We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food not so great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oyster Smack Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times on business. The highlight of the stay is the evening meal as the food is excellent. I had a room out at the rear which had a lot of sound coming through from the adjoining rooms. An American gentleman was Skyping his family who were obviously a few hours behind and he told them on several occasions that it was "just after midnight here...", he shouted his whole conversation as if talking to a deaf relative (perhaps he was!). Some additional sound insulation between the rooms would be beneficial. Breakfast is an anti climax if you are up early as it involves helping yourself to the continental buffet which isn't up to much, so if you like a fry up and you need to be away early this should be taken into consideration.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed in the main building but I hear the rooms are better than those at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayBee3074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

I am sorry to hear about your troubles with the customer next door to you. On your next booking please comment that you would like a different room and we will allocate you accordingly.
We have ten bedrooms and breakfast is between 8 and 10 seven days a week. I can not warrant bringing staff at 7am in case of one breakfast, We do leave a continental breakfast out for the early risers so they can help themselves. We can also provide any special requirements that are needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel - we wanted to, but it was full. We ate dinner here, and enjoyed our meal. The decor was comfortable, modern and relaxed, and was MUCH nicer inside than it looks from the outside. The service was very good, and the staff were ready to be helpful and accommodating. The food was good and we look forward to returning, hopefully to stay at the hotel as well next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

I have shown the staff your review and we would like to say thank you for writing kind words on trip advisor. We look forward for your return.

P.s

I agree with you about the front of the restaurant (It used to be a pub)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I took a couple of days in Essex, somewhere we hadn't been before, and found this place quite by accident. It was really good. We had dinner in the restaurant, the food quality was great. The staff were really efficient and obviously enjoyed their work which showed, were friendly without being intrusive. The accommodation, at the back of the restaurant, room 5, was perfect, very quiet and comfortable, and for the price great value, could even park right outside. If you are visiting Burnham on Crouch, for whatever reason we would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonLongwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write kind words about the Oyster Smack. I have tried my best to train the staff to offer an unobtrusive service for our diners. So to read this review has given me and the staff another reason to come to work each day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have just had the most outstanding dinner at the Oyster Smack Inn. From pleasant drinks at the bar to beautifully prepared courses throughout dinner the venue is one of Essex's hidden gems.
Each course on the menu was top quality fare, well prepared, well cooked and very nicely presented by a team who clearly enjoy their roles. We would highly recommend the Oyster Smack for anyone who is looking for that special eating experience in really pleasant surroundings. Thank you we WILL be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

I have passed your comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Had dinner at the restaurant last weekend. Cannot comment on the rooms, only had food and drink here. Before we sat down or even took off our coats. the waitress asked that we wanted to drink - over enthusiastic but not a problem.
We both had the pork belly, this was served with mashed potatoes and peas and carrots served separately. The mashed potatoes were quite cold, the pork was fine and crackling lovely, but what we found quite suspicious was the fact that our pork and crackling were exactly the same size but just ours but other diners as well. One wonders if these are pre-cooked meals bought in by the restaurant and simply heated and served. This is not fine dining and one would expect portions to be exactly the same if dining at a top end restaurant. Service could not be faulted and the wine was delicious.
Overall good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Eastwick58Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

It is always such a shame when we get reviews like this.

We are not a fine dining restaurant so I don't understand your point.

We cook and roll the pork belly into a cylindrical shape and then cut it into portions. It is very common in restaurants to have portion control and this not an attempt to be a fine dining restaurant.

When my wife's fish and chips or burger looks the same as mine, I don't say "this restaurant has pretensions of being fine dining restaurant"

We just don't know why you did not ask while you were there or email us as to how it was made, instead of making it sound like we buy it in on a public website.

The boys in the kitchen work very hard with fresh ingredients in a casual dining restaurant so reviews like this can be quite upsetting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have already reviewed the restaurant as excellent but have to write again to say I cant believe for the first time I have found a place that listens. I made a comment when dining here last time that if you book on line the automated reply is rather cold low and behold I booked on line this time and it has been changed and is excellent. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Every member of the team would like to say thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
You rightly brought something to our attention that we could rectify and enhance our business and then went on Trip advisor to leave a positive review.

Constructive criticism is always welcome so thank you again, you have restored my faith in this site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I'd eaten at the Smack many times and aways found it excellent, so when l needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights with my girlfriend, it seemed a good choice.
It was.
While we were eating downstairs on the first night, the manager came along and announced they were upgrading us from our (perfectly acceptable) room to a bigger, better one at no extra charge. It was a lovely, light and spacious room, with a bay window and a view of the river (just), a very nice en suite shower room (no bath, sadly) and a huge and very comfortable bed.
The only thing l could fault was a certain amount of noise at about 1am from drunken idiots walking past on thier way home. It was, however, a minor irritant, mitigated by the double glazing, which did not last long.
The b+ b rate does not include a cooked breakfast, which is a bit stingy, however, the contintal breakfast was impressively generous with lovely fresh croissants, cheeses and meats. We arrived close to the end of serving, so the coffee (in a vaccum jug) wasn't great and not terribly warm, but the very helpful staff member readily offered to make a fresh cup from the espresso machine.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
7.4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,711 reviews
1 mi away
Creeksea Place Barns
Creeksea Place Barns
#1 of 2 in Burnham-on-Crouch
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Burnham-on-Crouch
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Smack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Smack Inn

Address: 112 Station Road, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-on-Crouch
Price Range: £59 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oyster Smack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oyster Smack Inn is a charming local restaurant with rooms, built in the 1800’s. The building is full of character and sets the scene for an outstanding and extremely popular local inn. Owned and run by chef patron Trevor Howell and his wife Claire, the pub has become the first port of call for those seeking excellent food in friendly, relaxed and stylish surroundings. The newly decorated dining room and bar are both classic and timeless, the coastal shades of the decor providing a serene backdrop to the dining experience. Wooden floors and hand-made furniture all work to create a feeling of quiet elegance. The coastal location means that The Oyster Smack Inn can take full advantage of the freshest of seafood and our menu utilises this to full effect. The team in the kitchen are passionate about using the finest produce from local suppliers. Changing seasonally, our dinner menu offers the best of modern British food whilst your favourite classic pub dishes can be found on our lunch menu. Whether you are looking dine out with family and friends or to entertain clients, at The Oyster Smack Inn you can celebrate a very special occasion or simply pop in for a light snack - our kitchens are happy to oblige, whatever your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Oyster Smack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oyster Smack Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch
The Oyster Smack Inn Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing