We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount St. Paul Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount St. Paul Estate
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This must surely be one of the Hauraki Gulf's best kept secrets and long may it remain so. In an unspoiled setting with magnificent views of sea and mountains, this is an idyllic location, and conveniently close to the airport at Claris. Peter and Hilary are wonderful friendly hosts who happily arranged both the flights to/from Auckland and the hire care that is absolutely necessary to travel around the island. Our room was monstrous by any standards and immensely comfortable; the log fire burning in the room was a particularly welcome sight after a day walking in the rain through some of the many bush tracks that Great Barrier Island boasts. With so few outside dining opportunities on the island (especially off-season) Peter and Hilary's 'Come Dine With Us' offer is not be missed and they admirably coped with a short notice request to feed us. A memorable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondH646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

What a fantastic place to stay! Picturesque views of beautiful Kaitoke Beach from our Bedroom.
After 3 days of Tramping Great Barrier Forest we enjoyed the comforts of home at this wonderful lodge. Peter and Hilary made us feel very welcome in their home making sure as guests we wanted for nothing.
If you want a relaxing break, in a warm and cosy, friendly lodge with gorgeous panaramic views (close to everything) then Mount St Paul Estate is the best place to stay on Great Barrier Island.

Room Tip: Take one of the two beach facing large bedrooms as views spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful weekend. If Great Barrier is Auckland's best kept secret, Mount St Paul is Great Barrier's. Our room was very luxurious with the most enorous bed, and two large balcony areas: one looking out towards Kaitoke Beach and the sunrisre and the other towards Mt. Hobson and the sunset. Waking up and opening the curtains to that view is really a WOW moment. The other highlight is the open fireplace in the bedroom, a very romantic place to share a bottle of red wine!

There is also a lovely big log burner in the sitting room, where we were made very welcome... so much so that Paul fell asleep in an armchair!!

Hilary and Peter were fantastic hosts. We shared dinner on the Friday - Hilary is a great cook, and both were wonderful company. We really had a lot of fun, thank you.
And also, thank you for organising flights, car hire, phoning the pub etc etc.

We can't wait to visit again in the summer!

Room Tip: We stayed in the big one on the right hand side if you have your back to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieDBrist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Thank you Hillary and Peter. What wonderful hosts you were, from arrival to departure nothing was too much trouble.
What a lovely stay we had, with very comfortablve accommodation, supurb breakfasts, million dollar views and a perfect setting all combining to make our time with you relaxed and enjoyable,
Elevated on the side of a hill, this home offers expansive views over some fantastic scenery.
White sand, blue sea, rugged hills. Sit back and relax.
Just a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent a lovely weekend on Great Barrier staying at Mt St Paul Estate. Hilary and Peter are great hosts and go out of their way to do everything possible to look after their guests and make their time on the island enjoyable. The lodge is lovely and very comfortable with great views out to the sea and a central location for exploring the island. Great choice if you're looking for luxury accomodation on Great Barrier

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Well located overlooking the eastern beaches the house provided us a great setting to enjoy the Great Barrier Island experience. Peter and Hillary were wonderful hosts looking after all our requests with great enthusiasm. Whether for work or pleasure a highly recommended choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_S_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Peter and Hillary were superb hosts, they really go the extra mile and deserve the positive comments they have received with other reviews. The house and setting are superb, well set out and well located with inspiring views.
I highly recommend for those wishing to experience a beautiful part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Barrier Island hotels
2.9 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
4.0 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#5 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount St. Paul Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount St. Paul Estate

Property: Mount St. Paul Estate
Address: 29 Kaitoke Lane, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrier Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mount St. Paul Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing