We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need a sense of humour to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You need a sense of humour to stay here”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We spent 2 nights here as part of a wedding party. We had been told it was pretty basic but that the price reflected that, but for £84 a night I would have expected so much better than what we got.

You could not stay here if you have any issue with stairs - the final flight up to the 2nd floor is near vertical!

We had one of the 'standard ensuite rooms' which are shoved into the attic - our room was so tiny we could hardly move around it. When you opened the bathroom door it touched the bed. The 'wardrobe' was a tiny cupboard about 6 inches wide and only big enough to hang a shirt. The bathroom was basically a cupboard with an ancient loo and sink. There was no hot water from the taps, one of which was broken. The shower cubicle had an unpleasant rusty concertina door thing - once inside it was almost touching you (I am not large) which was claustrophobic and nasty. In terms of toiletries, there was only a bottle of non-branded liquid soap.

Around the window were patches of repair work that had not been finished - patched up plaster and filler, and bare plasterboard .

The bed was a very small double, with a wobbly lumpy mattress. Everything was shabby and old.

Like I said, we would not have minded if we had been charged say £55 but considering other friends who were staying here had rooms with twice the space for about £5 more, I can only assume we were paying for the view, which is very pretty, although since of course it pissed it down with rain all day this was not too relevant.

The breakfast was surprisingly good.

We did not eat there in the evening - were planning to, as a group of 10 of us met there the night before the wedding. The bar was full, the dining room was empty. We preferred the look of the bar menu to the dining room menu, so I asked the lady behind the bar if it would be possible for us to order the bar food but eat in the dining room as there was no space in the bar. She said yes, but we would have to pay extra. Pay extra, for the same food, served in a different room? We said no thanks, and they therefore lost out on about £200 of business as the 10 of us went elsewhere in town for our food and drinks. Ridiculous.

I can't say we didn't enjoy our stay, as the sheer Fawlty Towers nature of it all became a source of amusement - we were there with several friends, we had a great time at the wedding and so just had to laugh at the pathetic accommodation. However if you had come here for a romantic weekend, I think you would be sorely disappointed, unless you have a fetish for grubby enclosed spaces, in which case, fill your boots!

Room Tip: Don't go for the top floor unless you are a Hobbit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 654MsLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    38
    11
    14
    12
See reviews for
20
51
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed one night in one of their superior double rooms as we were going to a wedding. Think low low end b&b rather than hotel. Its clean enough but everything is just knackered and bodged - bathroom was grotty and not somewhere you want to use. The bed and mattress were horrific and uncomfortable and sum up the contempt they clearly hold their guests in to charge £94 a night and not even provide a mattress bought this millennium (looked like it was from the 60's!!!) or decent bed linen. A rare night away from the kids ruined and had we been able to we would have changed hotels once we saw it. In hindsight wish we'd driven the 2 hrs back home straight from the wedding.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guest77999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Burnham-on-Crouch hotels

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked a room a week in advance of our arrival and spoke to John to make the booking. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were greeted by the helpful bar staff. The room we were given was at the front overlooking the river, it was large, spacious with a bay window and had en-suite facilities. The breakfast in the morning was a good 'full English'. This old fashioned Pub/Hotel is full of character and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our West Highland White dog was also welcome and stayed with us in our room. For anyone who wants a modern chain hotel this is not the place for them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGS1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was a return visit for us after a gap of many years. Was slightly concerned having read some of these reviews, but it was probably even better than it was years ago. Cannot believe what some of these people want/expect - they must ge more suited to modern, cloned, soul-less motels! It is a very old building, with so much character. The slightly old fashioned air is its charm. No jukeboxes, fruit machines, loud music - the bar is just a friendly, charming area full of friendly locals and staff. In fact all the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our rooms (small but plenty big enough - top of the building as requested) were spotlessly clean in all areas. Small but perfect shower (again, it is an adapted old building), comfy beds, warm and cosy (yes the heating was on). Plenty of coffee and tea, good TV. And of course the stunning view.
The dining room may be 'old fashioned' but that again is part of its attraction. We didn't have dinner as we were visiting family but the menu looked lovely as well as reasonably priced. Breakfast was superb - cereals, yogurts, juices, fresh fruit (strawberries for breakfast in April - what a treat) followed by a cooked breakfast of whatever combination requested. We had 2 full English and 2 veggie cooked breakfasts - beautifully cooked, and so much that we couldn't eat again until the evening!
We only wished we could have stayed for more than one night, but will definitely be back. One reviewer suggested there is no competition - there certainly is as a number of pubs offer B & B. Cannot comment on them, but can't see how anywhere would top the White Harte.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are larger, but the 2nd floor rooms, though smaller (would have been servants'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having been away from the UK for 5 years, I came back for my nephew's wedding and needed somewhere to spend a couple of nights. Having looked at some of the reviews, I decided that the White Hart sounded just like a home from home and boy was I right! Arriving on Friday night, I was met with a bar that was full of interesting looking people and empty of pool tables, a juke box and a fruit machine, thank goodness. A quick wash in a clean bathroom with reassuringly low water pressure was followed by a meal in the restaurant that made Fawlty Towers look good, but with food that more than made up for it. One for the road in the back bar found me surrounded by people who were not only friendly, but worldly wise in the opinions that they espoused. Went to bed wondering why I left England at all. Nice to find somewhere that does what it says on the tin and dispenses with the type of pretentiousness that people writing reviews for TA seem to find so necessary. Go back again? Not half.

Room Tip: Drink in the back bar, avoid the tourists
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in room 4 which looks out over the river. The room had one standard size double bed and a single therein. There was a toilet, bath and shower. The decor is aged but clean. The hotel accepts dogs and we took our dog. The staff are friendly and courteous and the bar area is warm and cosy with real fires. The bar food is excellent and reasonably priced as are the drinks. Small things spoil what could be a brilliant place. It is good but it could be fantastic. The room we had is in need of a total revamp. I know they are doing this at the hotel but for nearly £100 a night B&B for this room you expect a better decor (the decor looks like it has not been changed for 20 years. I stress it is clean but old and faded) The shower was old, the fixture broken and the water pressure like a dribble. There was no hot water in the afternoon for some reason. All of this did not overly detract from what was a nice stay but you need to be aware of these things. There were no complementary bath gels etc that you would expect. I get the feeling that the hotel trades on the location and maybe does not need to worry about competition... There did not appear any! The beds mattress was a bit lumpy and the bedding was sheets which appeared old (but I stress were clean) There is a restaurant but you cannot have the restaurant menu food in the bar area. When I asked why it was explained that "it's the rules". The owner was on holiday but I would have liked to have given him my feedback in person as in these financial times you are expecting value for money. I work in this trade and would love to overhaul this hotel. Would we go back? We loved the location but the rooms need all revamping quickly and the little complimentary details that you expect in hotels added. The "rules" need relaxing on the issue of food (we would have eaten starters etc if we could have had the restaurant menu in the bar area (which is extensive and has tables and chairs to allow you to eat. This is a family run hotel and the owner has had it in his family since the 60's and therefore maybe does not care about feedback? I would stay again if things were changed. The staff are lovely. The breakfasts generous and tasty. It is a Hotel and advertises as such and for a premium price I would expect more. If you are not bothered by such things it is a nice place ( very quiet in winter) to hide away.

Room Tip: Room 4 looks out over the river and the view is spectacular but check to see if it has been revamped
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldTwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Two parties of two stayed for one night early december. Wasn't put off by the negative talk on TA.

At the end of the day what do people want? it's a good old B&B with a great pub attached in lovely setting. The bar was warm and cosy out of season, lots of cheery locals, wood fire, relaxed comfortable and we didn't feel the need to go elsewhere to eat, although there are some nice looking restaurants in the area. Food was homey and satisfying, good beer.
If it seems a little pricey, it is an expensive area.

The bedroom was at the top of the hotel (our request for a quiet night) and it was very cold, the heating went off in the night. Tiny shower room, but functional. I would probably stay there again if I was in Burnham.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7 if you want a quiet night with a good view, but you need to be a sherpa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverFoxWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
9.5 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
173 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
721 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,382 reviews
14.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
385 reviews
7.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde White Harte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde White Harte Hotel

Property: Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
Address: The Quay, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham-on-Crouch
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde White Harte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel & Restaurant is a traditional 17th century English establishment located on the bank of the River Crouch. With an abundance of character and numerous open fires mixed in amongst plenty of original wooden beams, The White Harte is unique, situated in a truly idyllic location. The hotel has a total of 19 bedrooms, a large bar area and a traditional yet stylish restaurant with a modern tasting menu, the White Harte has come a long way since it opened in the 1650’s, yet retaining much of its original style and character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ye Olde White Harte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing