We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge

Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Despite the lodge being 5 minutes drive, rather than 5 minutes (my mistake!) walk from the ferry, the water views and close proximity to the Stonewall Shopping "Complex" made this a great place to stay. Once you realise you are staying at a place with no reticulated water or power, you quickly get into the island groove. The unit's kitchen was seriously short on implements, but the meals provided in the lodge's restaurant were delicious with super fresh seafood.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lindylou53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    5
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were trapped on the island longer than we had intended due to the weather closing in, and ended up here as reluctant guests. I agree that the decor is tired, but the location is fabulous, the hosts cannot do enough for their guests, and are pretty good cooks to boot, so our stay was a happy one and we would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

The owners/managers were most hospitable, much as the name of this establishment might confuse you. We rented a car from the airfield at Claris and it was only a short, but hair-raising journey to T&B’s. We’d driven on NZ roads before but this was ridiculous. The lodgings were clean and comfy, while the fare was mostly wholesome and hearty. It's not a resort or anything fancy but the surroundings more than make up for it. The views remain the most memorable thing about this place, with a fantastic bay-view arrayed before you as while inhaling the bracing Pacific breezes.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChisnallsCanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights over NY. Whilst this isn't 5 star, that is made up for by the genuine hospitality and Marg's warmth. Let's face it, this is an isolated island and luxury isn't the draw card. The place is 'basic NZ motel' style so don't expect too much in that respect and you'll be fine. The island is the star and it's certainly worth the trip

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We had a waterfront unit, so had a great view over the bay. However, that was the best thing about our stay. The whole place was dated and tired. Windows were cracked or did not open properly. The washhand basin poured water onto the floor. We repeatedly had to ask for clean towels. We came down for breakfast at the appointed time to find the whole place closed. The restaurant menu was limited and unimaginative. The generator was switched off during the night which meant a blissful quiet, but the fridge was then off for eight hours too. We asked our host about a boat trip. She said she would ring around for us, but forgot... And I could go on. Great Barrier is a really lovely place for a holiday, but don't spend it at Bob and Tipi's!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wren001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

The hotel is in a good location and the front rooms will have good views, but we had the unfortunate experience of staying in one of the back rooms. For $195 a night we had a view of the clothes line, the smells of the kitchen and the noise of the generator to lull us to sleep. The room was also poorly equiped and should have been priced at a budget level.
Everything else about Great Barrier Island was great but this room was close to the bottom of the barrel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iiiiiiAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Barrier Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#1 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.6 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#5 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge

Property: Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Address: Puriri Bay Road | Tryphena, Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrier Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tipi & Bob's Waterfront Lodge is situated on the waterfront of Tryphena Harbour at the southern end of Great Barrier Island with stunning sea views across the Gulf to the Coromandel. Best Location, Best Service. Sit and watch the dolphins play... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing