We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
I Capricci di Merion
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent six days here and found it beyond what we expected. The staff could not do enough for us at any time, the facilities were also excellent, the food in the restaurant was first class. The peace and tranquility of the garden and pool area was very relaxing. Hopefully we will return some time in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    116
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
46
455
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had three nights here and were very glad we found it. Some places look better online than they actually are but this place is actually better once you get there! It is on the edge of a not very attractive town but is a real haven of relaxation. It is a large villa that was converted into a hotel from 2003. The staff are very helpful, the spa is complementary, and the pool is just what you need after a day of sightseeing.
I definitely recommend eating in the hotel for dinner and the half board rate of 35 Euros for four courses is very reasonable when you look at the quality of what is presented. The food is imaginative and the waiting staff attentive.
It's obviously a popular place for locals to have a celebratory meal as there were large parties for dinner on two of the three nights we were there. However, as they were inside and we and the other diners were out on the terrace, this was not a problem. On a hot summer's evening, it is bliss to sit outside and have a leisurely meal until late!
Don't miss the tortoises in the garden at the side.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July! The hotel is just gorgeous! It's definitely a little hidden gem! The staff could not have been more attentive and polite! The deluxe suites are spacious and the decor is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maybebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here in July 2013 with our 1 year old baby - had a small apartment with mini kitchen and it was big enough to set a travel bed for babies, it was close enough to the restaurant so we could have dinner as a couple while our baby was sleeping in the apartment at a 20 metres of us :-)

Our baby loved to play on her carpet in the garden with her toys and wasn't bored for a second.

But I can imagine that older children can get bored here, as there is only a swimming pool.

The personnel is very friendly and even brings your drink to you sitting at the pool, so you can actually be very lazy ;)

there are some cities you can visit like Perugia and Arezzo. Trasimeno lake is nothing special though.

The dinners are really excellent and low priced, the restaurant is a separate company and you can choose from the menu everytime.

A tennis court would make this place perfect !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Nestled uphill in the town of Tuoro Sul Trasimeno (by the lake), the hotel is a bit difficult to find. My rented ‘Tom Tom’ GPS did not show the road where the hotel is located . So it took a while to figure out how to get there after I drove into the town. The road leads to the hotel and the parking area is paved with gravel, so it is difficult to move to the hotel lobby if you have big luggage.

Though the hotel building is old, fitting and furnishing is very good. Check in was friendly and easy. It is a small hotel so by the time you are there, they know who you are. They also book you into the spa room for the day when checking in. It is an interesting facility to be at. Exclusive use by the guests of the spa room, and synchronized lighting and music, and alternating with cold and hot water shower.

Our room located on the first floor. Not very big but fell spacious. There is a small sitting area after opening the door, though I never sit there. My room has a small balcony facing the main entrance and the lake, barely enough for 2 chairs and a small table. Bedding is a bit too hard for me. Bathroom is modernized, with a standing shower, but nicely decorated. Safe is extremely small. I have to arrange the items in it wisely in order to put everything I need to put inside. Air conditioning is working just fine, with 1 for the sitting area and 1 for the bedroom. Good enough closet space for putting the clothes.

Breakfast is served at the hotel restaurant, both inside and outdoor seating with a good selection of food. The environment is perfect and tranquil. Many trees around so there is generally no direct sunlight on the tables. I also dined here for the dinner. Some hotel guests went out for dinner and some customers came to the hotel for dinner. So tables in the garden is always full. Quality of food is generally good, except that one night the fish was so salty. I understand that most fishes in Italy was salted and desalted just before cooking. So if too much salt was added during cooking it becomes very salty. I have to change the fish to pork chop because it is just too salty for me. Other dishes, pork, beef, fried chicken, shrimp, pasta are all good. Having dinner looking over to sunset in the restaurant is perfect.

The swimming pool has just the right size and water is cool. Staff would come over to ask for any order guests would place. With temperature over 35 degree it is enjoyable soaking in the pool.

The hotel is generally well kept. The location, the ground, hardware and service all make the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Delightful hotel, with lovely views and well kept gardens. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The pool and private spa were fabulous. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and the restaurant in the evening was excellent. The surrounding area is well worth exploring, and the location is perfect for the wedding venue, Villa Baroncino. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 481Lee_anneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay by our villa, with its views on the Trasimeno Lake and the green Umbrian hills. The rooms have been just renewed, with lighter colours and Provencal style...we are glad you liked them.
We agree that the surrounding area, both in Umbria and in the nearby Tuscany, is very interesting by naturalist, historycal and cultural point of view.

Thank you from Arianna, Stefano and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

POSITIVES:

Warm welcome

Stayed in the Merion room which was very beautiful and spacious

Good local info given by Lorenzo

Beautiful pool surrounded by olive trees

Quiet surroundings

Covered car port - very useful for keeping car cool in soaring temperatures
Lovely toiletries and towels


NIGGLES:

Access to hotel covered by gravel which makes pulling a suitcase on wheels impossible. Fortunately we were able to carry ours, but a less abled person would have to ask for help, which I am sure the hotel staff would provide.

There was a jacuzzi bath in our room with an attached shower head but nowhere on the wall to attach it to, so showers had to be taken sitting down in the bath. Disappointing and inconvenient considering the high standard of the room and hotel in general.

The music piped around the hotel and pool we felt was not in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel - classical music may have been better suited than the pop music played whilst we were there.

Room Tip: The Merion room has a seating / dining area, small kitchen, huge bedroom and good sized bathroom but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icapriccidimerion, Proprietario at I Capricci di Merion, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Sabina and Andy,
first of all thank you very much for choosing our villa.
We appreciated your words and also your suggestions, because we like to improve and grow everyday. We will play classical music more often!

We hope to see you again,
Arianna, Stefano and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuoro sul Trasimeno
15.7 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
22.4 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
18.8 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
20.3 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
3.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Capricci di Merion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Capricci di Merion

Property: I Capricci di Merion
Address: Via del Pozzo 21 | vicino via Roma, 06069, Tuoro sul Trasimeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — I Capricci di Merion 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th century Villa near lake Trasimeno with 9 rooms, each one different from the others, intimate spa for exclusive use and with the possibility of massages. Also present a swimming pool with jacuzzi corner and a view on the lake and a small restaurant by candlelight, sometimes with the delicate sound of live harp music ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your I Capricci di Merion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Capricci Di Merion Tuoro Sul Trasimeno, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing