We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked it here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Standard Colca
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a very pleasant and unusual hotel.

The rooms are individual 'log style' cabins and we had a massive bed with good quality quilt and pillows, as well as electric blankets and portable oil-filled radiators (it gets cold at nights). The bathroom was clean and spacious and there was plenty of hot water.

We dined in the restaurant and the three-course meal was superb from an extensive menu. While we were eating, we were entertained by a four-piece Andean band who played the guitars, flute, drums and (of course!) the panpipes. :-)

Local craftswomen come into the hotel foyer to sell their hand-made wares, which you can buy for excellent prices. There is also free coca leaf tea on offer in the reception area to help with the symptoms of altitude sickness.

We were up very early in the morning, before dawn, and it was quite something to see the nearby mountains in the glow of first sunlight. Breakfast was the buffet type and it was very good, especially the hot strong Peruvian coffee.

Altogether a memorable stay. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bollinger_Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here visiting the Colca Valley.The rooms are all reached by a walk outside, they are like chalets. It was quite cold, especially in the evenings, but the rooms were warm and cosy with heaters and lots of bedding. The bed was very comfy, the room was a good size and it had a big walk in shower with lots of hot water.
Its a short walk into town and the market where I needed to find a swimming costume to visit the hot springs! They are worth a visit, in a beautiful setting and just 10 sol ( about £2.20). You would need a bus/taxi to get you there.
Many of the locals dress in traditioal costume and there are many trtad restaurants. Try the alpaca, no cholesterol and delicious! Not sure about guinea pig though!
There was good wifi but only in reception. They sell Oxyshot canisters there which in hindsight we should have bought. Due to the altitiude I had bad headaches and we both had trouble sleeping. Go slowly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goandfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Small houses set in a very pretty garden walkable distance from the center of Chivay (10 minutes). Rooms are spacious and traditionally decorated. Chivay is cold, the heaters in the rooms are small and don´t heat up the space enough, but blankets are also heated!
Service at the reception was very good, we got extra towels (free of charge) to use at the thermal baths in Chivay (not part of the hotel). We walked one way (45 minutes) and took a ride back which is a good option to see the beautiful countryside. Walk is safe during day light.

Considering the price, the hotel is super!!!

Detail: Head lamps at the bed are really in your way and bothering when you want to read.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Traveling with friends, enjoyed the stay and found the hotel very clean and comfortable. The personnel were friendly and I'd rate the food as OK but not the best. Did not get the chance to check out the local town, it looked nice but we were pushed for time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmnteddyLakeCity_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Disappointed in our stay relative to wonderful experience in other Casa Andina properties. Food was poor and rooms were small. Wonderful properties are a short drive away. We stay in this town because of hot springs which were not as nice hot springs at Colca Canyon Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesapeakeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Colca, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing our Classic Colca hotel for your stay.

We regret that we did not fulfill your expectations during the time you spent with us. We are sure that if our front desk would have known about your experience regarding the room, they would have assisted you by assigning you a new one, if possible.

We certainly hope that you could give us a second chance to serve you at any of our hotels through the country.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We got a friendly welcome after a long travel. Plenty of Coca tea, if you need that. Slept en a nice Little house which was clean. Got a hot bottle in the bed at nighttime, where it was very Cold. The food we had at night in the restaurant was NOT good. There was some local entertainment, which was ok. Breakfast a Little boring and not special. The town is small and as it rained, there were muddy streets. Only internet in the reception.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen-Mine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Standard Colca, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback which we will definitely use to improve our services.

We regret to know that the food and the breakfast did not reach your expectations. We would like to mention you that this is the standard of our Classic brand. However, we will be implementing some changes with the breakfast presentation and variety shortly. Also, there will be an improvement with the wi-fi service in all our hotels.

We certainly hope that you can give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,

The Casa Andina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stay one night in Casa Andina Colca 10.04.2014. Very nice and cozy hotel, tasty dinner, which was included in our package. We had only to pay for the drinks. When we finished to eat, waiter came and without any bill let us pay for the drinks. Next day, when we eat our lunch in the same restaurant, which was also included, we took the same drinks. When other waiter gave us a bill, amount there was less than day before. So, be careful and require bill from the waiter - at least one of them is dishonest !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icelanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
4.5 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
3.1 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
3.6 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pozo del Cielo
Pozo del Cielo
#2 of 5 in Chivay
396 reviews
5.2 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Standard Colca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Standard Colca

Address: Huayna Capac s/n, Chivay 54, Peru (Formerly Casa Andina Classic Colca)
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Price Range: £40 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Standard Colca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Classic Colca is located in the Valley of Colca, a 3 hour drive from the city of Arequipa. It is a cozy and rustic hotel built as individual cottages made of stone with strewn paths. Has a fountain located in the central courtyard and a grill area where outdoor lunches can be organized in order to enjoy the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Andina Standard Colca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Colca Hotel Chivay
Casa Andina Standard Colca Chivay, Peru - Colca Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing