We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and good value”
Review of Princess Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bobcaygeon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Princess Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bobcaygeon
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Spacious clean room with queen bed, free wireless internet and cable TV. Kitchenette in room with bar size fridge, microwave, coffee maker, dishes and cutlery. Great value and friendly and accommodating owner and staff. The baseboard heaters were responsive and I was able to park right in front of my room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The wife and I went up for a beginners wheeling day and since the weather was terrible (tornado warnings) and we didn't want to camp in the rain we found this place. I booked the room the night before going up and everything was fine. The room was large and right on the main street but it wasn't too bad. Room was very hot and the AC took for ever to cool down, at about 3am it was too cold. The bed was not the best and it kinda felt like I was falling out my side. I ended up sleeping half sideways but once I found the comfy spot I was out.

Price was OK and the room seemed fine for what we needed. The shower was a lot small but the water was hot and wet. I would more then likely go back if I didn't want to camp or didn't have time to set up camp.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hapla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is very cost friendly at only $75 in the winter.
It is like being in your apartment with a kitchenet.
Good parking
The room was clean.
You will have to make your own food or order in.

For that price I cannot complain but be grateful

Room Tip: get there early so you can park in front of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

So we needed a place to say in Bobcaygeon for a guys curling weekend. Asked around and also checked Tripadvisor and decided based on location that this was probably the best fit.

We booked a 3-bedroom suite which ended up being a house attached to the lobby. It had 3 spacious comfortable bedrooms and a common area which we ended up not using.

Service at the hotel was fine - both in person and on the phone. The owners seemed to be genuinely friendly based on a phone conversation with them.

The main issue was that the decor is old and tired - worn pink carpet in the hallways, though there was newer carpet in the bedrooms. Holes and cracks in drywall.. found an empty beer cap on the floor when we arrived. TV in the common area was 14" CRT and not connected to cable of any kind. Since we were on a guys trip with four guys this wasn't a huge issue but we would have liked a more comfortable common area for socializing along with a TV with cable of a decent size. We ended up congregating in the master bedroom on uncomfortable folding chairs.

On the plus side, I did like the spaciousness of the rooms.. the beds were comfortable and clean, and from a location perspective it was very easy walking distance to the main streets of Bobcaygeon and about a block from a decent breakfast place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishman_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed one night in room 5 on the ground floor and found the room very neat, clean and nicely decorated. The room had a small fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer and flat screen television ( all in good condition). It is in a good location close to town center.
PD
Vancouver BC

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Spent 3 nights at the Princess Motel in June 2011. Had a very decent sized room on 2nd floor with king bed and mini-fridge. Room was quite clean, and bedding was comfortable. Bathroom could use some cosmetic freshening up, but it was clean & functional. The A/C unit was an older one and I considered it to be on the noisy side, but it did manage to keep the room cool during a hot spell. Free wireless access worked fine without any issues.
Close proximity to a few restaurants, pubs and convenience stores. Bobcaygeon itself is a nice little town to explore, as is the Kawartha Lakes region - and the Princess Motel is a fine place in which to base your excursion.

Owner / front desk was super friendly, and made sure everything was satisfactory. I'd stay here again if in the area - the Princess is a fine independent motel that is both reasonably priced and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We arrived at 11:pm on a Friday for a wedding in the area, and never met ANYONE who actually runs this place. We called ahead to let them know we were coming. and our key was left in the room with the door open. We visited the office 4X, but no one would ever come out to the counter. There is NO housekeeping, we got a call asking if we 'needed anything'. This property is in dire need of updating and maintenance, and someone who knows how to paint a room properly. It's built as a motel, but doesn't function well as one at all. Our room was poorly ventilated, had odd stains on the wall, a bathroom that was disgusting, and 'decor' that looked like it had been looted from a homeless person's garage sale. Our mattress had a HOLE in it on the side, the sink in the bathroom would not drain, and there were weird stains all over the walls. See for yourself in photos. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank scmcint2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bobcaygeon hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Caygeon B&B
Riverside Caygeon B&B
#5 of 8 in Bobcaygeon
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avian Woods Bed & Breakfast
Avian Woods Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 8 in Bobcaygeon
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Rockland Motel
New Rockland Motel
#1 of 8 in Bobcaygeon
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Motel

Address: 96 Main Street, Bobcaygeon, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario K0M 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kawartha Lakes > Bobcaygeon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bobcaygeon
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Princess Motel Bobcaygeon, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing