We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stuck in Blind River”
Review of Lakeview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeview Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Blind River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Sackville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stuck in Blind River”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel grounds are kept very neat and tidy. Joe and Charlene, who run the inn are some of the nicest people you will every meet. Rooms are good and kept clean. Property is close to Beer Store and Tim Hortons. Good place to stay if you have to stop in the sleepy town of Blind River.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    34
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
25
41
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We wanted to stay in Blind River, simply because it was 1/2 way between Sault Ste Marie and North Bay.

We cruised the town, visually checking out the places to stay and decided on the Lakeview, partly because it looked so well kept and partly because it has a restaurant attached where a number of cars were parked. Seemed like good enough reasons to stay.

We had the best sleep of our trip - the beds are super comfortable. The room as a whole is very clean and well set up. And even though it is on the main drag (all motels in this town are), it was quiet enough for us. We slept like rocks.

The dinner we had was also very good. Wonderful home cooking, friendly service, good prices.

We were delighted with the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readytoretirecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Clean, quiet, inexpensive and friendly. What more could you ask for? Definitely old-fashioned motel-style but really clean and quaint. Nice to see that some of these motels still survive in our sleek and modern age.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irisheyesvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My business partner and I use this motel several times a year and always find it to be the most comfortable for business and just plain chilling out after work. The Innkeepers, Joe and Charlene, are among the most friendly and helpful folks you'll find. The beds are excellent, the restaurant features wonderful homemade-style cooking, there is a desk large enough to get some work done during your stay, and the sense of welcome these hoteliers provide can't be beat. You can drive but a short way through town and enjoy fine dining at nearby Pier 17 when the LakeView's restaurant is closed for the winter. Nice community, great people running the Inn and all the comforts of home.

Room Tip: Can't tell ya or you'll be staying there when we arrive! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hiltonpointschamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Dead of winter for my visit and the heat was actually on for arrival - many let the rooms go cold - I was in Room 104 - new bed - great firmness - and a new flatscreen TV. Joe, the owner, very pleasant and explained they were starting to renovate rooms. Room very clean with fridge and coffee maker and Joe supplied a Continental Breakfast in a bag. Adequate. There is a restaurant on site but it will not be open until March. Good level ground and walkways kept clear of Ice ans Snow. Staff very friendly. I would go back !! Great Internet - one of the best I have encountered. Desk small but definitely functional.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. All are good but take it to the next level !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this inn and regretted it tremendously. Our room smelt terrible. It appeared that the owner was trying to mask a smell with air freshener and the resulting odour was a sweet, nauseating stench!!!

The bed was hard as rock and the one pillow that we each had was awful!!! The bath tub drain was clogged and there was hardly any hot water. You may be lured into staying at this hell hole for the free wifi but heed my advice, it's not worth it!!!! The outside of the inn looks very pretty but looks are deceiving. Please check your room before you decide to stay here.

As for the restaurant, the food was terrible!!! The service even worse!!! I, for one, will never ever stay at this place every again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank S2015G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a total nightmare! My father phoned ahead to get a price and he was quoted $70. per night, when my wife and I arrived we were charged $82. per night.
When we went to our room and opened the door we were hit with an over powering smell of mold and mildew, but because we drove 7 hours straight we just decided to tough it out and get a new room the next morning.
My wife was in the shower when she called to me and showed me that the bath tub drain was plugged.
The bed was very hard and somewhat lumpy and the pillows I'm guessing were a flea market special.
The next morning after a very restless night we decided to have breakfast at their own restaurant which is close and kind of convenient, What a mistake, after finding our own table we waited for quite a while before being ask what we wanted, when we finally got our order the food was well um PRETTY HORRIBLE, oh and we had to ask for more coffee while the waitress, cook, and I'm assuming the owner went over and talked about what seemed to be a catalogue.
I didn't leave a tip but will for any perspective customer.
Here is your tip, DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!!!!!!!
Oh on the people that gave this place a 5 star rating, are we talking about the same motel?????Or could we accurately assume that your rating is somewhat biased!?!?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blind River
0.6 mi away
Auberge Eldo Inn
Auberge Eldo Inn
#4 of 5 in Blind River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Northshore Wayside Inn
Northshore Wayside Inn
#1 of 2 in Blind River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
#2 of 2 in Algoma Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Mill Motel
Old Mill Motel
#2 of 2 in Blind River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
14.5 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Iron Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
6.2 mi away
Laughing Waters
Laughing Waters
#1 of 2 in Algoma Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Inn

Property: Lakeview Inn
Address: 143 Causley St., Blind River, Ontario P0R 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Blind River
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Blind River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeview Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lakeview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Blind River
Lakeview Inn Blind River, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing