We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, not nice manager”
Review of Villa Sensi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sensi
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, not nice manager”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Advantages:
- The location, the view and the house itself are very beautiful.
- The breakfast is very copious and diversified.
- The swimming pool adds up a lot.

Drawbacks:
- The rooms are very basic and quite
- The wifi doesn't work properly
- The manager was not nice at at all with us: he openly insulted us and our religious believes!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shmuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolo s, Proprietario at Villa Sensi, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear guest,
first of all I wish to apologize if you thouhgt I have not been nice to you and if I ever gave you the impression of offending your personal religious beliefs. This is certainly not my style as it is not the opinion of 99,9 % of our guests from all over the world. Kindly look at more than 130 feed backs (trip advisor and booking.com). It seems that what all guests appreciate most is our kindness and warm and sincere hospitality. You have only been here 1 day and we accepted and respected your strict kosher diet gladly providing fresh fruit and milk for your baby as you requested. We and all the other guests were just a bit surprised when, without asking, you cleared half the breakfast table of all plates, cups, etc., which we had set up for other guests. Than you emptied 2 bags of kosher food and asked us for plastic and sealed plates, cups, knifes, spoons which we prompltly supplied (luckily we had them!). After that you went on playing very noisily with your kid in the corridor while other guests were still at sleep. Nobody complained although we all felt that sharing a place with other people should really mean respecting their space and privacy. When you asked us to warm up food for your baby lunch in our kitchen we said it was ok. We also agreed that you could do the same for your baby's evening meal. It was almost 11at night and we were relaxing in our sitting room, almost at sleep after a full day work, with door and windows closed. Obviously, at such late time we thought that you and your baby must have had your dinner hours before. We were surprised when you rang the doorbell and asked to use our kitchen at 11 at night!!! By then we were a bit annoyed by your general, careless and unrespectful attitude towards other people. Nevertless, thinking of the baby, we let you in and left you in the kitchen. Without asking for permission you opened our refrigerator, start cooking pasta and frying eggs for yourselves, not for the baby which was at sleep in the room. At that point I came into the kitchen and told you that you had booked only a bed and breakfast and that a self contained apartment might be more suitable for you. I am sorry you felt I offended you. That was not my intention although I felt that you had a very selfish attitude and were not very polite towards your host and the other guests. Best wishes from us all. Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    13
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

With my sister we visited villa sensi to have a few days chill out before everyone arrived for my wedding that was taking place at villa baroncino.
We had the best time with Paolo! it rained for the afternoon when we arrived so he took us into his kitchen and poured us a glass of wine and made us some lunch. We sat chatting all afternoon as i fretted about the weather but he assured me it never rains that long in Italy! he was right!
This place was a home from home, a very special place. We felt so comfortable and relaxed in this little place of tranquility. It was quiet and the rooms were so clean and tidy. The breakfast and coffee was also very good, with a beautiful pool and the mot stunning views that i don't think can be beaten.
If you are looking for a place to get away for awhile and just relax with the nicest host you could ask for, then this is the place.
my parents are now going next week and my husband and i will be going next year for our anniversary. my sister and i could not have chosen a better place to relax and chill for a few days. Paolo you are fab, we miss u ! see you soon ;-) kelly and emma

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellynLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolo s, Proprietario at Villa Sensi, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Kelly and Emma,
I am late in replying to your nice comment, but we have been keeping in touch through mail and fb. I'm so happy you had a great time and a wonderful wedding! And thanks for suggesting to your parents to stay here for their holiday. We had a nice time togheter. Thay are such a nice couple.
I really look forward to see you all in the near future. Best wishes and warmest regards. Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Lovely villa in a great location high up above the lake on the Umbrian border with Tuscany. Small pool with a waterfall that comes on when Paolo is in the pool. Clean and with everything you required including a lovely breakfast

Room Tip: The best rooms come with views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runkaterun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a very very special place - partly because of its amazing location and beauty (the photos on the website are stunning but even they do not do it justice) but mostly because of the lovely owners, Paolo and Rita, who made us feel so welcome and at home. There is an incredible feeling of generosity about this place - Paolo and Rita really take care of their guests with a very personal yet tactful touch. Nothing is too much trouble and you really feel as though you are a "guest" and not a customer.

We found the rooms very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything we needed. We were there with our two young children so it was very helpful to be accommodated in two interconnecting rooms, this worked perfectly for us. The breakfasts were great, especially the coffee, and it was so enjoyable to eat outside in front of that amazing view of the lake. We had one evening meal with Paolo and Rita when we enjoyed delicious food & wine in a cosy family atmosphere - a special treat. The swimming pool was also fantastic, beautiful and pristine and with lots of room for relaxing round it.

The peace and serenity of Villa Sensi is very unusual and truly to be treasured. Time honestly seemed to move at a different pace whilst we were there! It was hard to tear ourselves away and we hope very much to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolo s, Proprietario at Villa Sensi, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
We are all so glad you have enjoied your stay at Villa Sensi. Undoubtely you have appreciated the spirit of the place which enchanted us when we first saw it and decided to live here. Thank you.
I treasure N. and E. little thank you notes. Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to attend a friend's wedding close by. We arrived after 11 but Paolo had kindly emailed clear directions and left our room ready for us.
We drove to the wedding and left the car, so the next day Paolo, very kindly, gave us a lift back so we could collect it. Given the difficulty in getting taxis in the area, this helped us out a lot.
The only problem we had all holiday, which is no reflection on Paolo, is the location. The roads leading to the villa are steep and have potholes. Our hire car, only a Fiat with a 1.1 engine, couldnt really cope with the steepness of these without us revving a lot. At one point we stopped halfway and slipped back a little! If you're hiring a car, maybe choose one with a bit more oomph!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickitoria_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed in Villa Sensi for a week, with my mother and sister, to attend a wedding in the area. Villa Sensi is located high up in the hills above Lake Trasimeno, offering fantastic views of the lake and surrounding area. The villa is situated in parkland, home to deer and wild boar - which creates a very 'back to nature' feel. We arrived very late on the 1st night but were warmly welcomed by the owner, Paulo, who offered us complimentary drinks. Unlike most visitors to this area we did not have a car, however, this did not deter us from visiting Florence, Perugia and the surrounding area, as Paulo willingly drove us to the train station and provided excellent tips on restaurants, sights to see, shops, timetables etc The Villa is absolutely stunning; my room was at the front offering fabulous views of the lake. Everything you need is provided in the room but if not, Paulo will be only too willing to get you anything else you might need. There is a wonderful relaxing feel to the Villa, with a spotless pool and well maintained, interesting gardens which have kept the natural feel of the area. There is also a fitness suite and massage room but we didn't get round to using these! Paulo and Rita provided lunch on the days we didn't take trips and what an experience - authentic Tuscan dining-delicious. We were made to feel like celebrities and we experienced the true Italian way of life (which doesn't always happen on holiday). Paulo and RIta enhanced our holiday so much that we will definitely recommend Villa Sensi and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the house have fantastic view of Lake Trasimeno and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdonalddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolo s, Proprietario at Villa Sensi, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Well, it is difficult to reply to such a nice feed back. What to say? Only that you were fantastic guests in every way. It was most pleasant to have you here and really looking forward to see you in the near future. My very best regards to you and your sister and a special "saluto" to your wonderful mom. Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I can't help but agree and underscore the other well written reviews of Villa Sensi. The moment of arrival, you are captivated with the serenity and beauty of the the villa and it's natural surroundings of trees, breath taking views and only further enhanced by the warm hospitality and welcome of its owner, Paolo. Definitely worth including in your trip planning!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuoro sul Trasimeno
1.2 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
623 reviews
9.7 mi away
Locanda Poggioleone
Locanda Poggioleone
#1 of 1 in Pozzuolo
167 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais Parco Fiorito
Relais Parco Fiorito
#1 of 1 in Piazzano
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ospitalita Perusia
Ospitalita Perusia
#4 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
29 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Vela
La Vela
#2 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sensi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sensi

Property: Villa Sensi
Address: Localita Monte Castelluccio, 06069, Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Sensi 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BandB Villa Sensi is set in Monte Castelluccio natural reserve, right on the border of Tuscany and Umbria. It is close to Cortona with a spectacular view of Lake Trasimeno and its surrounding hills.All no-smoking double/triple rooms simply but tastefully decorated and feature private bathrooms, air con, free Wi-Fi internet access, complimentary tea and coffee, hairdryer and toiletries. Guest can relax and enjoy the breathtaking view of the Lake and the countryside. They can soak up the sun after a swim in the outdoor swimming pool. The enchanting and unspoiled Monte Castelluccio is perfect for walks, trekking and mountain bike itineraries. Villa sensi is a privileged base for exploring Tuscany and Umbria with their magnificent historical and artistic towns. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Sensi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sensi Tuoro Sul Trasimeno, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing