We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, overpriced bland food”

Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Cape Town, New Zealand, United States of America
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service, overpriced bland food”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The meal was tasteless and mediocre, considering the price. After eating at the curragh, we were disappointed in the food served. There were drunken men swearing right next to our table while we tried to enjoy our dinner. We mentioned it to the manager, but she simply shrugged it off. Very disappointed and the food was definitely overpriced.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimang12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    5
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a quick trip to great barrier last month and I must say that the food and the service here was better that I have found anywhere locally... we had 2 evening meals and breakfast there... the menu isn't extensive however every meal is a masterpiece.... not cheap but this is Great Barrier

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidsnjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our rooms were roomy, comfortable and spotlessly clean but above all had stunning views. The lodge was in an ideal location for exploring the island in our hire car. Hot water was a little temperamental and the fridge was rather noisy but there were good bright lights -good for reading in bed. We stopped 2 nights. Sunday night was very quiet. There was some noise from the bar on Monday but it did not go on too late. Breakfast was good and was provided early on the day we left and had to catch an early flight.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This was a surprise trip for our 15th anniversary and what a great place! Easy to get to, the views are the best on the island. rooms are large and clean, the food is fantastic, we went fishing and took some snapper to Pete to cook for us and it would be the best i have had! Margerie and Pete and awesome people and really friendly. Margorie sorted the whole trip, flights, car, fishing and it was all spot on.
its real "Kiwiana" and like stepping back in time, everyone is really relaxed and everyone waves to you on the road etc.
Anyone complaining about this place should stay at home
can highly recommend this place for sure...

Room Tip: top room is only one with one bed if there are a few the cottage would be sweet otherwise the very f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkWik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at the lodge but attended a wedding there and ate at the restaurant several times. The food was very good and the hostess Marjorie could not have been more helpful, arranging car hire and flights for visitors who were not even guests at her lodge. Cannot speak of the accommodations but the rooms i saw were clean and looked more than acceptable by New Zealand standards (which are admittedly not very high).

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drjcryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Despite the lodge being 5 minutes drive, rather than 5 minutes (my mistake!) walk from the ferry, the water views and close proximity to the Stonewall Shopping "Complex" made this a great place to stay. Once you realise you are staying at a place with no reticulated water or power, you quickly get into the island groove. The unit's kitchen was seriously short on implements, but the meals provided in the lodge's restaurant were delicious with super fresh seafood.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lindylou53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were trapped on the island longer than we had intended due to the weather closing in, and ended up here as reluctant guests. I agree that the decor is tired, but the location is fabulous, the hosts cannot do enough for their guests, and are pretty good cooks to boot, so our stay was a happy one and we would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Barrier Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
27 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mount St. Paul Estate
Mount St. Paul Estate
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#5 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge

Property: Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Address: Puriri Bay Road | Tryphena, Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrier Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tipi & Bob's Waterfront Lodge is situated on the waterfront of Tryphena Harbour at the southern end of Great Barrier Island with stunning sea views across the Gulf to the Coromandel. Best Location, Best Service. Sit and watch the dolphins play... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing