We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Location”
Review of Flamborough Manor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flamborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamborough Manor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This small two-room gem is perfect for getting away from it all. It is just like staying in someone’s private home, and the furnishings are exquisite. Our bedroom (with the Portuguese bed) was spacious, and the bathroom was as large as some small hotel rooms. Breakfast is served in a glorious small dining room, and the eggs come from the owner’s chickens! Sitting on a couch in the lounge (in the States we say the living room) in front of the fireplace, surrounded by books and beautiful antiques made us want to stay home and not bother to go exploring.
But one can’t come here and not explore, because there is so much to see within a few miles, starting with the bird sanctuary at the Bempton Cliffs. The seabirds are below the viewer and the sights and sounds are thrilling. Farther up the coast are small towns, with Filey nearest, but don’t miss Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby. Two still-lived-in grand houses, Burton Agnes Hall and Castle Howard, are just minutes away. For those interested in naval history, the battle where John Paul Jones, US Navy, supposedly said “I have not yet begun to fight” took place just off Flamborough Head in 1779, and that site is in easy walking distance.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

A very nice attractive house with excellent rooms and bedrooms. Located at the corner of two village roads, but quiet with a walled garden. The breakfast was excellent and the hostess very friendly aand attentive, but we didn't see anything of 'Mr. Flamborough Manor'.
We always choose our overnight accommodation through Wolsey Lodges so one annoyance was that although dinner was quoted as an option on the website, when we asked about it we were told that they were not providing dinner because they were too busy running other business. Fair enough, but the website should say so.

There is at least one decent pub for dinner in the village, but otherwise Flamborough village does not have much to recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

I found this B&B through the Wolsey Lodge website. The Manor is an elegant Georgian building, in the centre of the village. My room was very comfortable with the largest private bathroom I’ve ever seen! The hosts were charming and very helpful. Eating out in the village for the lone traveller was a bit tricky, but I found a good local fish and chip shop and ate them on the beach!

If you’re interested in traditional Gansey (fishermen’s) sweaters, the proprietors run a shop selling them (finished and in kit form).
I’d certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank chalkhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Wakefield, England
446
Reviewed 10 April 2006

Do you like?...open log fires, four poster beds, peace & quiet, roll-top cast-iron baths, a feeling of being at home and a good full English breakfast? then you will like it here!

We have been visiting Flamborough for years but never knew this was a B&B, discovered quite by accident, lucky us! Charming Georgian period house, lovely gardens, well-placed near village centre but still quietly located- perfect!

Was is'nt so perfect is the lack of a shower (or shower spray)in the bathroom and the hot water ran out rather early, the reasons why I have given a four-rating, otherwise I would have given five.

We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flamborough
0.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bridlington
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marton Grange Country House
Marton Grange Country House
#3 of 117 in Bridlington
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamborough Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamborough Manor

Address: Flamborough, Bridlington YO15 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington > Flamborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Flamborough
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing