We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a family break.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Wriggly Tin

The Wriggly Tin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin BBQ Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin
BBQ Area
Living Room with Open Log Fire
Living Room
Dining room with seating for 10 at the table
Stairs to Loft bedroom
Twin beds in Loft Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Winter at The Wriggly Tin
The Wriggly Tin In snow
Main Door
3 Bedded Room
3 Bedded Room
Stairs and Hall Lower Ground Floor
1st Double Bedroom with Arched window opening to garden
2nd Double Bedroom
Garden from Dining Room Window
Gravel Area in Garden
Friendly Visitor
Main door over Foot Bridge
Floor Plan of The Wriggly Tin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
969wendyh
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family break.”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a 4 day stay here, my husband and myself and our two sons with their families.
The outside gives no indication of the size of the place it easily sleeps 9 and plenty of room. There is so much thought put in to the comfort of those staying there by the owner, flowers and flapjack to greet you, lots of little touches like toiletries, and tea/coffee to get you settled in. The whole place was very clean and comfortable, lovely and warm throughout the stay and there was a plentful supply of logs for the fire.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday again, would love to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheReluct...
2 reviews
“A little gem”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Myself & 6 girl friends have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Wriggly Tin. A delightful higgledy piggledy layout makes this house truly unique. Spotlessly clean & everything you could need. Felt like home from home! Not to mention the lovely welcome from the owners who are so friendly & knowledgeable and the fabulous walks right on the doorstep (something to suit all abilities!) There is also a lovely little pub within walking distance where the food was great & we were made to feel very welcome. Highly recommend the Wriggly Tin, we were all very sad to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shaniya
corfu
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, amazing place!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I recently stayed at the Wriggly Tin, with a group of friends, to celebrate my 50th birthday. The accommodation was excellent! Karen has considered every eventually of what visitors may require during their stay.
The property was very clean and very characteristic. I loved it. I can not rate this place highly enough.
You are very close to Bakewell, which is well worth a visit. The Monsal Trail is a lovely walk. The local pub, the Anglers Rest, serve excellent food and the owners were very welcoming .
I do expect to return in the future though due to excellent reviews, availability may be difficult.
Thank you Karen for helping to make my birthday weekend one that I will remember forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you had a good time for your special Birthday.
Kind regards
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hantil
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect venue - party, walk, dine and relax”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Everything we could have needed for the perfect Hen Party.
Comfortable in every way and enough bathrooms & hot water for all 12 of us.
Different walks at every turn, Tideswell being our favourite, with plenty of watering holes, restaurants and chip shops ☺️
We particularly enjoyed the ice cream van in the station car park - ice creams on tap!!
Hope to make this a regular get-together.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyn007_11
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Laughing Girls”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from a fab 4 nights stay at the Wriggly Tin. Karen was the perfect hostess. A superb welcome pack, flapjacks aplenty. Walked our little legs off, ate delicious meals, drank lots of alcohol and laughed til we cried. Walked the Monsal trail to Bakewell via Ashford on the Water, then the whole way back on the old railway line. Monyash to Over Haddon via Lathkill Dale, lunch at the Lathkill hotel, delicious, then back to Monyash via the Limestone Way. Stannage Edge from the overflow car park, to Hathersage, lunch at the tea shop next to the Geoage Hotel, delicious home made burgers. Perfect weekend from accommodation to activities to company

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage!”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I came here with my boyfriend and family for a long weekend in the Peak District.
The cottage was perfect! Very spacious (enough space for 8 people) with every little thing you would need (for example- 4 showers!). Karen and Peter were particularly welcoming providing us with chocolate and flapjack on arrival. It is in the heart of the Peak District so we were able to reach many places from there. It was a very reasonable price also. We couldn't really fault it! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing