We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet gem on the boarder of Tuscany and Umbria”
Review of Villa Sensi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sensi
Reviewed 14 August 2014

For people wanting a cultured and fun holiday this is a great place to stay. You can be in Sienna in an hour and Perugia in 40 min. Lake Trasimeno is five minutes away and you can Paddle Board, Canoe, water ski and many other things. A trip to the larger islands on the lake is also very pleasant and easy to do.
Paolo and Alena make you so welcome and offer great hospitality. There is a typical European breakfast of bread, cheese and meat with yoghurt, fresh fruit and cereal. You can also have eggs done as you like for no extra cost. (Scrambled with panchetta is a great start to the day.) If there is one tiny issue for a man who is over 100 kg/ 220 lbs, it is the size of the shower, but then again, I should not be so large. I coped and had a great time. The pool is a welcome haven after visiting the various towns and cities in the area, it is tranquil and often empty of guests, just when you need that peace and quiet before you decide to dress up and go out. Paolo provides a list of restaurants that are in the town or close by and we were not disappointing with any of them.

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms with a balcony and lake view. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are a senior couple travelling from Australia to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. Upon arrival at Villa Sensi we were offered drinks which was wonderful. It only got better from there. The room had a balcony with sensational views - some of the best in Italy. The owner of Villa Sensi (Paulo) goes out of his way to make your stay a memorable one. Alena works for Paulo and is exceptional ALWAYS smiling and happy. Nothing is too much trouble for this little gem. I have never met anyone like her. I would
Strongly recommend Villa Sensi to everyone. Just amazing and a place not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony worth every cent for the view alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandieinaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I chose Villa Sensi for it's proximity to southern Tuscany's hill top towns and to other choice locations in Umbria. From that perspective it was a great selection. What made it even better was the warm hospitality and friendliness of Paolo and Liise. We were treated graciously with all the help and advice we could want. The Villa has an exquisite view of Lago Transimeno which made waking up each day a real treat. Sensi is a quiet place to relax after a good day of exploring the surrounding area. Breakfast included many nutritional and delicious offerings. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with many thanks to Paolo and Liise.

Room Tip: Arrive before sunset; it may be challenging at first to find Villa Sensi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Gurns78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolo s, Owner at Villa Sensi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

First of all I apologize for such a late reply. As you well know we are a very small team here at Villa Sensi and I always prefer to spend my free time with guests, having a drink together, etc. Thanks a lot for such a nice feed back. Look forward to see you again in the near future. Ciao. Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was a shame we were only in Italy 3 nights. The rooms are basic but comfy and very well equipped and the views are amazing of the lake. Worth every penny of the small cost it is to upgrade. I was surprised and very impressed to have such fast wifi that far up the hills. A honus to have it as I wasnt expecting such luxury. The apartment was very clean and tidy. We were welcomed warmly by very polite and excellent hosts. The hosts were very helpful when we arrived very late at night after travelling by car from Rome. Siena is about 40 minutes drive away which is lovely.
Overall a fab stay albeit only 3 nights but I loved every second of my first experience of Italy and can only say this was helped dramatically by my stay at Villa Sensi. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mableash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Paola was a font of information and spoke English very well. We had a standard room that was clean and quite comfortable. This B & B is located at the top of a hill so has a spectacular view of the lake and countryside. Paola made suggestions of what we could do and which restaurants to eat at. The restaurants were great and the food delicious. The breakfast is served in the main house and was OK. There was bread with ham and cheese, sweet cakes and coffee and tea.

Room Tip: There is a honeymoon suite upstairs that was very large with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

A very good place , very friendly management !
You feel immediately at home .
The place is a very good base to visit Umbria and Tuscany . You have the best of the two worlds . Thank you Paulo for your suggestions and your warm presence .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left, we felt like home at Villa Sensi. Paulo, the host and owner takes great effort in making his guests feel at home. He is a great person. Also the ladies assisting Paulo in the B&B were great. We had a wonderful time with them.
The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The view on the lake is absolutely astonishing! In the village of Tuoro, there are several nice restaurants where one can have a wonderful meal for a good price. Paulo can assist with information on good restaurants in the neigbourhood. The pool is nice and clean and has a beautiful view on the lake.

The location of Villa Sensi is an excellent starting point for trips to cities in the region. We made trips to Florence, Siena, Cortona, Perugia, Spello, Spoleto, Assisi and many more. All are within an hour drive. We will definitely return to Villa Sensi on our next trip to Italy! Remember Paulo: corri corri!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuoro sul Trasimeno
1.2 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
654 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais Parco Fiorito
Relais Parco Fiorito
#1 of 1 in Piazzano
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ospitalita Perusia
Ospitalita Perusia
#4 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
758 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Casa Sul Lago
La Casa Sul Lago
#1 of 2 in Torricella di Magione
159 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Macerine
Le Macerine
#3 of 9 in Castiglione del Lago
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sensi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sensi

Address: Localita Monte Castelluccio, 06069, Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Price Range: £52 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Sensi 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BandB Villa Sensi is set in Monte Castelluccio natural reserve, right on the border of Tuscany and Umbria. It is close to Cortona with a spectacular view of Lake Trasimeno and its surrounding hills.All no-smoking double/triple rooms simply but tastefully decorated and feature private bathrooms, air con, free Wi-Fi internet access, complimentary tea and coffee, hairdryer and toiletries. Guest can relax and enjoy the breathtaking view of the Lake and the countryside. They can soak up the sun after a swim in the outdoor swimming pool. The enchanting and unspoiled Monte Castelluccio is perfect for walks, trekking and mountain bike itineraries. Villa sensi is a privileged base for exploring Tuscany and Umbria with their magnificent historical and artistic towns. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Sensi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sensi Tuoro Sul Trasimeno, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing