We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few small improvements would make this place special”
Review of Anchor Hotel

Anchor Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Hotel
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A few small improvements would make this place special”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here because we had a birthday party to attend nearby. The location was superb and our room overlooked the river - spectacular.
The booking process was excellent. The hotel contacted us a few days beforehand and suggested organising our taxi in advance which was good advice. The staff were welcoming and the car park, bar area and room were all very clean and in a good state of repair.
However, the addition of a shelf in the bathroom would have made such a difference - no-where to put your washing things and the toiletries supplied kept slipping into the sink.......
The breakfast was the biggest disappointment. Cheap sausages and thin ready sliced bread, no marmalade and weak coffee. What a pity - again view and facilities excellent and clean with good staff but the small details need improving. Let's hope the owners read this and up their game. There is plenty of business to be had in the area and it could be the best.

Room Tip: We had room 1 - the view was amazing. (Not much privacy though after you open the curtains!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babyboomer1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had arranged to stay at the Anchor for one night after a seven night cruise in the Med. We were visiting a relative who was working nearby. Our first view of the Anchor was most impressive, white painted and right beside the River Crouch. We arrived around 5pm and was shown to room 3. It was a double room with 2single beds which had clean white bedding, very welcoming. There was a lamp at each side of the bed, a pine dressing table with a mirror and plugs for my hair dryer. The shower was very welcome after a long journey that had started at Nice that morning. There was shower gel, shampoo, body lotion and white towels. All very clean. We were asked what time we would like breakfast and we said 9am. Next morning we had a walk for a newspaper and wet into the dining room at 8.45am. We were the only people in the dining room and a table had been set right by the window. it was the first time we had to really have a look around and it was charming. It had a big open fireplace and decorated in a traditional way. Breakfast was cooked immediately we went into the dining room and was a full English, 2thick slices of bacon,egg,sausages, beans, mushrooms and tomatoes.Coffee, toast and black currant and strawberry jam. Lovely, it couldn't have been better. Burnham on Crouch is a lovely typically English village and in my opinion The Anchor is well worth a visit. It also has a car park.

Room Tip: Room 1 has view of the river which is also the opposite side to the bell tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed 1 night to attend a wedding, the room was clean enough but lacked a vital item when my wife was attempting to get ready , a mirror. the only one was in the bathroom and it did not have a plug for a hair drier. The room was quite tired looking, and as it was one of the better rooms,as reflected in the price,you would have thought that someone had checked to see if the bedside lamps worked and the shower was more than just a trickle. We came down to breakfast the next morning and was presented with a full English which was undercooked and cold, we returned it but I think it spent a minute in the microwave, which did nothing to improve it. The staff were very nice and helpful but I don't we will be making a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Burnham-on-Crouch hotels

Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed at The Anchor for just 1 night in July. The room was very comfortable, but with no air conditioning and the heatwave that we were having at the time, we had to have the room window open all night.

It was at that point that we discovered that we were only around 50 yds from a fully operational bell tower, which "went off" every 15 minutes for the whole night. Needless to say I didn't get a wink of sleep all night long. So if you are going there I would recommend taking some ear plugs!!

I have to say that "breakfast" was an absolute joke......a so-called continental breakfast that was left on a plate covered in cling film, in a fridge outside the room the night beforehand.

On balance, I don't think I will be going back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindsorWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding elsewhere. The room was quite different from the photos on Expedia. The owner and staff were lovely and should I need a room in the town again and this was the only option I'd stay. However, I think that the price that this hotel sells the rooms at is quite extortionate for what they are. We got an early check in which was greatly appreciated as we had a 1pm start for the wedding, however the room was the hottest I'd ever tried to put my make up on in and I'd just come back from a holiday in Las Vegas at record breaking temperatures and managed to get ready every night without a problem.

The room was ok, it served the purpose we needed, however the two single beds were the slimmest singles I've ever seen, I almost fell out of bed several times in the night. Our friend in room 2 said that his double bed was actually two singles pushed together, as when he rolled over in the middle of the night he got stuck in the gap! We were also woken up in the morning by a staff member who asked if we wanted breakfast when the day before we agreed that we'd have breakfast at 10.30am - far from ideal!

The breakfast was ok, to be honest I'd have rather gone without and ate elsewhere as everything bar the toast and tomato was fried and greasy. This was a shame as I had hoped the breakfast would have made up for the disappointing room.

To their credit the staff were lovely and the room was as clean as expected. I just find it really hard to justify the cost of the room, as we'd already paid there wasn't much I could do otherwise I would have.

Considering we pay far less for a room at Premier Inn hotels at major airports and it was only £10 less than a 4 star we'd recently stayed at in London, the proprietor needs to review the charges. Had it been more reasonable it would reflect the standard of accommodation we'd expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsmissfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding locally,check in was quick and we were taken to the family room asked what time we was expecting to have breakfast the following morning,was told that was fine,room very clean,dated but its a very old building,had a excellent nights sleep and breakfast was a god send with a hangover,very attentive staff and would recommend to others and return if i was every in the area,thanks for making our stay hassle free

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billmarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The room was clean & comfortable, the en suite was a bit cold (needs a radiator & extractor fan).

Food at the pub is good, portions quite large.

Staff are all friendly, Clive & Wayne have made this a safe place where trouble won't be tolerated.

Lovely to walk along the seafront outside the front of the pub, even if it was freezing cold out there (February).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gothitjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
9.5 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#2 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Creeksea Place Barns
Creeksea Place Barns
#1 of 2 in Burnham-on-Crouch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bellropes
Bellropes
#1 of 2 in Bradwell on Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel

Property: Anchor Hotel
Address: The Quay, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-on-Crouch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing