We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly, family-run inn located in the heart of historic Pápa”
Review of Caesar Panzio

Caesar Panzio
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caesar Panzio
Ranked #1 of 7 Papa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Caesar is a world apart from the sterile, cookie-cutter hotel chains that often dominate larger cities. Located on Pápa's main pedestrian street, Kossuth utca, directly opposite the historic post office building, Caesar offers clean, simple, but comfortable rooms, each with large windows overlooking the only busy street in an otherwise sleepy town. Rooms are equipped with cable television, a mini-fridge, a functional, modern bathroom and free internet access throughout the building. The hotel's owner and the female receptionist who served breakfast were both very friendly and personable.

The nightly rate was very affordable (I paid the equivalent of $30), so I did not mind paying another $4 for breakfast. This included a plate of assorted cold cuts, cheese and fresh bread. There was also a counter where you could help yourself to cereal and yoghurt.

I was visiting my elderly great aunt in Pápa--who recently moved into a retirement home--and being able to rely on an affordable B&B in the town centre solved the problem of how I would spend some time with her, now that she has sold her house. I will absolutely stay again at Caesar Panzió the next time I visit Pápa, and I also recommended the hotel to my mother when she visited Hungary a few months after my trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackenzie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

This is a small pension with about 6 rooms in the heart of a charming town, Papa, Hungary. The hotel is clean and nice. the breakfast was good, simple and nice. I felt safe and comfortable and walked to the various sights and to my business meetings. There is not much after hours activity. the streets were empty after 8pm. there may be a part of town with activities but not by the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I definitely felt at home at the Caesar Pension. The rooms are comfortable and clean, Rita, the owner is very helpful, and always smiling.
The town is small. The Esterhazy castle can be visited. The guide is dressed up and you can borrow 18th century clothes for a photo.
There is a very interesting exhibition at the old synagogue.
Next to Caesar Pension is a cukraszda with wonderful cakes. After a day at the spa, one can indulge in some goodies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabtai56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Don't ask me why I ended up in Pápa during my stay in Hungary. It's a small town in the country side of no particular touristic interest. There's a castle that belonged to the Esterhazy family, but it's undergoing renovation. The same goes for the church next to it. And there's a big swimming pool with a spa. No spectacular sights and just a few good restaurants to keep the locals and the odd tourist like myself happy. The surroundings of Pápa are lovely though, and it makes the town a good starting point to discover the Bakony Hills, Herend and its world famous porcelain, or the Balaton Lake. I have been very pleasantly surprised by the charm of the Caesar Pension and its super friendly staff. The rooms are bigger than you might expect, they have good air conditioning and a fridge, and the beds are very comfortable. The pension also offers tons of information and brochures on places to visit, to help you discover the real Hungary. The hospitality of the staff is genuine, they really go to great lenghts to make you feel at home. I would be very happy to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HotelManGent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank jodap2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honaljmokus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mi a tetőtérben voltunk, csendes volt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Szinison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Papa hotels
1.1 mi away
Viktoria Panzio es Gyorsetterem
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Classica
1.3 mi away
Edvy Mill Inn
Edvy Mill Inn
#2 of 7 in Papa
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Caesar Panzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caesar Panzio

Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 32, Papa 8500, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Papa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Papa
Price Range: £30 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caesar Panzio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Caesar Panzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing