We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Quay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
Aldeburgh, England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“On the Quay”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Unpretentious old pub in good location. Small carpark at rear just about adequate (drive in from High Street). Clean, comfortable rooms, some with excellent views of river. Some noise from bar. Average breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 on first floor have best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommillerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    39
    12
    15
    12
See reviews for
21
54
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A friend's wedding in Burnham-on-Crouch meant we needed a hotel room for the night. Another friend who lives locally unreservedly recommended Ye Olde White Harte. Located right on the quayside (a pedestrian promenade) it is a Georgian inn of much character, with a very traditional (dare I say old-fashioned?) bar and dining room on the ground floor.

It has it's own car park, and although it is rather small, there was enough space for our car. We checked in and found our room right at the top of the building, with a dormer window offering splendid views right across the River Crouch estuary. I knew when booking we were only getting a small room, but it wasn't a problem as we were only there for one night. It was rather compact, with probably the smallest open fireplace I've ever seen, and a tiny but functional bathroom with a toilet, basin and shower cubicle, all very clean and with plenty of towels. The bedroom was basically furnished but very clean and with the welcome provision of tea-making facilities and a modern flat screen TV.

A good breakfast the following morning was served by a cheery waitress, and mild hangovers notwithstanding we agreed that our stay had been very pleasant and that although the facilities are pretty basic we would happily stay again if a return visit was on the cards.

Room Tip: Room 7 was a the top of perilous stairs but offered a fantastic view over the estuary. Tiny bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardvarnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here on business for two nights. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food was fine for the venue. I stayed in a superior room with a beautiful view over the estuary. Although the room was not in any way luxurious, it served its purpose. It was clean and the linen was fresh. The car park is very small and it is likely you will have to park on the main village street.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with a river view and ensuite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

As a recent resident of Burnham on Crouch, I have had no reason to stay at Ye Olde White Harte. However we have eaten in the restaurant and in the bar a number of times. The restaurant is full of old world charm and atmosphere, right on the water front (sadly flood barrier detracts from view). The service is friendly and helpful. The food on each occasion has been amazing the lemon sponge pudding is the best dessert ever, it was worth every single calorie. The chef is fantastic, he deserves an award. The bar food is good too, especially the lasagne. The restaurant is not cheap but the food is well worth the money, especially if you are there for a special occasion. The bar food is very reasonably priced, the service is fast and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend eating at Ye Olde White Harte - one of the best of the many eateries that make it so great to live in Burnham!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The2JsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I didn't stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant. I had avocado and prawns to start and steak for main. Absolutely excellent. The meat was perfect. Very generous portions. Lovely atmospheric surroundings. I was with visitors who wanted a variation on the menu and they were very accommodating. We had a great meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed for two weekday nights to attend a funeral in the area. I booked an ensuite room overlooking the river. The room was very spacious and clean and I told my friend that I was going to take the bed home with me due to its blissful comfort. The mattress was firm but well-cushioned and I am disappointed to learn that the suppliers of the blankets only supply to the hospitality trade. It was lovely also to have a full-length bath to relax in; mine at home is a bit small! The view over the river was beautiful and very calming.

On the down side, there were a few cosmetic issues - the grouting round the bath was in serious need of attention and the bath side panel was loose enough to fall off. The shower unit looked ancient, though I'm sure it was in good working order. However, all this would only really matter if you are the sort of person that it matters to, and I would forgive them most things for that bed! The only thing that really bothered me was that the stairs and landing smelt strongly and inexplicably of cigarette smoke; however, this did not infiltrate my room.

Unfortunately, I was unwell and therefore unable to appreciate a full English or anything resembling it, but the staff were so attentive without being intrusive and were very caring and helpful in every way. The people on the next table had the full breakfast. One of them had quite specific requirements and these were met to the letter and with no fuss. The food looked good.

I would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Superior ensuite room recommended; be aware that if you want to choose a budget room, the staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night as we wanted to spend the weekend discovering the dengie peninsular. The first thing to say is that Burnham was a good choice. Slightly larger than the other local villages with a nice nautical feel and a very pleasant atmosphere. The White Hart is in a great position overlooking the river as was our room. The main pub area is a bit dated but quite quaint and the restaurant area looked nice although we had dinner elsewhere. We tried to get into the Contented Sole for dinner which was sadly booked out. We had a chat with the owner who was very pleasant and we may well go back for another weekend just to eat there. It looked lovely and the menu looked superb. Back to the hotel though...large rooms. Again a bit tired and dated and the bathroom was very "1970's" They could work on the rooms a bit but the staff were charming, it was very clean, the breakfast was fine and it was a nice enough place to stay. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gundersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
762 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
227 reviews
7.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
284 reviews
15.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
540 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde White Harte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde White Harte Hotel

Property: Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
Address: The Quay, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham-on-Crouch
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde White Harte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel & Restaurant is a traditional 17th century English establishment located on the bank of the River Crouch. With an abundance of character and numerous open fires mixed in amongst plenty of original wooden beams, The White Harte is unique, situated in a truly idyllic location. The hotel has a total of 19 bedrooms, a large bar area and a traditional yet stylish restaurant with a modern tasting menu, the White Harte has come a long way since it opened in the 1650’s, yet retaining much of its original style and character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ye Olde White Harte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing