We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July in Burnham-on-Crouch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oyster Smack Inn
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“July in Burnham-on-Crouch”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The restaurant and bar were excellent. I stayed for a month and they were very busy during summer so I was asked to move to different rooms frequently. Most of the rooms were very comfortable. However, one room (no. 10) was on the small side and one room (no. 4) had no windows. All the rooms were very clean and quiet.Off street parking was ok. Burnham-on-Crouch is a nice town for walking. Train station was a few blocks away. Easy train ride to London (~1 hour). No AC.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms have pull up parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutYankee913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your review from your stay with us.
When we have a guest like yourself stay with us, the Staff and I always say it is like having a friend coming to stay. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope we can accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    45
    22
    17
    4
See reviews for
32
75
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Oyster Smack after we got married at Mangapp Manor. We booked the whole hotel for our family and friends to stay at. We had the superior room, which was lovely very spacious, clean and modern with a huge bed and beautiful bathroom. Our room faced onto the car park and we could hear quite a lot of road noise, but we had expected this and didnt really bother us. Our family and friends had no complaints about their rooms, some rooms were quite small but this was reflected in the price. We booked in 2012 and since the prices have been put up but we were told the 2012 prices would apply for us which was good, im not sure id be happy to pay £130 a night for the superior room plus extra on top for a cooked breakfast - having said that the continental breakfast was lovely with a big selection, fruit, cheese, cereals, pastries, fresh out of the oven bread, and yoghurts. My new husband managed to loose our room key during the wedding, but the night staff at The Oyster Smack quickly ensured we had a spare key! We are hoping to stay again next year for our friends wedding in Burnham!

Room Tip: The rooms outside get the sun shining very early through the doors! Maybe ask for an inside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_love_holidays01!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We were happy to read that you enjoyed the improvements that have been made to the continental breakfast.
We hope to accommodate you in again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a boat club weekend. Not only was the weather glorious, the Oysters were too.
The breakfast excellent. Rooms clean and tidy.
James and his team were vey attentive. Making sure all our needs were met.
This was about our third stay at the Oyster Smack.

Looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words in regards to your stay at the The Oyster Smack Inn,
I have passed on your comments to the team and hope we can accommodate you for a fourth time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottesford
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed in the luxury suite and were very impressed felt like a new apartment , the bathroom was indeed of luxurious standard .We dined in the resturant for an evening meal which was very good and busy with locals .Breakfest was help yourself continental style which suited us because we had an early start in the morning .Staff were friendly and helpful .

Room Tip: go for the luxury suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor
I was happy to read you were happy with the refurbishment of the superior room.
We hope we can accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A reasonable hotel with helpful, attentive evening staff and good evening meals in the restaurant. I was particularly impressed by the banoffee cheesecake with caramelised bananas.

Breakfast though, was a non-starter. I got downstairs at 7:40am to find a scene reminiscent of the Mary Celeste - no staff around and a bemused guest trying to figure out where breakfast was. It transpired that guests are expected to serve themselves to food that's left out overnight from the small kitchen area by the entrance. There was no chance of a cooked breakfast - the food selection was dry toast (no butter, jam or plates left out during my visit), yogurt (2 in the fridge), apples, oranges or cereal.

Very disappointing and absolutely no effort made in the mornings.

When the staff *did* turn up at 7:50am they apologised for the poor effort and promised that the Manager would contact me to refund me the money for the breakfast I'd paid for. I still haven't heard from the hotel so I guess I can kiss that money goodbye.

Although not expensive, this isn't a cheap place to stay and really, is it that difficult to get a continental breakfast right? I'd say it's not, but the Oyster Smack Inn failed dismally. A real shame because the evening team did a great job.

I think I'll stay at the nearest Premier Inn next time - at least I'll wake up to a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandK_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor
I was happy to read you were happy with the meal and the service you got through your evening meal.
We set up a help yourself continental breakfast for the contractors that stay with us to help themselves too as they leave early at various times in the morning and we wanted to offer them something extra. They appreciated that it was designed for them and it was explained on your check in.
Due to your comments on breakfast service we are now not able to offer a help yourself continental breakfast to the contractors that stay with us during the week and we now operate a breakfast service from 8 till 10am where guests will get a member of the team to serve them. We now offer a breakfast to go which they can take with them and help themselves to in the morning.
To be compared to a corporate hotel chain is a little disheartening as I am sure that you understand that they have a higher staff level and volume of trade.
You complained in the morning about no staff being there to serve you at 7.40 in the morning and you were told a manager was going to get back to you that day. You were issued a refund at 18.40pm in the evening that day with an email, and to your own admission you had already wrote your review on trip advisor ten minutes before we responded. I would have hoped you would give a business at least 24hrs to investigate the matter and get back to you. It is always a shame that customers feel the need to vent on trip advisor without giving a small business a chance to respond and take appropriate action. Then you could have commented on Trip advisor about the customer service recovery that we would have given you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very warm welcome from hotel staff. Not many car park spaces. Room good size, comfy bed and bathroom adequate. Room had a TV, coffee making facility, hair dryer, but no safe. Had a deluxe room that overlooked road, so there was associated noise with this.
Breakfast was so slow, we were considering leaving and going some where else. It took 25mins for the breakfast to come up, and when it did we felt that it was a little too greasy.
In summary an OK stay in a bed and breakfast style accommodation that was only 5mins away from the Creeksea place wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMmrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was happy to read that you were happy with the service on check in and the quality of the rooms.
There has been a vast improvement to the quality of the breakfast service since your last visit and we hope we can accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in a room in the annex for two nights. Room was acceptable but breakfast was a poor effort. Included in the price is a continental breakfast, you pay extra for cooked. We arrived on the dot of 0900 as required, music blaring, no-one around, no butter, no milk, no fruit, no juice, no tea or coffee. The 'continental' turned out to be cheap sliced bread and jam. At 0905 a young lady turned up to offer coffee, I got my own milk and butter and at 0920 after we had finished, some croisants arrived. There was a meeting going on at one end of the room and people were obviously working in the hotel rearranging furniture for the day and moving food in and out of the kitchen around us. We felt like an after thought, not really good enough I'm afraid.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erdles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I am sorry to read that the Breakfast Staff neglected you in the morning.

The Problem we have had with our continental breakfast is that we have a lot of people stay with us that work in the local area and have to leave early in the morning. This means that the breakfast has always been laid up for them to use at any time in the morning.

Due to the criticisms we have received because of this I have changed the set up for our continental. The Breakfast will now be set up in the main restaurant and will be available from 8 till 10am. There will freshly baked bread and Croissants laid out at 8 am for our guests to help themselves too. I have created a role of breakfast Supervisor whom will be on hand for all our guests through out breakfast.

I hope the new changes to our breakfast set up will entice you to book with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
9.2 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
7.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#2 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Smack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Smack Inn

Property: The Oyster Smack Inn
Address: 112 Station Road, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-on-Crouch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oyster Smack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oyster Smack Inn is a charming local restaurant with rooms, built in the 1800’s. The building is full of character and sets the scene for an outstanding and extremely popular local inn. Owned and run by chef patron Trevor Howell and his wife Claire, the pub has become the first port of call for those seeking excellent food in friendly, relaxed and stylish surroundings. The newly decorated dining room and bar are both classic and timeless, the coastal shades of the decor providing a serene backdrop to the dining experience. Wooden floors and hand-made furniture all work to create a feeling of quiet elegance. The coastal location means that The Oyster Smack Inn can take full advantage of the freshest of seafood and our menu utilises this to full effect. The team in the kitchen are passionate about using the finest produce from local suppliers. Changing seasonally, our dinner menu offers the best of modern British food whilst your favourite classic pub dishes can be found on our lunch menu. Whether you are looking dine out with family and friends or to entertain clients, at The Oyster Smack Inn you can celebrate a very special occasion or simply pop in for a light snack - our kitchens are happy to oblige, whatever your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Oyster Smack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oyster Smack Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch
The Oyster Smack Inn Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing