We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great break away from the hustle and bustle of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
River View Bedroom 1- Twin
River View Bedroom 2- Double
River View Bedroom 2- Double
River View Bathroom
River View Kitchen
Play Area
Coastal Footpath
Outdoor Seating Area
The River Crouch
The Drive
Hot tub
Hot tub and steam room in the spa
Gym and Spa
Gym
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bash007
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great break away from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Upon our arrival at Creeksea Place Barns, we were welcomed by Harry who showed us the way to River View, our habitat for the next 5 days. We parked in the convenient space just outside the main doors and the boys (2 and 4) were delighted to see the play area just metres away which hosted play apparatus including swings, a big slide and a springy car. (There was also table tennis for those who fancied it – paddles and balls kept indoors.) They played as we unpacked and we were then visited by Emily who welcomed us and answered any questions we had. We had a trouble-free stay; a light bulb needed replacing which Harry did within minutes so the service overall was great!

River View was a lovely 2-bedroom converted barn which had a homely kitchen / diner / lounge looking out to a beautiful view of the field and water. Had the weather been better, we would have enjoyed more walks towards the water to see the boats. The kitchen had everything I would have wanted for preparing any food (except a hand blender – my pancake mix had a few lumps!) including pots, pans and a microwave. There was enough crockery and cutlery, and the fridge held enough for a few days for a family of four. The boys took the room with two single beds and they had more than enough space in their large chest of drawers for their clothes. My husband and I had a double bed with slightly less space in the wardrobe, but enough if only staying for a few days. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the boys slept with no problems at all. The bathroom was of a good size and the shower was great! The property overall was aesthetically pleasing with wonderful features including wooden beams, wall décor and a huge (iron?) ceiling light in the main room.

We felt the property was in a good location as when in River View, we heard nothing from the ‘outside world’ but were actually only a short drive away from the local Tesco’s, Wam Bam Boomerang adventure play area and the waterfront (5 minutes), and Tropical Wings Zoo, Hyde Hall Gardens and Mangapps Railway Museum (15 minutes. Note: Museum is only open on Weekends and Bank Holidays.) All were wonderful places to visit and we all really enjoyed ourselves. There were also a few good places to eat that we must recommend: Golden Dragon and Curry Cottage in High St Maldon.

What we liked the most about our stay were the locals of Burnham on Crouch. Everybody would say hello, make time for chit-chat and most dog walkers would invite our sons to pet their dogs seeing the delight on their faces (our sons love dogs!) What we liked least about our stay had to be the weather! Had it been warmer and had we less rainfall, we would have gone on more walks to be ‘at one’ with nature (!) - but this is no fault of Creeksea Place Barns!

In sum, it was a great break away from the hustle and bustle of London and we’d definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: The weather.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silmali
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic countryside retreat if you want to escape London!”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Our experience at River View was utterly rejuvenating. It was just the right distance from London so as to enjoy the beautiful stunning scenes as we drove to this wonderful place. Emily is marvelous, so friendly and sincere - she makes you feel so welcome and at ease from the very first hello! We needed to get out of london and just have a cosy catchup with our dearest friends- River View is just perfect. Its so immaculately clean and so generous in facilities and little touches here and there. Our friend who stayed with us- was so in love with the place that he's so delighted to have the perfect setting to write his long awaited book. We are definately coming back and have made a pledge to stay here at least once if not twice a year. It really is a perfect retreat and we proved it to ourselves after the wonderful stay. Our only regret is we didn't stay long enough!
Thankyou so much Emily.
xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everythimg, the property, the views and the best sleep we had in a very long time!!
Liked least: that we couldnt stay longer!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2013
We can't thank you enough for your kind words and we are so happy that you had such a relaxing and rejuvenating stay in River View! Please do come back to visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCM187047
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic again!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at River View and yet again it was fantastic!
Emily was again really helpful and friendly and we can't recommend this place enough! We're looking forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and quality of property
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoy having you and your family to stay, and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again this Spring!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onemanidi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calm, delightful and friendly!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2012 and cannot speak highly enough of the barn, it's owners or the location! From the moment we arrived Emily made us feel as though nothing was too large an imposition and welcomed us with open arms.
Highlights include Nina the enormous pig, an unbelievably cute lamb in the next door property and the food in the Oyster Smack House.
We would (and have) definitely recommend the barn to others and will hopefully be returning in the not too distant future
Charlie and Emma

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience
Liked least: Wi-Fi was patchy (they fixed it tho)
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! You are very welcome any time and we hope to see you in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan-lon...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very well appointed”
Reviewed 29 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

my daughter got married over the band holiday weekend and her extended family stayed in all of the barns. all of the accommodation was newly refurbished and spotless. we would definitely come back either as a group or just my husband and i.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: all of the family could stay together without being on top of each other
Liked least: the weather!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2012
It was an absolute pleasure to host your extended family for your daughter's wedding, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K8lee
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Couldn't fault a thing!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

From the minute I enquired about River View, Emily was the perfect host. She bent over backwards to answer my questions, book our bike hire and to make sure everything was perfect for when we arrived.

The barn conversion is stunning. The separate units are very well thought out and tastefully decorated with a perfect mix of shabby chic and modern luxuries. There will be a suitable set up for everyone. I am hoping to rent out the full barn next year for a large group of us as it is an ideal mix of practical accommodation for families, couples and friends. Emily gave me a tour of the other rooms. I couldn't decide on my favourite, they were all beautiful.

We only stayed 3 nights (I wish I was still there!) but it was long enough to explore the local area on foot and by bike. We ate in the Oyster Smack Inn, in Burnham on Crouch, great food and excellent service. The other nights we stayed in and cooked for ourselves using fresh fish and goods from a local farm shop.

The area and accommodation were fantastic, but Emily and Harry made us so welcome that it topped it off perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble and the general level of customer service was of a 5* hotel. Having read the previous negative review, I can honestly say that none of the gripes were justified at all. I would 100% recommend it and am hoping to take my friends back next year to show off our fantastic find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't decide between the cottage or the customer service!
Liked least: Going home :o(
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about us and the barns! We have worked really hard to make them special, and it is so rewarding when people like yourselves appreciate and enjoy them! We really do hope you will come back to stay with us in the future- you are very welcome any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic rural child-friendly getaway within easy reach of London”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this cottage for a weekend in April, along with his 4 year old little boy, and we all had a fantastic stay. Coming from London, we wanted a rural getaway that wan't going to take an age to get to and loved the fact that Burnham-on-Crouch is just an hour away from Liverpool St station.

When we arrived on Friday night we recieved a really warm welcome from the owners - Emily and Harry. We were really impressed with the cottage - a really tastefully decorated barn conversion that was bright and airy with a mix of modern comforts and tradtional features/antiques. They seemed to have thought of everything and there was even a hairdryer (which was good as I'd forgotten mine!).

We then had a really relaxing time pottering about on the farm, going for walks and exploring Burnham-on-Crouch. There is a great play area for kids and even an outdoor ping-pong table for the bigger kids (and competitive adults). We were blessed with quite good weather and there's loads of space to sit outside so we enjoyed sitting watching the world (and chickens and ducks) go by, as well as swinging in one of their hammocks. Harry let us go with him to feed the pigs and Wilf loved meeting the piglets. We also had a lovely walk across the rape field to the marina and then on to Burnham where we found some great pubs and shops by the water.

I'm a bit of a cycling geek and brought my road bike with me to do some training. Emily was great at suggesting some routes and I had two great rides - bliss to cycle somewhere where it is so flat, although the wind does get up a bit when you follow the coast line!

All in all a really fantastic stay and the hosts couldn't have been nicer. I won't go on, but a definite two thumbs up from us. If you want to go to a welcoming, child-friendly rural retreat near the water that's only an hour away from London then we would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly hosts
Liked least: The bright sunshine streaming through the curtains in the morning (we were being thick and hadn't noticed the additional blinds!)
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was lovely to meet you and your family, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us on the farm. Please do come and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing