We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manuka Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fern Lodge(Coromandel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel(Coromandel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Motel(Coromandel)
View Hotel
Castle Rock Winery(Coromandel)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Olive Motel(Coromandel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
18
17
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
17
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort stayprivate decklovely viewgreat barriertoniunitsstudiohostfridgebasicspigpressurepowerislandbinlodgetranquility
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent a lovely 4 nights at Manuka Lodge earlier this month with friends also staying in the room next door. Toni was a fantastic host - welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Great peaceful location but walking distance to shop and café. Staying at Manuka Lodge contributed to a fantastic experience on Great Barrier Island!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeneM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Have just spent 2 lovely nights at Manuka Lodge. The place is beautifully clean and well presented.
Toni and her dog "Sampson" are lovely hosts... Toni has a great knowledge of the island and the people that live on it!!!! If it is raging night life you are after I don't think you will find it here... however if you seriously need a lax out and kick back Great Barrier Island is only a 30 min puddle jump from Auckland by air. Manuka Lodge is will worth checking out

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidsnjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 2 nights and found the unit to be comfortable and clean with a great view of the harbour. The host, Toni is very informative and helpful and makes you feel you can ask if you need further information. It is peaceful and you have all sorts of bird calls not heard on the mainland. Even saw Kaka feeding on the flax, but just too quick to get a decent photo. A great spot for a break

Room Tip: Any one would be fine. get a view from all
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed at Manuka Lodge for two nights on a business trip and would highly recommend it to other travellers. The location is great, with a fantastic view of the bay from the window. The room was spacious, attractively decorated and furnished and comfortable. There were thoughtful touches such as a selection of magazines and books, which were much appreciated. The hostess, Toni, was very friendly and welcoming and gave advice about local amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent 18 days at Manuka Lodge this past April. For the first week, the second unit was rented by our friends, who then had to return to Canada. We found the set-up ideal for two couples, as we shared many a meal on the balcony looking out across the bay, often with a gorgeous sunset that sent us running for our cameras. The rooms were simple, but very clean and homey, and we loved our time there. Lots of good information about Great Barrier Island was provided for us to read. Ideal location for day trips out. It felt a million miles from the stress and bustle of our more urban life, like a stepping back to a saner and gentler time. Toni was so kind and helped to make our whole Barrier experience enjoyable and memorable.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sallyw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews