We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure on GBI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount St. Paul Estate
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
“Adventure on GBI”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My youngest of 3 sons and I had the opportunity to travel to New Zealand in Nov of 2012. It was to be the highlight of the year. Mount St Paul Estate was booked for us through Boulder Travel Agency (of Boulder Colorado U.S.A.) when I said we wanted to visit GBI as a part of our nearly 3 week stay in New Zealand. After missing the car ferry from Auckland, we made the choice to fly, and a wonderful choice it was! I called Peter Cole from the airport in Auckland and let him know we would be arriving at the airport rather than the ferry dock. He was there to meet us! He got us a great deal on a local rental car and then hosted an absolutely fabulous 3 day stay at Mt St. Paul. He and Hillary were both very accommodating! My son has a medical condition and his medication must be kept cool. No problems, and no questions asked!. After a wonderful breakfast the first morning, Hillary filled us in on all the best spots for hiking, fishing, sightseeing, even a round of golf! We soon realized, we were already in the best place to stay while on GBI. The room itself was ample, with it's own bath and shower, with windows looking out over the the most spectacular beach front and tropical hillside jungle. Very, very comfortable! Peter and Hillary were available at all times to answer any questions for us, and even to call ahead and make reservations for us at a couple of the best local restaurants. We had to have a picture of Peter and Hillary, and of course their dog Ben, for our photo album! The whole experience of Mount St Paul Estate on Great Barrier Island was one we'll never forget, and that we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you both.
Maybe you will have a return trip sometime. Thanks again for the very nice things that you said and also about Ben, he is getting quite famous now!!!

All the very best.
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful three days at Mount St. Paul Estate and GBI and are writing to highly recommend both. We generally stay at 5-star and luxury resorts around the world, definitely not back-packing types. Mount St. Paul is the best place to stay on the island. The rooms with separate entrances from the main house are large, private and well appointed; ours had a king bed, and included a beautiful ensuite. The best part for us was the twin balconies that allowed us views from anywhere in our room. One balcony we think had the best view of a beach on the island – comparable to many of the lookout points that dot GBI. Hillary and Peter were well-informed hosts who stayed out of our way when we wanted and were very helpful when asked. Hilary made a terrific breakfast for us in the mornings. They are a resource on the best walking trails and restaurants – so ask for recommendations. We do not surf, and walking on the deserted beaches topped off our three days. We took the ferry back and forth, an easy four and a half hour trip from Auckland. It allowed us to bring our car, watch the fantastic views in both directions, catch the sunrise going out and the sunset returning. We even spotted a whale! I should not forget to mention the owners’ dog Ben, gentle sweet giant, who will bring you his latest toys if asked. The long and winding road to the establishment had wildlife including birds, which made our stay more enjoyable. We came to rest and relax in an upscale environment and we found it at Mount St Paul Estate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balconies and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Hi,

Thanks very much for your very kind words. Ben appreciated them too!!! Seriously we
really do appreciate your review, it means a great deal to us.

Kind regards
Hilary, Peter and of course Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed here over a perfect summer weekend. Hilary and Peter were extremely helpful in sorting out our travel (flights) arrangements and a rental car while we were on the island - and everything was seamless. They were very welcoming hosts, and within 15 minutes of arriving on Great Barrier Island we were sitting on our balcony with a stunning view and a complimentary bottle of wine - doesn't get much better than that! Breakfast on Sunday morning was delicious too. Comfortable (massive) bed, nice bathroom with both shower and bath. All in all I would highly recommend Mount St Paul for a stay on GB Island, and we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Mo_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Hi,

Thanks very much for the lovely review most appreciated. Hope that your birthday was most
enjoyable for you. Hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards
Hilary and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We are a french couple and after a 2 weeks tour in New Zealand with a small group of 10 people , we wanted a few days for ourselves in a remote area , in order to hike and relax before going back to France. Great barrier and Mount St Paul was proposed by our NZ tour operator and what a great idea! : Hikes are beautiful ( mountains and sea all over) and very few hikers , the atmosphere of the island is quiet and peaceful and the welcome and bedrooms at Mount St paul estate are just fantastic.
If you wish a retreat from stress, if you like nature and whether you wish to hike or just relax on your private terrace in front of georgous panoramas..this is the place! This will remain one of our great memories of NZ ..

Room Tip: A sea view is a must ! the view on the ocean with the 2 terraces is simply amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Astrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate it very much. Maybe you can visit us again one day.

Hilary and Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at Mt St Paul Estate using an online deal during a long weekend in October so this review is well and truly overdue. I would have loved another couple of days on the Island. It is one of the most tranquil, untouched and welcoming destinations in NZ. I highly recommend getting around the Island as much as you can and taking advantage of the many nature and historical walks.
Our room at the Estate was simply gorgeous. Breathtaking views from our private balcony where we had lunch. A bed so large you could get lost in it - I would love one of my own. Lovely homely breakfasts made to our request. A fun and friendly dog to add to the play. The house itself is beautiful and fits well within the setting of the Estate. It is conveniently located just 5-minutes drive from the airport. Hilary and Peter were very gracious hosts and provided great conversation while also being thoughtful of our own space.
Only minor factor, if you love your cups of tea as I do, was they needed to be requested from the hosts. While Hilary and Peter were very obliging, I didn't want to inconvenience the hosts to make me a cup at whatever time I desired so while only a small factor, it is an element of the service that I think could be reconsidered.
Probably should also note ladies that you can't use your hairdryer at the Estate.
I would love to visit again and absolutely recommend a stay at the Estate to top off a must see NZ destination.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Hi Angeline,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I was sureprised after such a long time. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The tea and coffee situation is unfortunate as I explained at the time we cannot supply those facilities in the rooms because of the generator but as you are aware we offer tea and coffee whenever required and it is never any trouble for us. Hope you will return and see us one day.
kind regards to you both
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This was the best holiday that I have had for years mainly due to the warmth and hospitality of Hilary and Peter who run the estate. The breakfasts were great and they made us anything that we wanted ( really flexible) they offered to do picnic takeaways for us when we had planned long days out looking at this beautiful island. I have also never slept so well in years. It was such a relaxing and happy time for us. I would highly recommend anyone to enjoy this experience for theirselves.
Wendy coulter

Room Tip: All the rooms here are large, clean and excellent - the ones with the balconies were the best as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you Wendy for the great review, we really appricate it. Sorry your trip was not longer. Have a safe trip back to the UK.

Hilary and Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Once again a massive thank you to Hilary and Peter for being such wonderful hosts. Second visit for me and the Mount St. Paul estate and the house and the hosts never fail to impress. How can a morning get any better than opening your patio doors (after a great nights sleep on the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on) onto your own terrace with panoramic views of the ocean and the smell of a traditional cooked breakfast coming up the stairs, heaven! The whole island is a total paradise island and is a must visit. Once again I must say this is the place to stay. I'm counting the days till I'm back again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you Mark for your wonderful review. We are glad that the second time was just as good as the first. It was our pleasure. Looking forward to your next time with us, (the lawn needs cutting) ha ha. Thanks again.
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Barrier Island hotels
2.9 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
27 reviews
4.0 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#6 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount St. Paul Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount St. Paul Estate

Property: Mount St. Paul Estate
Address: 29 Kaitoke Lane, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrier Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mount St. Paul Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing