We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congratulations to Germano, Fabiola, and the team!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tariri Amazon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Tariri was exactly what we needed - beautiful surroundings, plentiful, delicious food, relaxed, varied, and interesting activities, no phone, internet, television...Reminded me so much of Maine lake lodges where I vacationed as a child, even down to the dinner bell, just reinterpreted for the Amazon. Germano and Fabiola have done an incredible job creating the Tariri experience, especially considering the challenges of living where they do. We learned so much about life on the river, life in the forest. We hiked the forest, learned about survival, canoed the igapós, saw sloths, monkeys, caimans, and toucans, fished for piranhas, talked to farinha makers and boat builders, ate tambaqui, tucunaré, and pirarucu, tasted ingá and cupuaçu, and thoroughly enjoyed sitting after dinner with Fabiola and Germano and hearing about their journey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisSergioAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our adult family of five recently had wonderful stay at Tariri. We were all impressed with the lodge, activities, food and our hosts. As genuine an experience you can achieve staying in the Amazon. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassieBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The Tariri lodge is clean and peaceful, though I wish it were a little more remote. The first night I was looking forward to sleeping to the sound of jungle noises, but instead I had to hear the music from a party across the lake. Fortunately it ended early, and later that night I swear I heard a jaguar roar. The rest of the nights were peaceful, though I preferred it before the big group with children came on my last night there.

When I made the reservation via email, I was assured that it would be no problem to accommodate my vegan diet because they would customize meals for me. I don't think they had been informed of this at the lodge, however, though it wasn't generally a problem except for one night (my last), when a big group had arrived. That night all that was available to me was rice and slice of avocado. The other days I ate well at lunch and dinner, lots of couscous and veggies and cassava things, only fruit for dessert - no goodies specially prepared. Breakfast was always just fruit and bread since all of the special items were made with dairy. What I did have, however, was always really delicious, local, and varied. I'm sure if you're not a vegan you will be even more satisfied with the food.

I spent a lot of time resting and reading in a hammock. I was delighted that there are no mosquitoes! I didn't get one bite and I even stopped using repellent. Oddly, there is a lack of big scary bugs there. I guess they don't like the black water.

The other guests went off on the optional "Dolphin interaction" tour for an extra cost. This is a bad idea. Dolphins can contract diseases from humans. More and more scientists are learning about this: Just recently a huge group of bottle nose dolphins died of measles, washed up dead on shore in New Jersey.The population of pink river dolphins in the Amazon is declining rapidly due to pollution and the expansion of urban areas into their territories. Close human contact like this is exploitative and dangerous for the dolphins! Furthermore, it's unnecessary. You will see dolphins!! I saw them jump out of the water and one flipped happily on his side beneath the setting sun! There is joy in just watching them. I wish this lodge, like all the others I'm sure, wouldn't perpetrate this kind of activity. It is not a good idea to feed or touch them. Please think twice before supporting such a practice.

This disrespect of nature was also apparent on the "cayman spotting" trip at nightfall. One of the guides jumped in the water to grab a small cayman which he proceeded to manhandle for the next ten minutes while Germano pointed out her physical features - her toes, skin etc... thereby causing great distress to the animal. At one point several people in the boat shrieked because it looked like Germano was going to twist her neck. When they finally returned her to the water on a life vest, she was in shock and wouldn't move. Someone had to throw something on top of her to get her to take off. This disturbed me. Seemed a little odd since somewhere in my communication with the lodge, it was communicated that they "Respect the laws of nature."

Depending on who's there and how long you stay, you're likely to spend lots of time reading in a hammock. For this reason especially, the lodge's lack of reading material was surprising. I would've appreciated a few books about the local flora and fauna. I wish I could've spent some of my free time learning to identify the local birds, but they don't even have binoculars there.

Don't mean to be too negative. All in all I was pleased with my stay, especially since I really wanted to just get away from the States to someplace where there is no internet. I was forced to rest and that is what I did. In addition, I got to see two monkey species, a sloth, an agouti and signs of a jaguar. I learned to row in the lake, and I learned that I love that black water. It's so mysterious and like a mirror.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Going into the Amazon has been a dream since I was young, and the Tariri Lodge was the perfect setting. The lodge itself is comfortable and clean, but it's Germano and Fabiola that make this place what it is.
Germano tailored the trips for what we wanted and even took us to this beautiful white sand beach where we slept overnight in hammocks and cooked fresh fish on a fire watching the sun set.
Fabiola's food was delicious, and if she doesn't put them out for dessert ask about her home made truffles! So good!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I was bit afraid when my only daughter Vilte decided to visit Amazon river alone. But after reading reviews i decided to book for her TARIRI. And that was a great decission . Thank You Germano , Fabiola, Mabel , due to all of You she had an excellent time in TARIRI and we didnt need to worry about safety , comfort , activities . I highly recommend TARIRI LODGE to everyone who wants to know Amazon river ,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vilija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Tariri lodge was offered all the elements of comfort in a basic manner very fitting with the surrounding enviroment. Combine that with great hosting and interesting activities and you'll find a great place to enjoy the Amazon rainforest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have no words to describe the hospitality of Fabiola and Germano. They are the owners of the place and also the chef and the tour guide. Her food is healthy, fresh and delicious!!! Germano knows the area and the community so well that he makes you feel safe and welcome in the jungle!!! I've been in Los Angeles for a week now but I have a feelling my energy is still back in the Amazon...Can't wait to go back and take some of my friends and family with me next time!!!
That was an AMAZING vacation!!! Thank you, Tariri Family!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClariceVioleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amazon River
Amazon Tupana Lodge
#4 of 236 in Amazon River
264 reviews
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
#16 of 236 in Amazon River
68 reviews
Caboclos House Lodge
#4 of 45 in Manaus
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tauari Inn Lodge
#8 of 236 in Amazon River
61 reviews
Amazonia Jungle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Iranduba
57 reviews
Ponta Negra
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tariri Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tariri Amazon Lodge

Address: Lago de Acajatuba | Iranduba, State of Amazonas 69450-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 236 Speciality Lodging in Amazon River
Price Range: £282 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tariri Amazon Lodge, is an ecological hotel of unique architecture, a singular mix of typical regional buildings. The structure is composed by 8 independent huts - up to 20 people in total - with double and triple rooms, offering comfort, privacy and, above all, comfort.Our cuisine offers a varied range of diverse Amazon flavors. Our food is cultivated and grow by ourselves, like the fruits used on juices, vegetables, fish and birds, ensuring the quality and authenticity of our cuisine.Your stay will take place in family environment, where we can share, with exclusivity, the wealth of the place and the perfect knowledge of the region. We will grant your trip an international level of service, welfare and quality that is the motto of our family.The big goal and determination of our project is strongly linked to education, learning and discovery. Unique and intense experiences, considering your short stay in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tariri Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tariri Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing