We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of The Moose B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Moose B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Dorset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had a relaxing and enjoyable time this weekend at the Moose B&B. The rooms were exceptionally clean with a super comfortable bed and modern bathroom. Sitting on the deck watching the boats go by was relaxing plus, plus, plus. Beyond expectations was having a fantastic breakfast on the deck overlooking the water. Would definitely recommend the Moose B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackPuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi J, Owner at The Moose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. We really enjoyed your company and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just got home from the most relaxing and enjoyable time away without kids at the Moose B&B. Absolutely everything was excellent and the Johnson family made us feel very welcome. My favourite memories are the quiet time on the dock and the sumptuous eggs Benedict for breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura-Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi J, Owner at The Moose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for letting us know that you appreciated your stay. You were lovely guests and we enjoyed your company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Let me start off by saying: all the positive reviews that I read about the Moose B&B on TripAdvisor couldn’t have been truer!

My family and I (the five of us) had a wonderful time during our stay! We rented out all three rooms for two nights during the Easter weekend. The rooms were super clean, modern and I loved how they were decorated. My favourite was the Birch suite. But the breakfast was probably the best part of it all. There were so many options and you could pick as many things as you wanted. I would recommend the granola with fresh fruit and the mixed fruit smoothie – they were both so delicious!

Debi and her husband were also terrific hosts! Debi gave us recommendations about the various restaurants in the area and even printed out menus for us. She really went above and beyond.

Likewise, I found that the location of the B&B was ideal. It’s in the Dorset area which is nice and quiet, and especially great if you want to relax. But at the same, the B&B is just a short drive to Huntsville (around a 25 min), which is a bit busier and has a lot of restaurants to choose from for lunch/dinner. As well, Algonquin Park is nearby (around a 30 min drive).

Overall, it's an excellent place to go if you're looking to have a nice weekend away from the city.

PS. Make sure to check out the dock. It’s definitely picturesque! 

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi J, Owner at The Moose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! My husband and I really enjoyed the company of your family and your enthusiasm for our town. My passion for cooking was fulfilled with you all trying such a variety of items from the menu. Thank you for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Moose in Dorset. Hosts Debi and Kel were very welcoming and their dog Rolo was a great little character. We stayed in the Lily suite which was very comfortable with a lovely big bathroom. The house itself is beautifully appointed and in such a peaceful setting, it was wonderful to not hear any sounds at night which is a real break from city life.
The breakfast was amazing and gave us the fuel we needed to get on with our day. We felt so comfortable there that we would definitely stay again. Next time we would choose the larger suite with the king size bed. Definitely recommend a stay at The Moose.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank VKinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi J, Owner at The Moose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We really enjoyed hearing about all of your travel experiences. You were great company. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Debbie greeted us warmly and things got better from there! Our suite was fabulous. We could see our cottage from the living room! Plus the suite was immaculate and decorated with a cozy country theme.
After a great night's sleep, Debbie prepared a delicious feast for breakfast!! Then we were on our way for the day. We had 2 great nights at the Moose, would love to do it again!
Bryan

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi J, Owner at The Moose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your positive review! I enjoyed having you both just as much as you enjoyed staying here. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Everything about the Moose B&B great. The B&B itself, the friendly hosts, and the gorgeous little down it is at. We loved staying there the night while visiting Algonquin. Debbie, her husband and their daughter were so friendly. We almost felt like we were saying at our friends's house. The breakfast was another hit, they had so many options to choose from. If your planning to stay there, you much see the old fire tower which is now a look out tower offering a picturesque view of the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rmt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Dorset area is just beautiful. We loved the drive as much as the destination. The Moose is the perfect spot for day trips into Algonquin and other area destinations. The accomodations are very nice with a lot of attention to detail. Not only is the food amazing but the amount of choice on the menu is expansive. Mom Deb and Daughter Mel are both gourmets. I feel bad that I had the same thing every day but it was phenomenal. After a good day hiking we spent the afternoon on the dock watching the local boats pass slowly by on their way to the "Robinson's Country Store" dock. Great for people and boat watching.
Don't miss the hike from the Moose up to the Fire Tower.

Loved our three day stay. We're in talks with friends for when our next booking is.
Lorne, Susan, Steve, Danette, Garreth, and Carolyn

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
19.5 mi away
Pine Lodge Inn
Pine Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
123 reviews
14.5 mi away
Morgan House Bed and Breakfast and Wool Works Studio
15.9 mi away
Echo Woods B & B
Echo Woods B & B
#6 of 21 in Huntsville
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Nordic Inn
Nordic Inn
#2 of 2 in Dorset
65 reviews
14 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
498 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moose B&B

Address: 1029 West Harvey Avenue, Dorset, Lake of Bays, Ontario P0A 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Lake of Bays > Dorset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MOOSE B&B is nestled in the quaint northern town of Dorset, Ontario. This boutique inn is the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life. Whether you’ve come to visit with friends, dangle your feet off the dock, or try running the channel on your snowmobile, The Moose B & B is sure to impress. Located in the heart of Dorset, this spacious property is surrounded by magnificent gardens and overlooks the river joining Lake of Bays and Little Trading Bay. Close to the world renowned Algonquin Park and the charming town of Huntsville, perfect destinations for additional daily excursions. We offer an extensive made-to-order breakfast menu which is included in the price of your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Moose B&B Dorset, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing