We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked that Lonely Planet has this as their top pick!”
Review of Pozo del Cielo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pozo del Cielo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocked that Lonely Planet has this as their top pick!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

While the setting was beautiful and rooms were quaint, the staff was incredibly rude and not helpful at all (when they were available). The beds were very uncomfortable with only a tiny pillow. We were shocked at what we got for the price. We asked the staff if they could help us set up a tour to the Cruz del Condor and they had hardly any information and basically told us we were on our own! The restaurant was like a ghost town. We ordered soup and it took nearly 40 minutes for it to arrive at our table. Not sure why, but we decided to order some crepes for dessert, which came out totally burnt. After dinner I was trying to explore the upstairs cafe and slipped and fell down about 5 stairs. The manager and waiter didn't even MOVE from behind the bar to see if I was ok. She was nice enough to ask me the next morning how I was feeling, over the crappy breakfast they served. We really couldn't wait to get out of there. This was definitely the low point of our otherwise fantastic trip to Peru.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ep5809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    147
    72
    26
    9
See reviews for
62
176
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here 2 nights during our trip to the Colca Canyon (Condors). The Hotel well located just accros the bridge over the Rio Colca. You can have a nice stroll with spectacular views and it is a 5 min walk to downtown chivay. Colca Zip-lining is a 5 min bus or cab ride.
The Hotel itself is very nice. Rooms are very good (nice rooms) and clean. Nice bathroom and hot water all the time and this is needed. We were there in July and the rooms are cold. Heating the room for a whole night and morning did not get the temp higher than 19 degrees C. The room is equipped with 2 electrical heaters but this is not enough to heat up the rooms.
****
One general comment all the hotels we stayed in in Peru in the mountain regions (5 hotels) had the same issue cold rooms. Looks lke a common thing in Peru and I think it is party due to the high energy costs and the fact that most of the population is used to these temperatures
****
Dining room is very nice with a spectacular view on Chivay certainly if it snowed the night before as in our case. White mountain peaks. But the dining room is cold too. They have heaters but do not turn all of them on. Consequence you have breakfast and dinner with outside clothes on. In the morning I saw the serving personnel prepare the tables with jacket and gloves to give you an idea of the temp.
Breakfast is good, eggs, breads, cakes, cereals, juices, yogurt, milk, tea and coffee. Don't expect coffee and tea to be really hot because water does not boil at 100 degrees C at these altitudes but at a lower temperature.

Room Tip: Ask with view on Chivay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huub9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went to this lodge as part of a tour with Condor Travel whom we do not recommend however this lodge was very pleasing to us
We spent only one night there and did not stray from the lodge so could not say how well located it was.
The actually physical building and bungalows/maisonettes and site layout are very beautiful. We had an upstairs room with a high pitch roof with extra blankets and it was lovely. Lighting was poor as most places we have been to in Peru are. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean.
The dining room is gorgeous with a highpitch and log burning stove. The food was average, small portions for main course. The breakfast buffet was fine with the usual juices, cereals, cakes, bread and coffee. The layout of the dining area does not really lend itself to a buffet breakfast but no matter.

Free coca tea which you need at that altitude.

At dinner and at breakfast everyone was wearing outdoor garments as it was cold. But it is 4,200m high.

There was a fancier place round the corner which looked nicer but if I were to go again I would stay in the canyon itself so as to be nearer the Condors

There was a local wedding that night that went on til 3am. Always recommend earplugs for Peru for this reason, there are always fiestas or the like happening

We did not encounter any rude staff.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for ground level as the steps are steep and narrow to upper rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_finchley_lees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

When we arrived at this hotel we rung the door bell, after 10 minutes a lady open the door she didn't introduced herself and walked away back to the reception which is in her house, after she gave us the key we didn’t get any help with our luggage there is no ramp to roll the luggage the pavement is made of stone and cement it was very hard to pull all 6 but the worst part was the room it had a moldy smell the bed blanket were stained with something white very dirty you could see the cracks from the window frame ,very cold, the TV only had 1 channel that we couldn’t even see it was blurry, NO Wi-Fi only in her house and NO phone neither , I had an emergency back home in NY and I could send an email , no room service we need it tea due to the altitude when got sick develop a fever and chills the lady told me if I need it a phone or anything else to go the plaza which it was 25 minutes crossing a bridge, I will never ever go this hotel is not a hotel the picture you see in this web site is the side wall picture is not the hotel picture the room we got was next to unfinished construction is a horrible hostal , horrible place .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

if you want a peaceful and quiet place ....this hotel is great. The staff are really caring and wonderful. Coming into Chivay I had a pretty bad bout of altitude sickness and the staff were very nice about providing hot water for the coca tea and checking on me. We had a real early wake up to go to the canyons as we were the 1st to be picked up.....and the ladies were again so caring in even making us hot omelletes for Brekky even though it was so early in the morning. Thank you so much for your warmth. The hotel is quite close to the hotpools, zipline and restaurants if you are booked on a package tour.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the canyon/bridge.....it overlooks the road and the bridge and it is really qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumukund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hotel is well located on the outskirts of Chivay but thats where most of the positives end.
The approach and welcome (or lack of it) to the hotel was then compounded by the noisiness and lack of consideration by other guests (we even had to bang on doors to get some sleep!
The hotel is being extended so there was building work on site which didn't help. Rooms were adequate and the water hot but all a little claustrophobic. Eating was an experience with all staff in outdoors clothes - no heating in the hotel !! and the catering was a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: Good for upstairs to avoid noisy neighbours above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just across the bridge from the small town of Chivay in the Colca Valley and sitting on a hillside this is one fun and interesting place to stay. The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful and the dining room beautiful.
Our room was not large but not cramped either. The only downside was that the hotel was nearly full and most, or all, of the guests arose early to get out to Condor Cross to view the condors rising, and that included us. I had a hot shower but my wife had a freezing shower. Like many places they use solar for their hot water and once it's gone, it's gone.
Like so many places we stayed on this trip this room was unique to us. The large window opened onto a wall of greenery and the smaller window onto a view of the Colca River below the very nice grounds of the hotel. From all appearances each room is different. Ours had a smallish arched doorway at the bottom of a couple of stone steps.

Room Tip: We liked our hobbit room that opened onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
2.9 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
4.4 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
638 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
5.1 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pozo del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pozo del Cielo

Property: Pozo del Cielo
Address: Calle Huascar s/n | Mz. E Lote 3-6 Sol De Sacsayhuaman, Chivay, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pozo del Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pozo del Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pozo Del Cielo Chivay, Peru - Colca Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing