We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Inkari Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chivay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inkari Eco Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Reviewed 2 April 2010

The staff is extremely rude and unhelpful. Firstly, they knocked on our door to wake us up half an hour early at 5am. At this point they did not tell us they were serving breakfast half an hour earlier than scheduled, and then told us off for being late, when they had got the time wrong (when our tour guide arrived she confirmed they had got it wrong)!

The worst thing was that even though there was no one else in the breakfast room at 6am other than our tour group, the manager would not let me and my boyfriend sit together to eat (she PHYSICALLY stopped us)! The rest of our tour group had positioned themselves so we were at opposite ends of the table, and unfortunately there was a language barrier as my boyfriend does not speak Spanish, and they do not speak English. He was suffering altitude sickness and we wanted to sit together.

When we tried to sit at another table from our group I repeat the ENTIRE RESTAURANT was empty) we were told it was not allowed and we 'had to sit with the group'! We did sit with them because we did not want to cause a scene, however later I complained and the Manager was very argumentative, her only line of defense being that we had to sit with the group 'because they are our group' and it was a rule. Seriously, it was a joke and she had no common sense. She would not listen to us or our tour guide (when she
turned up in the middle of our argument). I was really upset and frustrated by how she spoke to us and treated us as guests.

Additionally, we had been told by our tour company that the hostel provides American breakfast, but it was just stale bread and the worst-tasting coffee I have had in Peru.

The hotel is also very far from town, too far to walk at night, and surprisingly for the price, pillows are either too hard or lumpy.

Do not stay here as it is not worth the money and the staff will treat you badly. I heard better reports of hostels and the Casa Andina hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shabs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2009

We unfortunately booked our Colca Canyon tour with a tour agency "Julius Tours" in Lima before our arrival to Arequipa only to find that we were overcharged by probably $55 USD per person, which is a great amount of money when you can find the same tour with the same operator in Arequipa for almost half!

Julius Tours booked us a 3 start hotel in Chivay-- the Inkari Lodge. I was told this was a super nice hotel and well worth the extra money ( after inquiring why we paid so much once we arrived in Arequipa). Reluctantly we couldn't do anything about it since the tour was paid in full. The other travelers in our group were staying hostals near the village for a fraction of our 'fancy hotel' which my sister and I paid about $50 USD extra EACH for, that was a total of $100 USD for a mere 2 twin bed hotel we could have received in a hostal!

The room accomadation were simple, nothing fancy. They did however equip the room with a room heater, which was nice since it was freezing, the room heater did not heat up the room. You had to literally stand inches away from the heater to get any heat. There was NO hot water at all! We were told it was a 3 star hotel and there is NO HOT WATER???

When we inquired about it at the front desk, we were told to wait until the morning for hot water--we asked around 6-7 pm so we could shower after getting back from the hot springs. Oh behold in the morning around 6am, there was NO [--] HOT WATER. Excuse my agressiveness, but we just paid $100 USD for a fancy hotel in Peru--which was NOT fancy at all and didnt even have hot water. I was completely upset I was overcharged and received nothing worthy to compensate. I couldnt even take a shower!

DO NOT STAY at the INKARI ECO LODGE! Save your money and go somewhere else, even a hostal is a better deal. $100 USD-- about 300 soles is high way robbery in Peru for THIS hotel!

**Plus most hostals have at least internet options for you---this place doesn't even have that!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaliforniaGirlTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The guide said it would be so romantic and just like a honeymoon...thank god we didn´t spend our honeymoon here.
It´s in the middle of nowhere..and that is ok if the hotel has something to offer. It has beautiful surroundings and the place looks good on the surface, but the it´s under construction.
The staff is mildly to say incompetent. The started by giving us a room that people already stayed in. The next room had a singel bed(we where two persons) the next room was the same...on the fourth attempt we got a room, with cracked walls and so cold that we had to have to two electric heaters to attain so much warmth that we could actually stay in the room.
When it was time for breakfast the next morning we wheren´t allowed into the breakfast room. A German film crew stay at the hotel...and we were not welcome...
We´ve stayed in many hotels around the world, this is among the worst ever....don´t wast your money on this!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank StockholmCurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Reisefan-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Drukpersoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kjoeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dans ma chambre, la fenêtre était fermée avec du silicone : impossible de l'ouvrir !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chivay
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
2.9 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
3.3 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pozo del Cielo
Pozo del Cielo
#2 of 5 in Chivay
391 reviews
3.7 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
659 reviews
4.3 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkari Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkari Eco Lodge

Address: Calle Espinal S/n | Valle Del Colca, Chivay, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Chivay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chivay
Hotel Class:3 star — Inkari Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Inkari Eco Hotel
Inkari Eco Lodge Chivay, Peru - Colca Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing