We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amazon Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amazon Tupana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Amazon Stay!”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was a once in a lifetime stay in the amazon. This lodge is fantastic and I highly recommend it. My husband and I were picked up at our hotel in Manaus along with 2 other couples and were brought to the docks where we took a boat with a guide to the meeting of the waters. We stopped there to learn about the meeting of the waters before continuing on to a small fishing village. There we boarded a van and drove around 2 1/2 hours to the tupana river. We took a motorized canoe the rest of the way to our lodge. It took over 4 hrs from Manaus to our lodge but it was more than worth the travel. The lodge is in a remote area surrounded by the river and the jungle. It is small and cozy and our whole stay felt very personal. Once we arrived, we met our guide for our 3 day stay, Kennedy. He spoke english quite well and greated us at our boat. We were able to check into our rooms right away and change which was nice. The rooms are small and basic but kept clean. There is power only from 6pm-7am but it is not necessary during the day as there are plenty of activities to keep you busy. We had a room facing the river which was stunning and a hammock on our balcony. The meals are served everyone together (only 13 guests total at the lodge during our stay, and about 5 employees) in the dinning room at fixed times. Our group consisted of the us and the 2 couples picked up in Manaus. Everyday we had organized activities consisting of canoe trips to see wildlife, piranha fishing, hiking in the jungle, etc. There was also plenty of time to relax on the hammocks, nap, swim in the river or kayak in the flooded forests. I cannot say enough good things about our guide Kennedy. He was so friendly and informative. We learned a lot of things about the jungle and when we went wildife viewing he caught us a baby caimen to see as well as a bird and almost an armadillo. Very cool. There were monkeys around the lodge as well as a taipir and macaw. It was a very authentic experience. I enjoyed every moment of it. Even when we opened our curtains one morning to find a giant grasshopper the size of my hand on our window and a scorpion outside our door. It was all so very neat. The meals were delicious as well, often consisting of fresh fish caught in the river as well as rice and beans and fresh fruit. We have no complaints about our stay and would do it again in a second. We would highly recommend this lodge for your amazon stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river as opposed to a room at the back of the lodge overlooking the j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjgm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    64
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
91
96
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at Tupana for two nights and three days. The adventure began at 7am, we passed the meeting of the waters (where the Solimões and Negro rivers flow side by side outside Manaus) in a small boat, touching the waters to feel the difference in temperature. After a transfer by car/minivan (make sure that you take some rain gear with you when you exit the car) and a 30 min boat ride on the Tupana river we reached the lodge at noon. It really feels like you are in the middle of the jungle! The staff and guides were very nice and friendly, and speak Portuguese as well as English. The trips in the forest are interesting: walking around while the guide shows you native plants and tells about their use, looking for caimans in the dark, fishing piranhas (we caught one each, but we were the only ones that did - but they cooked them for lunch the next day and it was tasty!). The food is very tasty and there is so much variety. We thought we were going to lose weight in the amazon - but we ate so much that we actually gained weight! (you might not gain weight if you can control portion sizes!) The beds were very relaxing (note that electricity is only there at night) and no hot water (though we went in summer, so it was a nice relief to have cold showers!). Drinks are not included, but can be purchased at reasonable prices (3 reais for a 500 ml bottle of water). We loved the other travellers that we met (from Rio and Sweden).

We had an experience of a lifetime, and got to enjoy the amazon in a very relaxed way!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the river, some the jungle, both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed two people at Tupana for three nights. The adventure begins already during the trip there. Picked up at 7am, we passed the meeting of the waters (where the Solimões and Negro rivers flow side by side outside Manaus) in a small boat, touching the waters to feel the difference in temperature. After a transfer by car/minivan and yet a short boat ride on the Tupana river we reached the lodge at noon. It really feels like you are in the middle of the jungle!

The staff and guides were very nice and friendly (especially Kenedy), and speak Portuguese as well as English. The trips in the forest are interesting: sleeping in hammocks in the jungle, walking around while the guide shows you native plants and tells about their use, looking for caymans in the dark, fishing piranhas (though they were not very active..). The food is simple but tasty. The rooms are also simple, but serve their purpose. Be aware that there is no electricity during the day (just a few hours during lunchtime) and no hot water. Also, bring rain coats; they come in handy as it can easily start raining during the middle of a boat excursion. Drinks are not included, but can be purchased at reasonable prices (3 reais for a 500 ml bottle of water). All in all, a very good place to relax and enjoy the Amazon feeling.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms have a porch area overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igor-schliemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I spent 5 days at the Tupana Lodge in August. Great place, interesting excursions. The transfers to and from Manaus were well organized. We were very well looked after. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eynshamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

In our three days at the lodge we loved the quietness, nature and hospitallity of all the staff. If you visit the Amazon, remember this lodge for a good time!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willemsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Tupana Lodge is located in the middle of nowhere, far away from the touristic spots near Manaus. It has a beautiful view on the Tupana river, it is very peacefull, not too big and the food is really amazing! We had a beautiful 6 days! Thanks Walter and Conceicao.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2011

As we were on the boat approaching the lodge, I thought about how I was one of the luckiest people in the world to see the nature that I was seeing....and it only got better from there!

I traveled to the Tupana Lodge with my 62 year old father and we both agreed that it was not only a once in a lifetime experience but that it was something that will fondly look back on for the rest of our lives. We were extremely pleased with everything from the transportation from Manaus to the lodge, the food, the room, the nature, the visit to the native's house, the boat adventures and the jungle tour.

The owners of the lodge (Connie and Walter) are doing this because they love it and because they genuinely want people from around the world to experience the wonders of the Amazon. Both of them are extremely dedicated, smart and welcoming people. I mentioned that my father's birthday was coming up and they brought a cake to dinner one night and the staff sang, "Happy Birthday" in Portuguese.

I'm not sure if I have ever slept better. I fell asleep to the sound of the jungle every night and found the entire experience to be very relaxing. This is THE place to go if you are looking to "unplug" from your Blackberry and reconnect with nature.

Recommendations for travelers: pack raincoats...it is the ran forest after all! You might find yourself out on a boat with rain starting to fall! Don't be afraid of the monkeys or the tapir. All are domesticated and totally make the place exciting and unforgettable. Take a flashlight. You could buy one in Manaus but you're probably better off bringing one from home. They have a generator that provides energy but since you are in the middle of the Amazon rain forest, you should expect that you might lose energy when you least expect it. The electricity is mostly not on while you are out and about during the day so it doesn't really affect you that much. Also, the water isn't heated but the water temperature in the shower is usually refreshing anyways.

I think that this is a great part of the rain forest to visit because there are very few mosquitoes, if any! Overall, we had a fantastic experience and I recommend the Amazon Tupana Lodge every chance that I get!

Room Tip: Half of the rooms face the river and the other half face the forest. I guess it depends which you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
Tauari Inn Lodge
#7 of 223 in Amazon River
59 reviews
City Center
Hotel Cuca Legal
Hotel Cuca Legal
#3 of 7 in Presidente Figueiredo
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Juma Amazon Lodge
#1 of 10 in Autazes
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazon Tupana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazon Tupana Lodge

Property: Amazon Tupana Lodge
Address: Km 178, BR 319 Margem esquerda | Careiro Castanho, Rio Tupana, State of Amazonas 69047-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amazon Tupana Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Amazon Tupana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazon Tupana Hotel Amazon River
Amazon Tupana Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing