We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Good Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Location - Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here in July 2013 and the rooms overlooking the River Crouch are excellent.
Quirky, it's an old building so the floors may not be exactly level but I would rather stay somewhere with character and history.
The beds were comfortable and the meals were good, evening and breakfast!
The bar sells a range of real beers which I like and the pub is busy until about 9. Then it becomes really quiet. Burnham is a great little town and I hope to visit again one day.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redandy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    40
    13
    15
    15
See reviews for
24
57
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was one of the pubs we visited on a recent day out in Burnham on Crouch. Situated by the River Crouch with a small seated area adjacent to the River. Good selection of beers and good ambience. We enjoyed our time there looking across the river whilst supping a pint or two!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed overnight on Saturday in a superior river view room (room 1) which had both a double and a single bed so very spacious. The seat in the bay window gave a perfect view of the glorious sunset over the river. The noise from the bar below was very loud early on which didn't bother us at all but could be very annoying for those who want an early night. We had a good meal in the restaurant and I particularly enjoyed a very generous wing of skate. Wine prices were very reasonable. Friendly and welcoming staff. Shower pressure very poor. No room for us in the small car park but we were easily able to park on the main street. A perfect location for walking in both directions along the river bank on Sunday morning and I would definitely recommend this as the place to stay for a weekend break in Burnham.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcC83F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I visit this pub/restaurant on a regular basis. The food is extremely well cooked and is very reasonably priced; an example of his is the wonderful lamb shank priced at £8.50. The staff are friendly and professional. The decor is very olde world and includes an enormous inglenook fireplace. The pub also overlooks the River a Crouch.

I would highly recommend the food and beer to anyone paying a visit to Burnham as for value and quality it is unsurpassed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 031212e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham on Crouch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Newbies to the area almost 10 years ago and whilst not having stayed overnight, the location and relaxed feel of the place coupled with the views have made this our fav. Fairly limited beer selection but bar meals are very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I checked into the Inn for a weekend whilst away on a business trip. I have to say the staff were very friendly and the room was just as I expected from reading other reviews on-line. Comfortable, clean and with and an olde world charm.

One pet hate of mine arose immediately though and that was the lack of any shower gel in the bathroom. I find this very frustrating however my woes were soon fixed by a quick trip to the local SPAR Shop and £1.00 !

Down in the bar which was full of a lively mix of both tourists and locals the atmosphere was very welcoming. The place has a very good vibe and the landlord keeps a really superb pint of beer of which there was a choice of two. Just one lager on draft though for none bitter drinkers.

In the restaurant the food was fabulous. A good menu, nothing too fussy and a nice selection of fresh local fish of which I opted for the Grilled Skate Wing with new potatoes and vegetables. Very nice it was too and a generous serving. The food can't be faulted along with the service, top notch !

Would I stay here again ? Without fail I would. A lovely hotel with charm good food and stunning location. I'd be sure to pack my shower gel next time though..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guy_Manchester2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch while on day visit to Burnham. Pub is full of olde world charm and staff are excellent and the bar person had a great sense of humour. Managed to get a table on the jetty and had an excellent lunch. We both had the home made steak pie and it was hot, fresh and plentiful. Would definitely stay and dine in the Hotel if an overnight stay was required. Try it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham-on-Crouch
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
772 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
230 reviews
7.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
285 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
280 reviews
7.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde White Harte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde White Harte Hotel

Property: Ye Olde White Harte Hotel
Address: The Quay, Burnham-on-Crouch CM0 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham-on-Crouch
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde White Harte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel & Restaurant is a traditional 17th century English establishment located on the bank of the River Crouch. With an abundance of character and numerous open fires mixed in amongst plenty of original wooden beams, The White Harte is unique, situated in a truly idyllic location. The hotel has a total of 19 bedrooms, a large bar area and a traditional yet stylish restaurant with a modern tasting menu, the White Harte has come a long way since it opened in the 1650’s, yet retaining much of its original style and character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ye Olde White Harte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde White Harte Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing