We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Railway Hotel weekend stay.”
Review of The Railway Hotel

The Railway Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-on-Crouch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Hotel
Vejle
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Railway Hotel weekend stay.”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed at the Railway Hotel for a weekend this month September 2011 for 3 nights.
The room was large and comfortable with a good bathroom. The bathroom had a fancy gold shower unit but you not use it as a good shower as the shower head did not fit the clip on the top of the unit. The toilet was very slow to fill the cistern and needs repairing.

We had breakfast at the hotel and surprised we were charged extra for that at £7,50 ahead per day it was not value for money compared to other Hotels we have stayed in.
The other problem is they lock the entrance to the hotel at 11pm and you have no key to enterso you are asked to ring a number posted on the door and on the Sunday they locked the door at 9.30 pm and did not tell us, we did not have our Danish mobile phones with us. It was thanks to their neighbours phone we could make contact.
Overal they should fit a secure lock system and allow their guests to have a key.

Next time we will try another Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed here for one night with my partner and was pleasantly surprised by the room,a double facing the main road.As this was Sunday ,there was not much traffic around so i noise was not a problem.
The room was newly decorated,refurbished and clean.The room had a radio,tv,direct dial telephone,refreshment tray with biscuit's and a shower.The bed was comfortable and so we had a good night's sleep.I found the condom's in the bedside table a little odd but did'nt ask if they were in all the room's.
Breakfast is an extra £7.50pp on top of the room cost,our room was £60, i think is great value for a room like this which is above the usual standard for a pub.
The pub also has a lunch/dinner menu including a value two course lunch one midweek.
The only downside is the distance from the river,i am not sure about parking as we arrived by train(a very short walk from this pub-just across the road )There is a bus stop outside,service's into the main town.There is a separate entrance to the room's via the reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy60LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The room I had was largely adequate, but the curtains had clearly come from a different room, so weren't wide enough to cover the window and keep the light out.

The bathroom was nice, with a good powerful shower.

Breakfast was OK, but I was surprised that at £62/night for the room it wasn't included in the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 666SM666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this hotel - it definitely surpassed my expectations. Very clean, newly renovated, country charm.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ang201045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burnham-on-Crouch hotels
0.2 mi away
The Oyster Smack Inn
The Oyster Smack Inn
#1 of 6 in Burnham-on-Crouch
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Burnham-on-Crouch
36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creeksea Place Barns
Creeksea Place Barns
#1 of 2 in Burnham-on-Crouch
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Hotel

Property: The Railway Hotel
Address: 12 Station Road, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-on-Crouch
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing