We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I visit this pub/restaurant on a regular basis. The food is extremely well cooked and is very reasonably priced; an example of his is the wonderful lamb shank priced at £8.50. The staff are friendly and professional. The decor is very olde world and includes an enormous inglenook fireplace. The pub also overlooks the River a Crouch.

I would highly recommend the food and beer to anyone paying a visit to Burnham as for value and quality it is unsurpassed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 031212e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    38
    12
    14
    12
See reviews for
20
52
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burnham on Crouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Newbies to the area almost 10 years ago and whilst not having stayed overnight, the location and relaxed feel of the place coupled with the views have made this our fav. Fairly limited beer selection but bar meals are very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I checked into the Inn for a weekend whilst away on a business trip. I have to say the staff were very friendly and the room was just as I expected from reading other reviews on-line. Comfortable, clean and with and an olde world charm.

One pet hate of mine arose immediately though and that was the lack of any shower gel in the bathroom. I find this very frustrating however my woes were soon fixed by a quick trip to the local SPAR Shop and £1.00 !

Down in the bar which was full of a lively mix of both tourists and locals the atmosphere was very welcoming. The place has a very good vibe and the landlord keeps a really superb pint of beer of which there was a choice of two. Just one lager on draft though for none bitter drinkers.

In the restaurant the food was fabulous. A good menu, nothing too fussy and a nice selection of fresh local fish of which I opted for the Grilled Skate Wing with new potatoes and vegetables. Very nice it was too and a generous serving. The food can't be faulted along with the service, top notch !

Would I stay here again ? Without fail I would. A lovely hotel with charm good food and stunning location. I'd be sure to pack my shower gel next time though..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guy_Manchester2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch while on day visit to Burnham. Pub is full of olde world charm and staff are excellent and the bar person had a great sense of humour. Managed to get a table on the jetty and had an excellent lunch. We both had the home made steak pie and it was hot, fresh and plentiful. Would definitely stay and dine in the Hotel if an overnight stay was required. Try it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Unpretentious old pub in good location. Small carpark at rear just about adequate (drive in from High Street). Clean, comfortable rooms, some with excellent views of river. Some noise from bar. Average breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 on first floor have best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommillerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A friend's wedding in Burnham-on-Crouch meant we needed a hotel room for the night. Another friend who lives locally unreservedly recommended Ye Olde White Harte. Located right on the quayside (a pedestrian promenade) it is a Georgian inn of much character, with a very traditional (dare I say old-fashioned?) bar and dining room on the ground floor.

It has it's own car park, and although it is rather small, there was enough space for our car. We checked in and found our room right at the top of the building, with a dormer window offering splendid views right across the River Crouch estuary. I knew when booking we were only getting a small room, but it wasn't a problem as we were only there for one night. It was rather compact, with probably the smallest open fireplace I've ever seen, and a tiny but functional bathroom with a toilet, basin and shower cubicle, all very clean and with plenty of towels. The bedroom was basically furnished but very clean and with the welcome provision of tea-making facilities and a modern flat screen TV.

A good breakfast the following morning was served by a cheery waitress, and mild hangovers notwithstanding we agreed that our stay had been very pleasant and that although the facilities are pretty basic we would happily stay again if a return visit was on the cards.

Room Tip: Room 7 was a the top of perilous stairs but offered a fantastic view over the estuary. Tiny bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardvarnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here on business for two nights. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food was fine for the venue. I stayed in a superior room with a beautiful view over the estuary. Although the room was not in any way luxurious, it served its purpose. It was clean and the linen was fresh. The car park is very small and it is likely you will have to park on the main village street.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with a river view and ensuite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDaniell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
9.5 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
181 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
744 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
269 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
277 reviews
7.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde White Harte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde White Harte Hotel

Property: Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
Address: The Quay, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham-on-Crouch
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde White Harte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel & Restaurant is a traditional 17th century English establishment located on the bank of the River Crouch. With an abundance of character and numerous open fires mixed in amongst plenty of original wooden beams, The White Harte is unique, situated in a truly idyllic location. The hotel has a total of 19 bedrooms, a large bar area and a traditional yet stylish restaurant with a modern tasting menu, the White Harte has come a long way since it opened in the 1650’s, yet retaining much of its original style and character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ye Olde White Harte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing