We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again for a good trip”
Review of Nordic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nordic Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Dorset B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed at the Nordic Inn few times before in the different seasons, but our last visit ranks as one of the most restful, as we both slept quite well on very comfortable bed. The owners are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and good smelling.
We enjoyed a very quiet stay -- no noise issues in our room. The bed was very comfortable, the room extremely clean. Breakfast and dinner were very good -- a good choice of various items.
We were very impressed and really enjoyed our stay and we put Nordic Inn on our future vacation plans in Muscoka as a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Nordic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Nordic Inn. I think the owners are making a real effort to improve the place but there is still room for improvement.
It never occurred to us that the rooms would not have phones. We did not have a cell phone with us and felt a bit vulnerable security wise knowing we could not just call the front desk for help if we needed it. We made three trips to the office for assistance with the tv. There is no guide to tell you how to work the satellite system. There also isn't Wi-Fi in the rooms as we were led to believe. You need to go to the restaurant to use Wi-Fi so our ipod was useless in our room.
It is great that they allow pets at this hotel. It is sometimes difficult to find a place that does and we really appreciate this service. Unfortunately, upon arrival we were greeted by two large dogs running loose. The owners dealt with it promptly and were apologetic. I hope people don't continue to let their dogs run loose. It would be a shame if the owners had to constantly deal with the problem or if someone got hurt by a loose dog.
The house keepers also need to vacuum under the beds. Our dog immediately put his nose under the beds and starting going after all of the garbage left there. We quickly picked everything up before he ate garbage.
People also walked by our room from the restaurant very late at night and woke all of us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliemuskoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nordicinn, Owner at Nordic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Leslie,

We do apologize that you had problems with your stay. Admittedly we've had some difficulties updating the hotel technology - we're not the most tech savvy people so making sure the WiFi worked properly was a "process". Luckily we got some help in that department, and you'll find that issue has been resolved.

As far as the TV - our battles with Bell have been numerous but it seems that we've now had 4 months of uninterrupted service, which according to locals is something of a record.

On the other hand we have updated the bar and lounge area considerably and brought in a mini grand piano for our guests entertainment. I encourage you to visit us again in the summer when the weather is beautiful and there's lots to do.

Having a dog ourselves, we try to keep our pets policy fairly liberal. People come out here for a little freedom for themselves and their pets. To the extent that they don't bother other guests (furry or otherwise) we try not to interfere with our guests enjoyment of the property. If you come again, please let us know ahead of time so we can make sure no larger dogs are going leash-free when you arrive.

Best regards,
The Nordic Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here from Oct.10-13th and left thoroughly relaxed. The Nordic Inn is one of the few places still open after the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend & is midway between Huntsville and Minden, perfect for spending a rainy day in either town shopping then returning to a cozy spacious room. The remodelled room has a huge fireplace, jacuzzi, mini fridge and small kitchen table and chairs. The king sized bed gave us the best sleep we've had in years! The attached restaurant was very convenient & had good homemade food that draws local residents too. Marina was very pleasant & knowledgeable about the area. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

the new owners of the nordic Inn have done a terrific job of updating and renovating this establishment. We had supper in the Bistro the other night. what a refreshing change.

The dining room is bright and very pleasant. The menu has something for everyone, and some interesting selections. Our food was well prepared and presented. The home made sauces and dips are wonderfully tasty.

Give it a try; I think you will enjoy this establishment, and the souroundings in Dorset.

Room Tip: If you want to go swimming, to one of the beaches on Lake of Bays (less than 1 Km away).
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yyz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I wrote below that this was one of the worst places I've ever stayed, but there are new owners now and the place is much, much better. The restaurant is great -- pirogies in the woods, how great is that?!?

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank FrannyM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were tired of burgers and fries and wanted a home-cooked dinner. The Nordic Inn was the perfect spot! Great borscht. Eastern European dumplings ( similar to pierogies) with a mustard or a Georgian (eastern Europe, not USA) plum sauce. Brazilian Chicken with coconut was a kid amd parent favourite. An unexpected, but delicious series of gluten free dessert options. Loved the sniker snackers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amblesidedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had the pleasure of visiting this motel over the long weekend and it has gone through an amazing transformation. The new owners, Andrei and Marina, are very personable, and have started the long process of cleaning the place to make it once again a great place to stay in this beautiful area of Ontario. The new menu is impressive and we were happy to find such a good variety of healthy food choices. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were happy to hear their ideas for improvements in the near future. We can not wait to get back to visit again soon. When you are in the Dorset area, be sure to visit just for a meal or for several relaxing days stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorset
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
8.5 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
13.4 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
7.5 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
6.7 mi away
Riverside Motel Dwight
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Inn

Address: 1019 Nordic Inn Road, Dorset, Lake of Bays, Ontario P0A 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Lake of Bays > Dorset
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dorset
Price Range: £76 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel for all seasons, newly opened restaurant with a lot of healthy food on the border of beautiful areas of Muskoka and Haliburton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nordic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Inn Dorset, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing