We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a Kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stonyhurst Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bobcaygeon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stonyhurst Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bobcaygeon
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Discovered Stonyhurst last year on a one night stay and booked for this year at that time. This year's much anticipated vacation at the Stonyhurst has come and gone and I must say it was the BEST vacation I have had in years. We could not have ordered better weather, and the hospitality and new friends we encountered are amazing. The units are rustic, but very clean & quaint. Right beside the waters edge and peaceful and serene. A short walk over the bridge and you have the locks and many quaint stores for your browsing pleasure. I do not hesitate to recomend this property to anyone. Already booked for next year and counting down the month's to our return visit. Thank you Stonyhurst.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kimstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We just returned from two nights at Stonyhurst. Two words.....The Best..great location, five minutes to town(adorable), great view on lakes, cozy accommodations with BBQ, but best of all, we were greeted from the-get-go with open arms and felt right at home. Extra bonus----met amazing people who made the getaway such a blast. The owners made our time such a pleasure that we've already booked for next year!!!! Sides still sore from laughing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank unocervasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. If you are looking for back country this wouldn't be the place for you. But, we loved it! Walking distance to everything. Very rustic, but very cozy. Has everything you need. Don't have to bring towels and sheets which is a real plus! It's so pretty with all the boats with the lock right there. The lakes are great for boating, but if you are bringing a boat you might want to think about leaving it at the marina next door as the water in front of the lodge is shallow with rock.
The owners are so nice as the people of this area are very friendly. An air conditioner would have been nice, but all in all, it is the best value around. All the other places were much more expensive, and you had to supply all your own bedding, towels and paper products. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Crocarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We ended our tour of Canada with a couple of days at Stonyhurst and were not disappointed. Friendly atmosphere, clean and with the polish made by use, just right to see Canada as a local. A thoroughly enjoyable experience not the least for the fishing straight off the dock just outside the room. Many thank Deb.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

If you're doing the Trent Severn Waterway in a small boat or are doing it in a large boat but need an on-shore bed for one night in a town with lots of amenities, Stonyhurst Inn will suffice. The kitchenette rooms are large and clean, but rustic like something out of the 1950s. In fact, the entire complex is right out of the 1950s. I think the beds must've been manufactured in the 1950s, too. That said, the Kennedy family provides personal family-like service.

Also on the upside, Stonyhurst Inn is just steps from shopping, restaurants, a marina and the Bobcaygeon Lock and Dam. For a boater without a car, this kind of proximity is crucial.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JayJayLoudonTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bobcaygeon
16.8 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Lindsay
16.2 mi away
Kent Inn
Kent Inn
#2 of 6 in Lindsay
128 reviews
15.7 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Knights Inn Lindsay
Knights Inn Lindsay
#4 of 6 in Lindsay
54 reviews
3.3 mi away
Eganridge Resort, Country Club & Spa
11.3 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonyhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonyhurst Inn

Property: Stonyhurst Inn
Address: One Main Street, Bobcaygeon, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario K0M 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kawartha Lakes > Bobcaygeon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bobcaygeon
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Stonyhurst Inn Bobcaygeon, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing