We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Great new management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northshore Wayside Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blind River
Blind River, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Under Great new management”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was a guest in this motel and would like to say that when I have extra company to our home in Blind River this is my motel of choice. They have got the absolute best rates in the area. They are striving to update all of their rooms. The young hosts are very pleasant and eager to do whatever is needed to ensure your stay is comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DonnaWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
9
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
balmertown
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I don't stay at places without a website. I don't know what's included in rooms such as fridge, microwaves, wifi, etc. So not interested. Does the motel have something to hide? It is not that expensive to have a web presence. The local Chamber of Commerce should help out here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank regboulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wanted to see the colorful sight of 'leaves-changing-colors' in the fall..........Sudbury -Blind River.
This motel is so easy to get to.......very clean and friendly........it was a quiet at night even though we were right off the highway. The new owners made sure we had everything we needed......offered us extra blankets and a portable heater (if necessary) for our room........I felt we were treated special........Way-to-go North Shore Inn:)........see you in the summer.

Markham, Ontario

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 500SSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The motel is under new management. Owned and operated by a charming, friendly couple, this motel offers simple, but very clean and comfortable accommodation. Good value. Easy access from the highway on the east side of Blind River.

Room Tip: The owners are most helpful and willing to show you the rooms before you commit. Rooms face the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NoraC521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

True, it's not perfect but the inn was recently purchased about 1-1/2 years ago (I think) by the new owners and although they've had numerous challenges regarding "issues" that the previous owners didn't disclose, they've done a remarkable job of bringing the old girl back to life. I've stayed here off and on for 15+ years as I travel a lot on the north shore and although they still have their work cut out for them, it really is good value for money and just keeps getting better. I've eaten in the restaurant ("Moniques" no relation to the inn owners) and found it surprisingly haute cuisine-ish for the area.

Plus it helps to be a 2 minute walk from the beer store.

Room Tip: The owners name is Suki. Tell him the "snowbike with the flat tire" fellow sent you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bwokentoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We began the New Year 2013 by travelling to Blind River, and we had the opportunity to stay for 4 days, at the Northshore Wayside Inn. The experience was FANTASTIC - Its under new management, by a young couple, and they bring to it so much more ! We occupied 2 rooms at $79. each, and they were both clean and tidy. The towels, bed linen were super clean, and smelling fresh. The management and staff were very polite, and friendly. There was coffee makers provided in all rooms, and they also have a newly opened/renovated Restaurant ! A must go to place, if you are visiting Blind River, or just stopping by ! Definitely recommended to my friends, and family. I look forward to my next visit ! Thank you Northshore Wayside Inn for making this trip an enjoyable one !

Room Tip: Pets are allowed too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dinesh N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here during our tour of Ontario and the lakes, and had driven far enough for the day when we checked in. For $66 the place is adequate, but scruffy. We did not fancy the restaurant at all. The bed was ok but the bedding was torn, and the towels small and thin. The room 23 was provided with minimal coffee making gear, but needed a thorough clean (particularly the floors) and re-dec, new floor tiles and some work to the plumbing. The window catch was broken, so it was difficult to open the window and the exterior was dirty and un-swept.
For us, it really was a case of "any port in a storm" and my wife summed it up with the sarcastic comment that I "take a girl to all the best places". Those we found subsequently on our motoring tour.
I would suggest that the management put some TLC into the place. It may be acceptable to workmen in the area but tourists should think twice. The state of the rooms that house guests and their pets just does not bear thinking about!

Room Tip: Look carefully to see if there is a GOOD room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIGEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blind River
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Blind River
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Mill Motel
Old Mill Motel
#2 of 2 in Blind River
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge Eldo Inn
Auberge Eldo Inn
#3 of 5 in Blind River
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
#2 of 2 in Algoma Mills
23 reviews
6.1 mi away
Laughing Waters
Laughing Waters
#1 of 2 in Algoma Mills
33 reviews
14.6 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Iron Bridge
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northshore Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northshore Wayside Inn

Property: Northshore Wayside Inn
Address: 181 Causley Street and Wellington Avenue | Hwy 17 West, Blind River, Ontario P0R 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Blind River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blind River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Northshore Wayside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel offers to all our guests Free Internet (WI-FI) access. All amenities such as Coffee maker and Coffee, Fridge with freezer, Cable Television, Free Local Phone Calls direct dial is provided for your convenience in the room. Ample parking available. Park right in front of the room. All Rooms are at ground level. Sorry No PETS Allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Northshore Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northshore Wayside Inn Blind River, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing