We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking View”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thornwick Bay Thornwick Bay, cottage just visible top right
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Thornwick Bay
Thornwick Bay, cottage just visible top right
View from cottage at sunset
New kitchen and stairs to upper cabin bedroom
The neighbours
Nearby golf courses
Down in the bay
Short-eared owl hunting on High Holme above Thornwick Bay
Jackobob up on the cliff
Thornwick Bay where bottlenose dolphins play -  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NN6PPLQ_rPI
Fabulous sunsets
The cottage and stars at night
Burton Agnes Hall a few miles away
Incredible view of Milky Way and shooting star photographed outside the cottage
The best fish and chip shop in the UK
View from the garden
Cottage from the fields below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flamborough, Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
txus888
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking View”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I found the cottage cosy, comfortable, spacious (there were four of us but we had plenty of space to relax) and very well-equipped. We had one rainy day and did not mind because wherever you are in the cottage the view is so spectacular that we were happy to stay in. We visited Scarborough, Whitby, and Bridlington but we also enjoyed exploring the surrounding beaches and the walk to the light house was delightful. There is a lovely pub next to the light house where we had delicious fish and chips. We ate out a few times in places recommended by the owner, however we also enjoyed cooking our own dinner. The local Co-op in Flamborough had just just enough to make a healthy dinner and good wine and there was also the possibility for a shopping trip to Bridlington. We all enjoyed our week so much in Jacobob that we plan to come back again next year. My two friends are from Sevilla and they were overwhelmed by the beauty of the place. They think that it was worthy to come all the way to this charming place in Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janecameb...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best possible location”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We could not have hoped for a more wonderful location and warmer welcome than the one we had at Jackobob. The bathroom has been remodelled to a very high standard since our last visit. The house is clean and well equipped and the views from the two double bedrooms are unrivalled. The weather was kind to us, but had it been chilly, plenty of fuel was provided for the fireplace free of charge. They had even thought to provide firelighters.
We enjoyed beautiful walks along the cliffs and were thrilled to see puffins, but the best view of all was from the sitting room of the cottage where I spent many happy hour catching up on my reading while enjoying the most beautiful sunsets imaginable.
This was our second visit, and I very much hope it won't be our last.
Karen, Chris, Nancy and Stella, London

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareBC11...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely amazing...”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have stayed at Jackobbob twice and can't wait to go back, The cottage is in an amazing location - right on top of the cliffs at Flamborough Head, you can relax and enjoy the views and seabirds from the sofa or garden seat, or walk out of the gate and straight onto the coastal path. We swam in the sea in the cove below the cottage, walked to the lighthouse for breakfast every morning (it took forever - there are so many puffins and other birds to watch. The house is comfortable and cosy - their log burner lights in second, and other heating when needed. Since our first visit ,the bathroom has been refurbished - more boutique hotel than country cottage. Kitchen is more than adequate - two or three of us cooked together in it most evenings - though if you don't fancy cooking, the best fish and chips in Yorkshire are just up the road. Perfect place for a romantic retreat or a family holiday. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the sitting room
Liked least: I like to all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ela T
snibbos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but house is let down on aspects which are easily fixable”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Wow to the views but very uncomfortable sofas, DVD player that didn't work (not good when the weather is bad and you have 3 kids to entertain!), heated bathrail didn't work so drying anything was a challenge.

Caretaker was on holiday so couldnt help with any complaints. In addition the kitchen is a bit grim with no extractor fan, little storage space. Adds up to a disappointing stay.

Plus i don't think there is any warning about how close the house is to cliffs. House is not suitable for under 5's. Turn your back for 2 mins and they could get out of the fenced garden easily and 4 steps they are over the cliff. Scary!

Am bound to get the owner responding saying that he tried to contact me to sort things out. But I didn't want to waste my holiday worrying about things like this. All should have been working in the first place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
See our response to Charles on November 3rd 2016.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Allan...
1 review
“Coastal experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The accommodation is in a wonderful coastal location. It is very well equipped and modernised and provides a comfortable stay in a natural environment.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraj6...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a superb location”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely comfortable cottage with more or lesseverything you need.
We have stayed at many cottages but the views from this are the best you could ever get.
We have stayed here a few years ago and forgot just how gorgeous it is.
We saw puffins, a Perigrine Falcon, Kestral, Gannets, Kittiwakes and many more birds from the cottage.
Its a short walk to the beach and many footpaths give good walks.
We do hope to be back very soon.
Steve the caretaker is helpful and the cottage was clean.
Thank you to Anthony, the owner who is very friendly and made booking easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkies20...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular veiws and a fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at Jackobob. It is a clean, comfortable and cosy cottage.

I think the views from Jackobob are my favourite of anywhere we have stayed in England. We walked through the door and all just went "Wow". We had a magical time there.

We loved the heating system and found the cottage to be cosy and warm and were grateful for the generous supply of wood provided. The fabulous triple glazing ensures the cottage retains the heat and you are snug and warm. The beds were very comfortable which meant we all slept really well. The kitchen is very well stocked with all you need for cooking for 6. The new bathroom was fabulous.

we loved being on the cliff top, for the birds, the views, the stars and the access to great cliff top walks from the front door. We really hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the cosy interior
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing