We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finse 1222

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finse 1222
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Finse
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I've been staying here since 2006 for stays of between 1 and 3 weeks apiece. Whilst the weather is always different, the experience of staying in such a historic landmark building is always fantastic. Remember this is a historic ski lodge with only a few mod cons and you won't be disappointed. Some rooms have bunk beds, some have singles but all have en suite toilets and shower. There is a nice family room with a double divan bed and a set of bunk beds.
The price includes 3 meals each day - a comprehensive breakfast, a make-yourself packed lunch and a 3 course evening meal. There are a wide selection of wines, spirits and beers in the bar (sadly not at UK prices!) During the afternoon tea, coffee, sandwiches and cake are available at the bar.
Depending on the season you can rent skis, snowshoes, bicycles or take ski-sail lessons. Reception can sort this out for you.There is also a shop near the reception selling clothing, maps, toiletries, food and drink.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    45
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
41
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We only had 6 days in Norway, but made sure that we spent a day and night in Finse on our way from Oslo to Bergen. There is something beautiful about the desolate snowscape and total isolation of Finse 1222. Many hotels will offer fancy therapeutic treatments but I felt more peace and relaxation snowshoeing across the frozen lake on a beautiful sunny day than at any spa.

Arriving and departing by train was a surreal experience. The reception and wait staff were a young and international bunch, but very friendly and professional. Despite being in the heart of Norway, nearly everyone who worked there was either Swedish or Argentinian.

The dinner was exceptional, although I would be very hesitant to buy any of the snacks available during midday. They taste fine, but they are very expensive, even by Norwegian standards.

The room was clean, but not fancy. This is not a luxury hotel but it has all of the necessities. If you are spending a lot of time in your room, you aren't taking advantage of the magnificent surroundings.

Finse 1222 provided me with an unforgettable 24 hours, I hope to be lucky enough to go back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larchmonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a hotel situated on the Bergen Railway, which makes it very easy to access even though it is 1222 meters above sea level. This is a "Must See" place in Norway. Everybody should go to Finse. You can start skiing from the hotel entrance, and go where ever, in all directions. There are a lot of marked routes, which takes you to places as Hardangerjøkulen (glacier) and Hallingskarvet. At the hotel they offer courses in ski sailing. Not too hard, if you know how to ski. This is a perfect way to move around in this magical terrain. You can rent all kind of equipment at the hotel. The staff working at the hotel is very service minded, and always tried to help us in all ways. The food surprised us in a very positive way. Both the fantastic three course dinner in the evening (that is included in your stay and will be the closest to gourmet food we have had on our travel in Norway) and the breakfast with so much good food we wished we could eat several times. In the evenings it’s a cozy atmosphere with candles, fireplaces and nice music in the reception area. I would recommend at stay at Finse1222 to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor. There are some rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jotenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I was invited to do a lecture with famous Norwegian exploreres at Finse 1222 8 - 10 February. 1222 means it is a place 1222 meter above seawater. The only way to get to the place is by train from Oslo - Bergen. On the very top of the railway you have Finse 1222 10 meter from the railway. Gladly the train passes by only two times a day. It was a fantastic experience. The view was wonderful, the service excelent and home made dinner very tasty. Breakfast very good and a lot of everything. The rooms was a bit simple but clean and I do not think I spend more than minutes awake in the room.

I will com back but may be a day when the tempeture is more than when I wisited the place. Saturday morning 29 C below ziro.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfdan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancefield, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Our time in Finse was too short, but it left a delightfully strong impression. The dinner was a real surprise; the best meal we had during our stay in Norway. The room was spacious and warm; in Finse you need warm. The early morning views over the lake to the higher mountains fired up our spirits to get out there and enjoy this very rare world. But before we got on our bikes we enjoyed a very hearty breakfast; great variety and fresh. Only one night, so we will have to come back to Finse for we only scratched the surface of this very special place. And when we do, we look forward to staying at Finse 1222.

Room Tip: Room with a view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Our stay at Finse 1222 started after a wonderful train ride steadily climbing from Oslo. We arrived, walking from the train straight to a warm greeting at the Hotel reception at the station. Comfortable lodgings, delicious food and friendly staff all left a strong impression that this is as much a labour of love by all involved. Ask about the history of the place. Even George Lucas used Finse 1222 as his base when filming some Star Wars scenes! You must take the bike route to Flam. 58km of incredible scenery. Beyond the altitude it really does take the breath away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Finsee is a very special place – rugged beauty away from the rest of the world. With such a rich and interesting history, makes me wish I was there when the skating rink was in full swing!

Waking up with a view of the lake and mountains was stunning. The hospitality and food especially the breakfast were excellent. Even if the weather appears daunting, you must do parts or the entire bike ride to Flam. Venture over to the friendly and helpful bike shop, they can set you up with a great bike but suggest you purchase gloves if it’s the slight bit chilly!

Treat yourself and experience Finsee.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnahiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finse
22.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
16.0 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
22.3 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
24.4 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#6 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
24.1 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finse 1222? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finse 1222

Property: Finse 1222
Address: Finse railroad station, Finse, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ulvik Municipality > Finse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Finse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finse 1222 was built in 1909 as part of the Bergen Railway and has since been the gateway to some of Norway's most beautiful and accessible mountain areas. The Hallingskarvet National Park borders to Finse and across the lake Finsevann the mighty Hardangerjokulen glacier rises. Finse 1222 is a family owned hotel run by young and serviceminded people. Allthough the premises are old and some places worn by more than 100 years of service, focus is on providing a hospitable and keen service as well as very good food. The hotel offers bike rental and ski rental. Rooms are basic - we recommend the outdoors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Finse 1222 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finse 1222 Hotel Finse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing