2 days! The location of the hotel is excellent. There is a garage under the building. You can walk out, the restaurant in the neighboring building offers very good food for a very good price. The town of Szeged can be reached within 30 minutes drive, as well as Makó, where the spectacular bath 'Hagymatikum' can be found.

I think this is one of the best hotel of the region. Staff is nice and friendly, even though management could care a bit more in some little details. So don't miss this hotel, it's well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right above the restaurant, they might be noisy (rooms 109, 110, 111).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, Front Office Manager at Ginkgo Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanky you very much for taking the time to write about us. The loud chairs’legs issue has been adressed since you’ve been with us. We are really happy that you feel our Hotel is one of the best in the region and that you enjoyed our massage service so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Firstly, our family booked there a room for two nights.The hotel stretches in the ciy center so we could reach the sights easy. Secondly, our room was a bit small and the spa was just a portable jakuzzi but I think it was enough. The breakfist was delicious, but there was a belgian group of children and they ate all the cakes early...
For the end, we enjoyed this hotel very much. If the spa would be larger thishotel would be the best in this region. :)

Room Tip: The 414th room is suitable for a couple or a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnabas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, Front Office Manager at Ginkgo Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our city center location is one of our main selling points. We can garantee that you won’t find a hotel in town closer to the city center and main sites! Hopefully we can welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Hotel has a perfect location right next to the Main Square. It was built recently, everything is clean and brand new. We stayed there during the Canoe Sprint Worlds held in Szeged just 20 kms away from the town.
Breakfast is great, hotel staff is very friendly.
Recommended at any time for any reason.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisztina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel G, General Manager Assistant at Ginkgo Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Krisztina V,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for mentioning our ideal location and friendly staff. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Andrea Tarjanyi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbu, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Two nights in this hotel were nice. Clean. Good staff. Ok bed. OK breakfast. Nice backyard. Good location. So: if you go to Hodmezovasarhely - a good alternative!!

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Norwegianguy017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hodmezovasarhely hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fama
Hotel Fama
#2 of 3 in Hodmezovasarhely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenguru Panzio
Kenguru Panzio
#2 of 4 in Hodmezovasarhely
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kentaur Lovaspanzio es Pihenopark
Kentaur Lovaspanzio es Pihenopar...
#1 of 4 in Hodmezovasarhely
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginkgo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginkgo Hotel

Property: Ginkgo Hotel
Address: Zrinyi utca 2, Hodmezovasarhely 6800, Hungary (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Hungary > Southern Great Plain > Csongrad County > Hodmezovasarhely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hodmezovasarhe...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ginkgo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ginkgo**** is located in the city centre of the first Hungarian Heritage Award-Winner town, Hodmezovasarhely, beside the Fekete Sas Events Center, built at the beginning of the last century in eclectic style. Our mission is to combine tradition and modernity with a sustainable and environmentally-conscious approach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ginkgo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing