We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Amazing holiday on Great Barrier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount St. Paul Estate
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Amazing holiday on Great Barrier”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My daughter and I had an absolutely amazing time at Mt St Pauls, we were greeted so well on arrival by Ben the beautiful dog, Hilary and Peter, they were the perfect hosts, so friendly and really have such a sense of humor. Our room and the view was out of this world, our 3 course dinners were delicious and our breakfasts were real yum, the huge bed was so comfortable. Hilary and Peter certainly went out of their way to make our stay perfect in every way with a lovely hot log fire at night. We wish you both the best of health and success for your future. Thanks again Cath and Janine and a big kiss for Ben x

Room Tip: The view of the ocean is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi Cath and Janine,

Thanks so much for the great review. Pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that everything was to your liking. Also thank you for your good wishes to us.

Kind regards
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A surprise weekend away organised by my (now) fiance - Hilary & Peter (..and the delightful Ben)made sure everything was absolutely perfect for us both. From hard to find champagne to a private chef, their personal touch made the weekend one i will never forget. We will be back! Thank you!! x

Room Tip: Rooms were beautiful and the property was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eDorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased to have been able to make your
weekend special for you. All the very best of luck for your future lives together.

Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

It was a great pleasure to return to the fantastic spot. Hilary & Peter do a perfect job of making you welcome and helping with any possible request. A good way to recharge your batteries in a very short space of time. We flew from Tauranga airport this time, direct on SunAir and this is the way to go. Fast and very scenic. It is a small plane, but rock steady and Hilary had pre-arranged our Rental car to meet us. So basically an hour from home and we were at Mt Saint Paul.
The Island is a bit quieter in the winter months, so plan your evening meal eating spots in advance with Hilary.
We can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kotuku123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hi Chris and Anne,

Thank you so much for your review, it is always a pleasure to have you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your return stay with us. We so look forward to your return.

Our very best wishes
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Even better than the first trip to Mt St Paul. The trip got delayed by 24hours due to inclement weather. When you think Great Barrier Island you know there's the possibility of some travel delay - it's what makes getting there so rewarding, so we stayed a day later too. I would advise flexibility with dates so you can change at short notice if necessary, or reschedule, don't be put off going there. Everyone and everything over there, it would appear, works with the 'minor' inconvenience caused by weather conditions, including Hilary and Peter. It just isn't a problem to reschedule. I highly recommend going to Gt Barrier Island, and experiencing Mt St Paul Estate. Friendly, hospitable, helpful, comfortable, peaceful, relaxing ~I'm going to run out of room, but I certainly could go on and on. go on - give them a call, it's brilliant :-)

Room Tip: I particularly like either of the two front of house upstairs sea view rooms to choose from - one wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Hi Julia and Robin,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. So pleased you found it just as good the
second time around and look forward to your third time. All the very best to you both.

Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Big Thanks to Hilary and Peter. We had a really lovely weekend there.
The accommodation was excellent, lovely bed room and views just like paradise.
There is no better place than staying in this place.
We highly recommend anyone to stay in this place to have a beautiful trip and peaceful night.
PS their breakfast was amazing delicious, love that~
Ruby and Sherry from Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Hi Ruby and Sherry,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and maybe you will be able to visit us again sometime.

Best wishes
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We wanted to have a hassel free weekend, and Hilary and Peter did this for us by organising our flights, rental cars and recomending the dinning places etc. The room has magnificant seaview and my husband and I adore this country style building.

The breakfast is one of the nicest meal we had in the island, thanks for looking after us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 489janew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the great review. We need you to come back and catch some more fish!!!!

Kind regards
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Hilary and Peter were excellent hosts. Our accommodation was first class - everything we could possibly have wanted was provided. Hilary organising flights and the rental car made it so streamlined for us. We would highly recommend anyone looking for a peaceful, luxury stay on Barrier to stay here.
Sally and Nigel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46SallyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountStPaul, Owner at Mount St. Paul Estate, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your kind words. Very much appreciated. If there is anything you think we could of improved on please let us know.

Regards
Hilary, Peter and Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Barrier Island hotels
2.9 mi away
Earthsong Lodge
Earthsong Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tryphena
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Medlands Beach Lodge
Medlands Beach Lodge
#2 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
27 reviews
4.0 mi away
Manuka Lodge
Manuka Lodge
#6 of 8 in Great Barrier Island
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
Tipi and Bobs Waterfront Lodge
#6 of 9 in Great Barrier Island
26 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aotea Lodge
Aotea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tryphena
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount St. Paul Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount St. Paul Estate

Property: Mount St. Paul Estate
Address: 29 Kaitoke Lane, Great Barrier Island 0991, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Great Barrier Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrier Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mount St. Paul Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing