We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled like sewage.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elliot Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elliot Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a horrible experience this past Tuesday night (April 29th). We stayed in room 15 in the lower level, once we entered our room we both smelled a putrid odour throughout the room. We called reception right away and they sent someone down to check it out. They agreed with us that it smelled horribly, and we investigated for turds throughout the room but no luck. (I even looked under the bed, between matresses, behind furniture) They could not change our room as this was the last room available (I believe they knew about this room and tried to sell it off and hope no one complained.) ANYWAYS, point is, Mananager was supposed to give us a call back and discuss the issue as well as potentially give us a refund. The manager never called us back, we tried to call her every day for the next 3 days, some days twice per day. Our messages fell on deaf ears and no one was giving us a straight answer. Finally on Friday we talked to an employee called Christine, who took our complaint seriously. She noted everything down again and told us she would personally hand deliver it to the Manager whenever the "manager" came out of "closed doors". Apparently the manager had been behind "closed doors" for 3 days, whatever that means. An hour later Christine called us back (NOT THE CHICKEN MANAGER) to let us know we would be refunded for our sewer room. Everything else, was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
3  Thank Benjamin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elliot Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,
First and foremost, I would like to personally apologize for both your experience in our Hotel and lack of communication that existed between you and I.

The day after your stay, I was promptly provided with your information, however when I attempted to contact you, both the phone number that was left on file, and left on my voicemail, did not work.

Finally on Friday, when you reached Christy on the Front Desk, I asked Christy to inform you that you would be receiving your money back due to your experience, because I was tied up at that moment and my intention was to have you wait no longer for a response.

Also, to ease your mind, I, nor my staff knew that there was an issue with room 15 beforehand, and once this was brought to my attention, the maintenance department looked into it right away.

Again my apologises for not speaking with you directly. I would love to arrange for a time in which we could chat about your experience. At the Hampton Inn by Hilton Elliot Lake, we do work very hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay and at anytime that's not the case, I appreciate all feedback, as we are constantly working towards better overall service.

Thank you,

Sarah Paradis
General Manager
Hampton Inn by Hilton Elliot Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a great place to stay, fantastic value as well. You would not think they are the only game in town with there terrific front desk staff and wonderful accommodations. The Breakfast buffet was a very nice touch. Hats off.

Room Tip: The town rolls the sidewalks up early here, the restaurant was dedicated only to the breakfast buffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is one of the few hotels that I have ever stayed in where I was able to completely shut off the heater/air conditioning unit in the room and it was still quiet enough that I was able to get a good nights sleep. After driving all the way to Elliot Lake it would be nice to have a restaurant on site though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Room was clean and comfortable, the buffet breakfast was lacking but put something in the tank before starting our day. It is the only hotel in Elliot Lake but was clean and modern so no complaints other than the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

very classy looking place..slept well..nice brightly decorated rooms..busy place..clean..open kitchen to enjoy coffee or a cookie anytime..close to many amenities..staff were very friendly,,very knowledgeable of anything you asked about the city

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Staffs are very friendly and also help me book the additional night with full reservation Rooms, towels, etc are very clean 24 hours hot coffee and tea beverages are very helpful in the cold winter Parking is sufficient and clear of snow in a timely manner

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Chung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel was clean and well looked after. Which in hind site was a good thing as it's the only hotel in the city. The free breakfast was alright (not great) and the staff very friendly. The pool was clean and the fitness room was well equipped. It's in the middle of the city which makes geting around easy and is on the bus route.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elliot Lake
7 mi away
Dunlop Lake Lodge
Dunlop Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Elliot Lake
45 reviews
20.1 mi away
Northshore Wayside Inn
Northshore Wayside Inn
#1 of 2 in Blind River
33 reviews
20.3 mi away
Old Mill Motel
Old Mill Motel
#2 of 2 in Blind River
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Blind River
140 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elliot Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elliot Lake

Address: 279 Highway 108 North, Elliot Lake, Ontario P5A 2S9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Elliot Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elliot Lake
Price Range: £89 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Elliot Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Elliot Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elliot Lake Hotel Elliot Lake
Hampton Inn Elliot Lake Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing